Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 556 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

Brentwood has been incredible for both of my boys. My older son, going into 4th grade, has had the most fantastic teachers every single year. He is challenged by Aspbergers, but has had love and support in the regular ed classroom and with his "support system" in speech and social skills therapies. My younger son, going into 2nd grade, has also had amazing teachers the past 3 years. It is truly a community school, with great parent participation, loving staff, and highly skilled, dedicated teachers. Cannot say enough good things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2014

Brentwood is AMAZING! We have no complaints whatsoever. Our son is in the special ed program for speech and social skills, and the teachers and programs at Brentwood have been amazing. It is also such a wonderful environment: positive, environmentally conscience, fun-- we love it! There are also gardens tended by different classes all around the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

I have one in kinder here. The teachers have always been extremely respectful and helpful. My first encounter with the lunch lady wasn't great but I get it... You don't like what you're doing. I do not agree with one of the other reviews. I feel my child should have a fun transition into 'big kid' school. My child is 6 and reads to the class when they have time. Prefers chapter books to anything else. We have nightly homework and she shows an ability to figure out real world math problems. The school is doing something right. Kindergarten isn't the time to begin studying for your SATs. Brentwood elementary is fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

Because we are a blended family, we have a child in Leander ISD, and one at Brentwood, only 1 year apart. The academics at Brentwood are WAY behind. Kindergarten is more like a daycare. The rooms are full of toys, playsets, etc.. I would image the parents giving good reviews for academics here have no idea what it's like at a good school. The kindergarteners in Leander ISD are writing stories, reading, doing real math problems, while our son at Brentwood is still working on writing his numbers 1-20. He doesn't read - AT ALL, has not been taught any phonics, no math skills. They're not learning handwriting, etc... Oh, but at Christmas, the kids did a lot of gift wrapping! I guess this was a fine motor skill activity, but that's pre-school. In Leander, they do that type of stuff, but it's tied to a lesson, like patterns, etc.. And safety - no way! They utilize the public park next door for a play area. There are 27 registered sex offenders within one mile of this school and they have the kids playing in a public park that's not fenced in. We've had notices this year for both Pertussis and Bed Bugs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

We love this school. My oldest son spent six years here, and my youngest in in second grade. The single best thing about this school is the teachers. They care. A LOT. It's a warm, welcoming, diverse, artsy school where kids can figure out who they are in a safe environment. Other things I love about this school: * Academics are solid. Math, reading and writing are emphasized at an early age. Students who are struggling receive extra support. Students who are excelling are given greater challenges. * Tribe system. Instead of desks, classrooms have tables. Students work on group projects, as well as individual assignments. Students are encouraged to learn from and teach each other. * Inclusion: The school has several special education departments where the students receive support. But most of the time, students with special needs work with their peers. This helps all the students appreciate the values of compassion and understanding. * The neighborhood. Everyone gets along! When we disagree we act like adults and fix problems together. Love love love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Brentwood is a great neighborhood school with excellent parental involvement and diversity. The teachers are all very engaged and act as advocates for the kiddos. I applaud them for trying so hard in the face of Texas school defunding. In first grade my son's teacher helped ID a learning disability and started the documentation process, in second grade my son's teacher was a great advocate for him and helped move him along the onerous process of getting him the support he needs, and now his third grade teacher is focused on helping him reach goals that will help him succeed. I love that! My one complaint is that it's so hard to get the school (and district) to invest in children with LD. I know it's related to money, so I can't entirely blame my school's administration, which has also been supportive within the restrictions imposed by the district and ultimately the state's defunding of public education. So a big fat THANKS to Brentwood Elementary for caring about my son's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Great neighborhood school. We relocated here last year and everyone has made our daughter and us feel very welcome. Her 1st grade and now 2nd grade teacher has been great at challenging the kids and keeping learning fun and relevant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Brentwood is amazing. The teachers are great. The parents are great and the community is everything I have been looking for. I love volunteering in my kiddos classes.The school is growing and we are getting more amazing creative teachers. The only negative is the limited lunch. I think we should be able to eat lunch with our kids every day not just Tuesdays and Thursdays.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

Brentwood is a great neighborhood school. Caring teachers and involved parents! Kids get the attention they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

I love this school, and so does my son. I've been very happy with the quality of both of his teachers, and love the small community feel of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

Academics: Much less workload than our previous elementary school, but still enough to challenge. Do not think the homework load was enough to ensure conceptual mastery. Staff: Front office staff were mostly rude to parents and did not have very hospitable interactions. Door entry personnel were very kind and made it a pleasure to drop kids off. Also appreciated the curb side service at the rear of the school each morning. Security: Despite always having the doors locked at the appropriate hours with a doorbell for entry, I thought it was rather too easy to just enter, pass the front office, and go to any destination you wished. Teachers: Very pleasant, always open to interact after hours with parents over concerns, or just to provide feedback. Facilities: Outdated, cramped and in need of expansion and repair. Community: Brentwood is nestled within the Brentwood area of Austin. Some of the parents in my children's classes were extremely friendly and interacted well with the other parents. Others, not so much. I saw two drug addicts stumbling just three blocks from the school on day one, not the most re-assuring sight with my kids just three blocks away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2013

I placed my child in Brentwood because a friend recommended it. My son is dyslexic and falls under the 504 Program which requires an annual meeting regarding his progress. The counselor forgot entirely about the meeting and I had to go to the principal to have one set. I notice that the teachers are really great but the administrative and office staff have a real anti-social attitude. I think they are great with their buddies and neighbors but the rest of us tax payers are a real bother. In the end, Brentwood is better than some AISD schools but I would not choose this school if you have other options. We came from a far superior program at Barton Hills Elementary in Austin so maybe it is just that I know how good schools operate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

Brentwood Elementary has been a great experience for my two kids. The teachers have all been good to excellent. The older child achieved excellent TAKS scores while at Brentwood. He is now getting great grades in his pre-AP classes in middle school. My younger child is also on track to do very well on the TAKS test. More importantly, both love to learn. They particularly love the innovative art program. The award-winning green initiatives at the school are integrated into the curriculum and include composting and organic gardening. The parent involvement is outstanding. When my oldest was about to start kindergarten, we visited other schools and considered sending him outside the neighborhood or to a private school. I'm so glad we decided to keep our kids at Brentwood. It s a wonderful, supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

It's a great neighborhood school, that's well integrated in the community and participates in many great events. Their organic garden is also something special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

This is a great school. You can tell that everyone really cares about the kids here. The curriculum is exceptional. I am very happy to call brentwood our home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I'm loving our neighborhood school more and more each day. There is such a strong sense of cummunity among parents and the children, many of whom have known one another since infancy. I love walking away from the school in the morning and feeling confident about our decision to stick with the neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Brentwood rocks they have great teachers and yummy lunches too!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

Our experience at Brentwood has been very positive. The teachers are wonderful, with few exceptions. My son's teacher is just amazing and worked with us so well on some anxiety issues he developed. Brentwood has progressive programs lacking in other schools: multi-age classes with teachers who work as a team; the Tribes program, where children learn to work as a team; Lifeskills that emphasize traits such as integrity, friendship and humor. These programs happened because the principal is open to trying new things. My son is reading 1.5 years over grade level and comes home with so many interesting facts and questions that I know he s learning and his curiosity is being nurtured. It s a small, friendly school with diversity in ethnicity and family income, which is important to me. PTA is working hard to increase enrichment opportunities. I m involved and we do get support from teachers and the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

I love living in the Brentwood/Crestview neighborhood, with one exception: sending my child to Brentwood Elementary School. I have been incredibly disappointed by both teachers and administration at Brentwood. My child will not be attending Brentwood next year. I have attended information sessions at several other elementary schools in the area and have been shocked at how far Brentwood lags behind them. I place blame with the principal, who seems content with marginality. The PTA tries to make things better, but without the support from neither principal nor teacher, their efforts are stopgap, at best. There is great potential at Brentwood, it is an up and coming neighborhood that boasts many excellent qualities. But I am not willing to sacrifice my child's education in the meantime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

Brentwood is one of the best kept secrets. The teachers are there for the kids. I can personally vouche for them. I have a child in high school now who at one time was way below grade level in reading. They work with my child until he was caught up. I also have another child there now and the teacher devotion is still there. We use the life skills at home that are practiced at school. There are a few active parent volunteers that are really there for the kids. We also enjoy the box tops store. We are so glad the parent has kept this going over the years. It seems to get better and better each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

85 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

81 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

71 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

71 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

48 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

51 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

48 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education85%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female87%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education88%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female92%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education88%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female86%
Male97%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education100%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students98%
Female96%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students92%
Female83%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female92%
Male82%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education71%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingual43%

Math

All Students71%
Female80%
Male67%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education43%
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted66%
Bilingual0%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female95%
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted85%
Bilingual80%

Math

All Students64%
Female71%
Male58%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted58%
Bilingual0%

Writing

All Students83%
Female100%
Male68%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education60%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant83%
Gifted/talented86%
Not Gifted82%
Bilingual80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female87%
Male94%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education88%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students80%
Female78%
Male82%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education83%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female70%
Male83%
Black or African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education50%
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)17%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 29%
Hispanic 35% 52%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 11%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • KATHERINE WILLIAM-CARTER
Fax number
  • (512) 453-8928

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6700 Arroyo Seco
Austin, TX 78757
Phone: (512) 414-2039

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oakmont School
Austin, TX


St Louis School
Austin, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT