Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mccallum High School 1

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
My child is currently a student and these teachers, assistant principals and principal do not stand by their mission. Majority of the teachers are there simple just to get a check. They have no interest if the kid succeed or not. Some of the teachers are just as childish as some of the kids. They lack in the communication. They look at concern parents as a problem. Then take their frustrated out on the kids. They are there to teach and if that is too much for them they need to move around for a teacher that is geniune to a child needs. They are out there, just not at McCallum.

Mccallum High School 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a student
Really great school better english and social studies department than LASA. Math and Science may lack just a bit


Mccallum High School 0
no rating

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
The fine arts program, the english department and the history department are fantastic. The pre AP math and science classes that my child has taken so far have been terrible.

Mccallum High School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Mccallum High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Diverse, engaged, passionate, fun!


Mccallum High School 5

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
intelligent and concerned teaching staff

Mccallum High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Caring, smart teachers, accepting of all students, small enough so that students know almost everybody; great administration.

Mccallum High School 2

Posted November 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Mccallum High School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
I believe you get out of school what you put into it and McCallum provides excellent opportunities for all students. My daughter is in AP classes and is a dance major in the Fine Arts Academy. She has wonderful teachers that are grooming her for college and teaching classes that I wish I could attend. The arts aspect of the school keep it funky, diversified, and more culturally advanced than any other school I know of in the area. I love McCallum.

Mccallum High School 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a parent
My 2nd child to go to McCallum just started and loves it. Both boys were in the Fine Arts Academy and pre-AP/AP classes. They've had some outstanding teachers. Thanks to Ms. Adamson, Mr. Ferguson, and 'the Wiz'!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccallum High School
5600 Sunshine Drive, Austin, TX  78756
(512) 414-2519
Last modified Mccallum High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mccallum High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top