Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 450
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Maplewood Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Maplewood is a wonderful, community oriented school with great diversity and very dedicated and involved parents and teachers.

Maplewood Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2011
- a parent
My son is enrolled in the PreK program here. It is both his and my first experience in this department, as he is my oldest and he was never in any daycare programs. The transistion from home to school was seamless and we both fit right in! The teachers are amazing and we instantly felt comfortable. My son started off with a pretty solid foundation for preK, he knew his letters and his colors and shapes, but he has constantly improved in other areas like writing. Maplewood is a sweet little school and it's become our home away from home. :)


Maplewood Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
My son has had a great first year here. All of his teachers, including his homeroom, P.E., Art and Music teachers have been wonderful, engaged and active. The school has a sweet and safe feel with a lot of fun activities to engage families during and after school.

Maplewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
Great neighborhood school. All three of my kids went to school there and loved it.

Maplewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I love the diversity and the great teachers!


Maplewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers, great kids, great parents, great volunteers, great staff!

Maplewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
The teachers and staff are phenomenal. They love the kids and the kids love them right back. Always willing to go the extra. I love this school.

Maplewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
It's a community school where parents and teachers really care about the students and get involved on so many levels


Maplewood Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Maplewood is more than a school. It's a community, and a conscientious one at that!

Maplewood Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Maplewood is the school that time forgot--but totally in a good way. You walk into the halls and immediately feel at home. It's institutional, but in a completely retro 50s sort of way. Like if Mad Men took place in a school, Maplewood would be that school. Better yet, the community that has been created there feels like that as well. As schools should be, it's relatively small. All the teachers know all the kids and all the kids pretty much know one another. Most come directly from the surrounding neighborhood as do many of the teachers. I am in the halls and library frequently and have yet to see or hear any inappropriate speech or behavior. It's not that anything special is happening, but there does seem to be a level of respect for one another that I don't hear about from other schools. I love that my older child knows and plays with kids of all ages. My younger child is almost like a mascot and will feel right at home when it's his time to attend. Teacher quality is off the charts with many long-term, highly experienced teachers. (With Texas at a 3 year average retention rate for teachers, we feel particularly lucky there.) We even have school gardens that the kids plant, tend, harvest and eat during a few special cafeteria lunches. We feel incredibly lucky to be part of such a vibrant, caring, urban school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Maplewood Elementary School
3808 Maplewood Avenue, Austin, TX  78722
(512) 414-4402
Last modified Maplewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Maplewood Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top