Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 532 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

Northwest Elementary teachers and staff are top notch! The PTO is strong and involved and makes it more of a community of family feeling. This is our 4th year in the school and we couldn't be happier with the GT structure and literacy push. I really like the positive reinforcement and positive role model the teacher and staff set forth. This school is the smaller of the two Wells Branch elementary schools, but this school is far more friendlier and catering to its students. Their classroom size is under the TEA classroom cap and it makes a big difference in the amount of time each student gets with teachers and staff. Way to go Northwest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

Northwest is an amazing school with caring and warm staff. There are great opportunities for students who are academically advanced (gifted or not) like Destination Imagination, Science Fair, Math Pentathalon, Duke TIP and Geo Bee. Also, they started a piano program in music this year that is wonderful.


Posted August 7, 2012

LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!! My kids having been attending for 3 years and going on the 4th year and we love it and i love the teachers!!!! The PTO is very active and all the teachers are very into the kids and doing what they need and what is best for them. principal is only been principal for a little bit but hes doing a good job but would do better if he got out there and was more friendly and not as much standoffish sometimes. LOVE THE TEACHERS!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

This school is stellar. The teachers are fantastic and the administration has been wonderful. The Pflex program has been wonderful for my son and differentiation in the classroom has helped him remain challenged while also allowing him time with his same age peers. Certainly there have been things I did not love come up now and then, overall I have loved the experience and my son has flourished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

i had heard good things about this school but this year my child started kindergarten and have not been impressed. Instead of it being focused on education they are concerned about behavior and sitting still. My child was tested above average but his teacher told me in the conference he might not pass kinder because of his active personality. They are all about positive reinforcement but once they label your child, even if they are good kids, its over...sad to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I love this school. The teachers are great and understanding. They have 3 playscapes students love.


Posted March 5, 2009

Northwest has been rated Recognized for the past 2 school years (06-07) and (07-08). The rating of 5 out of 10 on this website is really out of whack. Northwest is an excellent school. Most teachers have been there for 10+ years it seems, the Principal is awesome, and the all the staff know both my kids by name. I have been very pleased with this school from day one. I recommend to any parent considering this school to visit the school & meet with the Principal firsthand. I would be very surprised if you did not have a positive impression.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

Our son is in his second year at Northwest. The school is very diverse and very successful in their pursuit of Academic excellence. The Staff is knowledgeable, helpful and always accessible. The PTO is strong and seems to generate interests in all the activities. I am uncertain why the GreatSchools Rating is not higher given its 'Reconized' status and other favorable stats.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

The staff is so wonderful and caring. This school has a very low teacher turnover rate and they are all very committed. The principal is great but the assistant principal doesn't go out of his way to get to know everyone. He doesn't seem to know the names of the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

My son is a special needs child and has attended NW Elem. for 2nd and 3rd grade. The overall school does not score high in my opinion but their PASS support, counselors, and testing personnel are excellent. They have done so much to help my child obtain the resources he needs to succeed in school, both socially and academically. The teachers he has had these two years have been great. We did do a teacher swap during the first semester of school due to the first room being too much stimulation, however, the teacher was still great. Most schools tend to shove aside the children who require a bit more attention and assistance. This schools PASS support has done a fabulous job in working with my son and I so we could all have a successful year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Warm, caring, and effective teachers, excellent leadership, and a continual focus on improvement. My experience has been very positive with this school. From the cafeteria workers and crossing guards to the Principal and PE Teacher, everyone has a great attitude and really cares about the kids and their jobs! In the past they were rated Recognized and are striving for this status again. Parent involvement could be better. The same small group of parents do all the work. My child has only been there for one year (kindergarten) but so far I think Northwest is an excellent school. Very warm and caring and it's been a very good transition for my child's first year of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Northwest Elementary's teachers and staff can bring out the best in all students. They not only challenge the gifted and those on grade level, but they also take extra care and time with those not on grade level. Their music, art and PE tachers have the best interest of the students at heart. They not only teach the academics, they instill a love of music, art and PE. The level of parent involvement is not where it should be but those parents who do participate do an extreemly wonderful job! From helping and showing their apprciation to the teachers and staff, to tutoring, to fund raising, to just making sure the kids have fond memories of their elementary years, they do it all and are so unselfish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is our fifth year at Northwest Elementary. During our first year we looked into private schools just to know our options but could not find any school that has the longevity and dedication of the teachers and administration at Northwest. We have seen the teachers work with six different reading levels in one classroom. They have this wonderful ability to keep trying different teaching methods for those students that are not up to grade level and at the same time challenge those that are above grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have twins in the GT program in 5th grade and we have been here at Northwest since Kindergarten. The staff and teachers at the school genuinely love the students and want so much for them. Our student population is highly transitory, as many of our students come from apartments and rental properties. This makes it difficult to raise test scores when children are moving in and out of the school so often. While I haven't been as pleased with the way the district structures the GT program, I love the school and wouldn't think of moving my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

73 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

76 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

84 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

83 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female100%
Male92%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)96%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students88%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American69%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education71%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)96%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female98%
Male85%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students95%
Female98%
Male93%
Black or African American94%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female100%
Male92%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education90%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female100%
Male92%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education71%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Male84%
Black or African American71%
Asian100%
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education60%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black or African American67%
Asian71%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)74%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students74%
Female70%
Male78%
Black or African American67%
Asian80%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female87%
Male86%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male87%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female90%
Male76%
Black or African American70%
Asian80%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented80%
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female88%
Male79%
Black or African American73%
Asian73%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)73%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male89%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students82%
Female84%
Male79%
Black or African American82%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 52%
Black 23% 13%
White 18% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 27%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • DAVE BAUMAN
Fax number
  • (512) 594-4405

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14014 Thermal Drive
Austin, TX 78728
Phone: (512) 594-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT