Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Becker Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 325 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, August 29, 2014

Becker is such a great school with wonderful faculty and staff who continually make the campus a comfortable home for the kiddos. The community of Becker is such a lovely aspect of this unique creative gem of a school. Principal Borchers is so valuable to the success of the school with the aim of educating the whole child at the utmost. The collection of families that make Becker their home is pretty special. It's a wonderful community. With a comprehensive dual language program, chicken coop, garden classroom, and so much more...it is a pleasure to be a part of Becker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2014

more time spent managing bad behavior than learning. teacher allowed child to bully/take advantage with no consequences. teacher on computer most of day, learn your 'reading' at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

My son has been at this school a short time, but both he and I are really happy with it. Principal Borchers does a great job--she greets the students by name at the door almost every morning is very accessible to parents. My son's teacher is great--she is very supportive of the unique aspects of his personality and doesn't try to get him to conform to a mold. Even the school receptionist is so warm and caring with the students. What I like most about the school, in addition to the staff, is how devoted it is to the dual language program. I transferred my son to Becker specifically for that program and it is well worth our additional commute time. My least favorite things are the criticisms I have of any public school--too formalistic, too much emphasis on order and structure, etc. If you live in Austin and want your child to grow up bilingual, it's an easy choice--Becker.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

Our first-grader has been in the dual language program at Becker since pre-K. Each teacher she has had--two per year (they often switch classrooms for language arts), in addition to the "specials" teachers and librarian--has been fantastic. The current principal is warm, enthusiastic, and supportive. We don't speak much Spanish at home, but our daughter now seems to understand most things said to her in Spanish, and she often chooses to write in Spanish even when it's not required. The school environment is vibrant, and the kids are, generally and in our experience, compassionate, empathetic, and interesting. My husband is an educator who works in a financially richer school/district where we could transfer our kids if we wanted to, but our experience at Becker, even though its resources are at times limited and heavily supported by the fantastic PTA, continues to blow the other school out of the water.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

There are many things I love about Becker. The unique mix of parents and students create a very accepting environment. The facilities are one-of-kind, with the best garden in the district, a chicken coupe, multiple playgrounds and a beautiful building with lots of history. We have met many wonderful parents and had many wonderful teachers. My daughter is in second grade and I am starting to see her Spanish skills emerge. There is always room to improve, but overall we are very happy with Becker!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

Becker is a great school with an awesome staff of teachers, including an amazing Physical Education teacher! The Becker Library is extraordinary and is overseen by a truly gifted librarian who inspirers children to love books.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

My daughter just finished kindergarten at Becker and we are both looking forward to years to come at this great little school. The population is diverse in culture and socioeconomic status, yet it's small size allows for everyone to meld together into a true community. It really is a gift. The teachers are wonderful (especially the P.E. coach and art teacher), and although the Dual Language program and Green Classroom are big draws for incoming families, the community of dedicated teachers, staff, and parents is what makes being a part of this school a really wonderful experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

This school is awful! My son was actually subjected to reverse discrimination. The 4th grade level is more like kindergarten. Spelling 1 and 2 letter words and doing simple math like 2+2!!!! The other kids are using bad language. Don't send your kids here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I just want to say that Becker really is a great school. My children went there a couple of years ago and I was kind of worried about them being in an AISD public school because I wanted to continue to homeschool them. Well, the expereience was great! I absolutely loved all their teachers and some of the teachers there have been there for over 20 years! That's awesome! Anyway, we moved and they now go to Oak Hill Elementary. Not too many issues with that school but I quickly realized how much we missed Becker. There is such a sense of community there and teachers are so great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

I have a child enrolled in kindergarten, in the two-way dual language immersion program. In this program, students from different language backgrounds learn content in two languages, English and Spanish. The goal is academic bilingualism by the end of 5th grade. My child is happy there. Her main content teachers are excellent, as well as the special areas teachers. The staff work very hard to work with a diverse population - diverse in terms of ethnicity and socio-economics. The current principal has turned the school around in terms of academic achievement. It is a wonderful opportunity for children to receive the gift of learning in two languages, and we very much appreciate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2010

Family atmosphere, great diversity, organic gardening for all classes, chicken coop, art-house, Dual Language program . . . fantastic south Austin elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

My son started kindergarten this year, and is thriving there. His teacher is dedicated and engaging. The principal is invested in the school's success and was instrumental in Becker becoming one of only four schools to pilot the district's new dual language program, which has the goal of helping students achieve bi-literacy (able to read, write, and speak) in both English and Spanish. It is also one of the few truly ethnically diverse schools in the district. It also sets high academic standards for all its students, having achieved the state's Exemplary rating last year, which, because of how that system works, is incredibly challenging for small schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

This school is an amazing success story. It has struggled in the past with low enrollment and academic challenges. However the turn-around has been incredible. The new principal is a powerhouse and on top of everything. She had memorized the names of all the students and parents in the first month! The parents at Becker are so involved and dedicated. It's a nice community. We transfered in for the dual language program, but couldn't be happier with everything else. The folks desperate to transfer in to the extremely overcrowded neighboring schools don't know what they're missing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Becker represents the best of an urban school - very diverse population, wonderful central location and a fantastic dual language program enabling kids to become bilterate and bilingual in Spanish and English, while learning all core academic material. Becker is rated EXEMPLARY by TEA! There are lots of enthusiastic and motivated parents! Becker has the Green Classroom, a chicken coop and a parent academy where parents can also learn Spanish and English as a Second Language.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

AISD's newest shining star! We are having a great experience at Becker, and can't say enough good things about it. Amazing dedicated teachers, a diverse group of students, and involved motivated parents (welcoming too -- *very* transfer-friendly, and convenient to downtown!) The dual language immersion program alone would have brought us in, but with bonuses like the organic garden classroom (and even chickens), it's South Austin at it's finest! I can't believe I almost passed it over because I hadn't heard much about it -- a hidden gem for sure. Come for a visit and you'll see right away what I mean.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

Becker is a gem! Our daughter started Kindergarten here this year, and we've been tremendously pleased. I cannot praise the administration highly enough. Becker's principal is knowledgeable, involved, and very responsive to parental concerns. The student body is a terrific melting pot of diverse racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic backgrounds. The academics are rigorous, plus Becker offers unique extras (the Dual Language Program, the Green Classroom, the chicken coop, etc.) And I can't imagine a harder working, more supportive group of parents than those at Becker. Overall, we feel lucky to have stumbled upon this wonderful community and wholeheartedly recommend Becker to others. We drive 30 minutes each way from East Austin every day and don't regret the commute one bit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2010

We love this school. We were excited to find out over the summer that the school is now rated exemplary and now we see why. We love the Dual Language program, the teachers and the faculty. I've never met a group of parents who are so involved in a school. Also has a lot of extras like the school has the Green Classroom where children can learn how to grow vegetables and to learn about raising chicken in the chicken coop. We also enjoy the after school program (extend-a-care) and the school offers a parent academy so parents can also learn to speak English or Spanish. Its really a great community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

Under a great leadership structure, this school is rapidly becoming one of downtown Austin's best elementary schools. They recently became an exemplary school, and they have an amazing staff and student body to show for it. With relatively small class sizes, and an excellent parent support network, Becker Elementary is the place to be!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 25, 2007

Incredible results with a difficult student population. Excellent wrap-around services and after school programs. Falsely dished by surrounding neighborhood and unfounded rumor. In reality, great example of how 'small is beautiful.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

Dedicated teachers. Difficult student population. Great after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

17 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

16 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

11 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

11 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

9 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

16 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

16 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

16 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Femalen/a
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students91%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female88%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female75%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female92%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)60%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingual85%

Math

All Students75%
Female67%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingual69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female86%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingual80%

Math

All Students82%
Female88%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingual83%

Writing

All Students88%
Female100%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingual100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female90%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingual100%

Math

All Students91%
Female100%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingual100%

Science

All Students91%
Female100%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingual86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 52%
White 29% 29%
Black 10% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 20%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 20%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • VALERIE BORCHERS
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Fax number
  • (512) 442-1759

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

906 West Milton Street
Austin, TX 78704
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 414-2019

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Daep- El
Austin, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT