Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 414
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 38 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barton Hills Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a community member
This school is the best school in Texas. The teachers are caring and challenging and don't give up until you get the concept completely. The PE in this school is great I think you will be happy here!

Barton Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Barton Hills Elementary has some incredible qualities: caring teachers, a very strong and dynamic administrator, emphasis on whole child education and wellness, and one of the best music programs in town. It's also slightly smaller than most elementary schools, and located near downtown Austin.


Barton Hills Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
Barton Hills Elementary is amazing. Academics are very strong, yet students never feel pressured or stressed. There is also a strong emphasis on the arts. My (KINDER) son is learning to read music, has discovered he loves to sing, (thanks to an amazing music teacher) discusses Picasso and Degas, attends a beautiful computer lab weekly & goes to school every morning excited to learn. Huge emphasis on character education: atmosphere is polite, calm, and respectful. I feel like I have stepped back in time (in a good way) whenever I enter the school. The parents are diverse and relaxed, fancy cars mix with rusted old clunkers, and there is never a feeling of snobbery. I looked at every school and neighborhood in Austin before choosing BHE and it's exceeded my expectations. My VERY shy son feels safe here. There are so many parent & grandparent volunteers patiently helping kids who need extra help, it feels very homey. Every teacher is certified to teach gifted students. The older kids (the products of & the best measure of a school) are polite, sweet, and allowed to BE KIDS: a rarity in the world today. You don't ever hear bad language or see bullying. Wonderful atmosphere.

Barton Hills Elementary School 3

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
BHE has great kindergarden teachers, however in the oldest grades some teacher don't go further to keep advance students stimulate. This school don't have a strong gifted program. Infrastructure and cafeteria are not very clean and students are constantly sick. Some teachers and personal are not very competitive to manage challenging situations. On the other hand, the school has great parent participation and good PTA. Excellent in the areas of music and the environment is somehow positive. Some teachers make the difference !!

Barton Hills Elementary School 5

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
We took great care in selecting an elementary school and went out of way to transfer to Barton Hills Elementary with the hope that it would live up to all the great things we heard. Indeed it has so far! We're in our third year and have been so pleased with the teachers, not just from an academic standpoint, but also in terms of the positive learning environment they create and the "emotional IQ" learning that goes on, which some public schools seem to be lacking because the teachers simply don't have time to deal with it. There seems to be such respect for the children as individuals and a welcoming atmosphere for the parents to truly participate in their children's education. The small school and class size and the friendly, down-to-earth community makes it a warm and wonderful place. Most parents are involved and enthusiastic about making it even better. We also love that the schools feels connected with Austin's vibrant urban center.


Barton Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2011
- a parent
I went to Barton hills from grade PK-5th grade and I loved every min. of it. 20 years later, I know have a child of my own and want her to go there, I am praying they do not close the school down! Best school ever!

Barton Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
Barton Hills is a small neighborhood gem in this large urban district. With skilled, caring teachers and hardworking, talented parent volunteers, the educational experience is rich. It's an incredible community to be a part of.

Barton Hills Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Small classes, fantastic teachers and great academic enrichment opportunities.


Barton Hills Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
It is a true neighborhood school in the best sense.

Barton Hills Elementary School 1

Posted January 14, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barton Hills Elementary School
2108 Barton Hills Drive, Austin, TX  78704
(512) 414-2013
Last modified Barton Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barton Hills Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top