Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 843
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Doss Elementary School 2

Posted November 19, 2014
- a parent
The faculty at this school is wonderful. However, the school is bursting at the seams and is at 170% capacity. Teachers are at their wits end. I never thought I would consider moving my child out of this vertical team, but the school (thanks to AISD) does not have the resources to support the massive overpopulation.

Doss Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
Doss elementary is such a wonderful school! This is our second year there and the staff and teachers have been so accommodating with my son who has just been identified as Dyslexic. There is so much parent involvement that there are not even always enough volunteer opportunities to go around. Now that is extraordinary school!


Doss Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
We moved to Doss mid-year and the staff was wonderful about getting him set-up and acclimated. He had a very smooth transition.The staff and students are friendly, smart, and diverse. My son had lost interest in science and math at our old school. He has the spark back about learning and says he LOVES math and science again. I don't think I would've realized it was due to the school until we moved. The teachers here make learning fun and care about their students. He has special needs and made accomodations quickly and have been very supportive.

Doss Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Doss Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
The teachers really care and there's a lot of parental involvement!


Doss Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Doss has a terrific, warm staff that makes everyone feel special.

Doss Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 12, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. However, with all the positive reviews, the school is now overcrowded and losing it's sense of community. Teachers are stressed with the increased class loads and parents are quickly getting frustrated. We found other neighborhood gems at Casis, Hill, and Highland Park schools. The word is not yet out about these.

Doss Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Doss Elementary School 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Doss Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 05, 2008
- a parent
We are in love with this school! Our son's kindergarten year was incredible. His teacher was firm, yet fun, and he learned so much. Great network of supportive parents and teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Doss Elementary School
7005 Northledge Drive, Austin, TX  78731
(512) 414-2365
Last modified Doss Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Doss Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top