Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lanier High School 5

Posted December 15, 2014
- a student
I used to go to Lanier earlier in the year for like 5 months and honestly after starting homeschool for the first time this year, I'd rather go back to Lanier, it was great there and some of the students, teachers, and counselors were nice. Even though there was one rude teacher. Overall at Lanier I had a great experience especially in the choir part and next year I'm going back. c:

Lanier High School 3

Posted February 09, 2014
- a student
I graduated from Lanier in 2013. While I enjoyed extracurricular activities at this school, the education I received was sub par in comparison to other high schools in Austin. A student could excel academically at Lanier and get automatic acceptance to a University in Texas because of the top 10% rule and find themselves unprepared for the rigor of university classes. It happens far too often. Lanier needs to do a better job of preparing students for the future, instead of making sure they pass the standardized tests. On another note, teachers are deeply invested in their students' lives and care about their success. But there are many young teachers who are hired and leave Lanier once they grow as educators. As for the students, there are students who don't care, students who come from broken homes and shaky backgrounds. They are mainly minorities from lower income families. While nothing is defined by race, there is a negative connotation placed on Lanier because of the attendees. Basically, this school needs to be fixed. Replacing some of the administration would be a great starting point.


Lanier High School 4

Posted October 19, 2009
- a student
I used to be a student at Lanier, I wasn't an A or B student, but I have learned alot. The teachers at this school are very caring and when it comes to problems they are always their to help mainly the counselors and principles.

Lanier High School 5

Posted December 17, 2008
- a student
It was a great learning enviorenment, lots of oppurtunites for us less fortunate students!

Lanier High School 4

Posted June 17, 2008
- a student
I am a current student at Lanier and i am thrilled to be here. I transfered from Anderson High School just to go Lanier High School. Lanier offers a safe enviroment and dedicated teachers which is hard to find at other schools. Everyone is dedicated and teachers are really helpful. The coaches help you out also, we have very good athletes at our school. Now the TAKS scores have been low for a couple of years now, but were improving and the new students are dedicated. You should have seen the amount of people that got commended this year, it was almost half of the school, and the rest of them atleast passed. Many students try and they get rewarded for it. Every school has its good and bad students. I am proud to be a student at this school, and want to graduate from here.


Lanier High School 3

Posted April 18, 2006
- a former student
Lanier is a good school, with hard working teachers. Its only fault being the overall quality of students at the school. AISD does not bus, therefore the population of Lanier is stuck in two molds. Low econmics and monoculturaly. IF AISD would push for diviristy it would be outstanding.

Lanier High School 4

Posted February 03, 2006
- a parent
My son, a senior @ Lanier has done exceptionally well academically. He has been accepted at UT & several other colleges. He has worked extremely hard to have achieved this. Along with Gear up & honors programs & AP classes.He also took the early start college classes. The teachers work very hard with the kids, but the kids have to be willing to do the work. Unfortunately a lot do not bother. Your child can do well @ Lanier if they really want to, if they do, you will find all the teachers more than willing to help them achieve their goals.

Lanier High School 2

Posted January 24, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Lanier High School 3

Posted December 27, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Lanier High School 3

Posted October 02, 2005
- a parent
Lanier has it's fair share of problems, but it also has it's good points. I graduated two sons from lanier. They both were in honors classes and they both played football. I think this helped them stay on track.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lanier High School
1201 Payton Gin Road, Austin, TX  78758
(512) 414-2514
Last modified Lanier High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lanier High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top