Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mccallum High School 1

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
My child is currently a student and these teachers, assistant principals and principal do not stand by their mission. Majority of the teachers are there simple just to get a check. They have no interest if the kid succeed or not. Some of the teachers are just as childish as some of the kids. They lack in the communication. They look at concern parents as a problem. Then take their frustrated out on the kids. They are there to teach and if that is too much for them they need to move around for a teacher that is geniune to a child needs. They are out there, just not at McCallum.

Mccallum High School 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a student
Really great school better english and social studies department than LASA. Math and Science may lack just a bit


Mccallum High School
no rating

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
The fine arts program, the english department and the history department are fantastic. The pre AP math and science classes that my child has taken so far have been terrible.

Mccallum High School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Diverse, engaged, passionate, fun!

Mccallum High School 5

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
intelligent and concerned teaching staff


Mccallum High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Caring, smart teachers, accepting of all students, small enough so that students know almost everybody; great administration.

Mccallum High School 5

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
I believe you get out of school what you put into it and McCallum provides excellent opportunities for all students. My daughter is in AP classes and is a dance major in the Fine Arts Academy. She has wonderful teachers that are grooming her for college and teaching classes that I wish I could attend. The arts aspect of the school keep it funky, diversified, and more culturally advanced than any other school I know of in the area. I love McCallum.

Mccallum High School 5

Posted September 12, 2008
- a parent
My 2nd child to go to McCallum just started and loves it. Both boys were in the Fine Arts Academy and pre-AP/AP classes. They've had some outstanding teachers. Thanks to Ms. Adamson, Mr. Ferguson, and 'the Wiz'!


Mccallum High School
no rating

Posted March 14, 2008
- a student
McCallum needs a makeover! it is a very dirty school, and it feels uncomfortable to be there...

Mccallum High School 3

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
We moved here from a small town where teachers call you right a way if there is a problem or if your child creates one, also they will call you if your child seems to have difficulty in a subject and try to correct it with after school tutoring I don't see anything like this at McCullam High. I am a bit disappointed in this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mccallum High School
5600 Sunshine Drive, Austin, TX  78756
(512) 414-2519
Last modified Mccallum High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mccallum High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top