Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


River Oaks Elementary School 4

Posted March 08, 2016
- a community member
One of the reasons I live River Oaks is because the class sizes are pretty small.

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
The staff are so friendly and welcoming. My son looks forward to the high fives he gets every morning on the way into school. His teacher has been very amazing and easy to work with and talk to and always promptly answers any of my questions or concerns. The atmosphere at the school is great!


River Oaks Elementary School 2

Posted May 13, 2015
- a community member
Being a student of the school from 1999-2004, I found that the school is one of the places that does have great teachers but have the potential to become a good school. However, the problem is when i was a child, I was bullied throughout my childhood years in that school and later become a bully myself when I was in 3rd grade. Most of the time, the school spend the time to listen to what the parents say but never give children the chance to speak their minds. Furthermore, I got picked on the most just because I was the unique one in the classroom that wrote tons of notes about the books I read and sometimes the teachers don't do anything to stop it. If the school can work on that along with building a home environment that supports the children's sense of belonging in the school and classroom, then it will be a great place (which i found it is not after I have came back and visit it in 2013 to see my teachers). I also wish that the teachers learn to handle misbehaviors as a sign of boredom and wanting something more out of learning rather than taking it as a sign of problem.

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
We have had nothing but good experiences at River Oaks. The new principal seems to motivate staff, and my kid is happy. Seems to me if you have an individual problem w your kid, a a specific adult, you would be more involved in the school.

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
Just found out about this site. River Oaks is great. It is a TEA Recognized School! My daughter is happy here, and we really like her teacher. Check out the school website and see the photos and extra activities. We love it here.


River Oaks Elementary School 4

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
One thing we like about our school is the diversity. Our kids are going to school with peers that are as diverse as what they will find in the real world. It's a good neighborhood school. Impressed by the test scores too.

River Oaks Elementary School 4

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
I'm confused by the "GreatSchools Rating" of 3 for our school. With TAKS we've been a TEA Recognized School for a few years. With STAAR, we except the same, the best, from our kids. You should look beyond test scores, anyway. We have a great school.

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
Not sure why the reviews here seem so off. Maybe it's the curse of all online reviews, anyone with an agenda can post. I just feel the need to balance it out for those of you really using this site to evaluate our school. Please come and participate. It is a good school.


River Oaks Elementary School 2

Posted May 22, 2012
- a parent
Not impressed with this school at all. Discipline problems, apathetic teacher. My daughter is in 2nd grade. lot of trouble with other kids stealing her stuff, she comes home and tells me her classroom is too loud and disruptive to learn anything in. Tried to get in touch with teacher and principal with no response. If youre thinking of enrolling your child, you should fully research all your options.

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is in first grade here, and attended Kindergarten here as well, and we've been very impressed with both of her teachers and the leadership of Mrs. Khan as Principal.

Nearby schools

River Oaks Elementary School
12401 Scofield Farms Drive, Austin, TX  78758
(512) 594-5000
Last modified River Oaks Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top