Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Norman Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2016
- a community member
I recently visited this school. They have painted and cleaned. It looks like people care. The office staff was so nice. The principal and assistant principal are brand new and I can see there will be a positive change at the campus.

Norman Elementary School 1

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
This school is terrible the teachers speak to the children as if they were adults there are no consequences for the children who hit and bully. I will not be sending my child back to this school. Its a dirty school, they never serve whats o the lunch menu and always have a movie on during lunch time. The staff are rude and not welcoming at all! My sons prek teacher was amazing as for al the other teachers they were rude always yelling at the children.


Norman Elementary School 2

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
Most of the time, the majority of the office staff will not look at you or acknowledge your presence as a parent. However, the principal and Vice Principal are very nice and seem genuinely concerned with the well being of the children. The coach is rude and constantly looks angry. While there are 'No Bullying' signs everywhere, there is no real enforcement of the policy. Kids that bully are sent to the office and then returned to class. There is no accountability for their actions for them or the parents. There is a heavy influence on teaching the kids about black history and the importance of black historical role models, but nothing on other culture's role models or histories. The teachers seem overwhelmed with kids that have behavioral issues. They have a hard time teaching and maintaining any kind of order. While we, as a family, have met some very nice and encouraging teachers and, of course, the principal and vice principal- we are giving up. After 2 years we are going to try a different school.

Norman Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
It feels like the children are inmates in jail. The children do not appear to be treated appropriately. Adults in the school speak to the children as if they were adults. There appears to be little tolerance for childhoood. The cafeteria atmosphere is unacceptable. The children are verbally mistreated and often threatened with "the corner". The kids are not encouraged to talk and normal childhood interation appears to be shunned. I have witnessed the children being told to shut their mouths. It does not appear to be a school where education is the priority.

Norman Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
I am very happy with the school this year. Everything is well organized, the school environment is safe, the discipline aproach is very positive, and all teachers are dedicated.


Norman Elementary School 4

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
Lot's of positive changes since last year. New principal, new teachers.

Norman Elementary School 5

Posted October 11, 2006
- a teacher
This is one of the best schools in Austin, Texas

Norman Elementary School 2

Posted September 19, 2005
- a parent
I can wait untill this school year finish to take off my kids from this school. I never will recomend this school to nobody they don't have any organization, and the techers don't have any comunication with you is like they don't care about anything. The only teacher that sorprise me from that school is Mss. Osten, is the only one.

Nearby schools

Norman Elementary School
4001 Tannehill Lane, Austin, TX  78721
(512) 414-2347
Last modified Norman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top