Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blackshear Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
Ms Perez is an organized and endlessly patient K teacher who sets high standards for children while providing a safe place to learn.

Blackshear Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
No other school is a better environment for our kids to learn academic subjects, life skills and self-expression. Blackshear is a diverse, warm and enthusiastic school, as driven to help our children as we are.


Blackshear Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
Principal Jenkins and all of the teachers and staff at Blackshear are engaged, caring, and driven to help our kids succeed and love learning. We transferred our kindergartner into Blackshear after we learned about the fine arts programming but before it won the National Blue Ribbon award. We couldn't be happier and are grateful and relieved to have found such a wonderful school.

Blackshear Elementary School
Grateful to: no rating

Posted November 24, 2015
- a school leader
Thank you to all of the Blackshear Team for putting your heart and soul into your work on a daily basis for our students. Thank you PTA for your excitement and support of all programs here at Blackshear. Thank you to all of our Volunteers and Community Partners for your presence and dedication to our school.

Blackshear Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
Blackshear is the school we hoped we would find when we were looking for transfer opportunities for our Kindergartener. We would never have the money or time to be able to send our son to ballet lessons, but Blackshear provides high quality, expert level lessons to all the kids on his class. I'm grateful. Active teachers, engaged staff, and wonderful students, this is a gem of a school.


Blackshear Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2014
- a parent
My daughter loves her new school! Blackshear allows her to participate in so many programs that challenges her creative and intellectual side.

Blackshear Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a teacher
Throughout the past nine years in Austin ISD, I have served as a 5th grade Bilingual teacher, a Physical Education teacher and now I serve as an Adapted PE teacher helping students with disabilities. I have served over 15 AISD campuses in some capacity. I just started providing services to Blackshear Elementary this year, and I must say I'm extremely impressed with this campus! Since my arrival, I have noticed that it is a friendly, warm, structured (in a good way), engaging, and creative campus. Teachers, and staff go above and beyond to provide families and students with a supportive, helpful, positive learning environment. I have felt extremely welcome at this campus, and the administration obviously takes pride in their school. I highly recommend this campus.

Blackshear Elementary School 2

Posted April 14, 2014
- a parent
My son has been bullied by a teacher and the administration does nothing except make excuses for the teacher. It is a very gloomy atmosphere for kids, and the teachers are all stern and unfriendly. Most of the work is testing and drudgery. No teacher ever smiles or shows any sign of life. It is not a happy place for young children.


Blackshear Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a community member
Best students to work with because of the outstanding teachers and administrators. I can't say enough about the office staff who always welcome everyone with an open arms and have a pleasant countenance when you walk into the office. The custodial staff are exceptionaI and they keep the school very clean. I feel comfortable with this school environment that I can call Blackshear Elementary school is my home away from home. The parents and volunteers from different organizations are wonderful and we are very supportive of each other as we work with our students. I can't ask for a better place to work. Everyone looks forward to the Friday Enrichment to do something fun and engaging where teachers and volunteers teach classes such as: Bike Riding, Yoga, Gardening, etc.... The success of Blackshear is a team effort I feel and I'm proud to be in a winning team!!!

Blackshear Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2013
- a parent
Lo que a mi me gusta es que la especialista de padres siempre esta muy atenta e involucrada con los padres acerca de la educacion de nuestros estudiantes. Tambien me parece ser muy bien el programa de yellowjackets es algo excelente para mantener a los estudiantes activos. Soy madre de cuarto grado.

Nearby schools

Blackshear Elementary School
1712 East 11th Street, Austin, TX  78702
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (512) 414-2021
Last modified Blackshear Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top