Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


O Henry Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 02, 2016
- a parent
What integrity is there that never punishes a child who has a bad "home life", but punishes a child for looking askance if they are from the local neighborhood?

O Henry Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
Honestly, it is like living on the streets. We live in a zip-code with two excellent elementary schools, and then, there is this... We have our children in private schools and may have to move because of this school. I don't know if we can make it another two years.


O Henry Middle School 5

Posted October 07, 2015
- a community member
awesome school!!! great the location, lots of activities.. beautiful playground, a school that cares. Lots of programs to offer and great teachers!!!

O Henry Middle School 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
If your child participates in band, orchestra, athletics, or is in all Pre-AP classes then this school may be okay. All other kids, especially special needs kids, should avoid this school. There are some good teachers and a great librarian but the administrators should all be replaced for turning a blind eye to the bullying problems here. The school desperately needs to reinvent itself and become a place people WANT to send their kids. Clint Small MS is a much better choice.

O Henry Middle School 2

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the parent below: This school has a bullying problem. It contributed to our decision to move our child. We spoke to one of the vice principals and were treated with hostility. It's a shame because the teachers at the school are indeed excellent. They go above and beyond for students who want to learn.


O Henry Middle School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
Both my children are at O Henry Middle School. OHMS has an excellent principal, Pete Price, and wonderful teachers. We have a fantastic librarian who is very creative and gets the students excited about exploring different kinds of books. We love the band program and the enrichment classes are really fun and educational.

O Henry Middle School 1

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
O'Henry Middle School has wonderful teachers, but this school has a SEVERE bullying problem that the principal just isn't willing to recognize. Even with the exceptional teaching staff, I could not recommend this school to anyone.

O Henry Middle School 2

Posted July 15, 2013
- a community member
As a former student of O'henry Middle School, all I can say is if you are looking for higher education: I would not recommend this school. There are many very nice teachers but overall they lack connection with the students. Some students are not pushed to be they can be lowering the education level of the other kids. The Athletics Program was less than satisfactory and some of the Staff members.... Did not meet my expectations. Overall I got an education but my experience at O'henry was one that I can brag about.


O Henry Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a teacher
This is the best school I've ever taught at (I taught here for 6 years). The principal is an incredible leader and the staff truly cares about the students. After seeing how other schools are run, I now realize what an amazing school this is, both for students and teachers. I would not hesitate to send my own children here.

O Henry Middle School 2

Posted September 01, 2011
- a community member
I found the two years I spent at O. Henry to be the two worst years of my education. The school is way too crowded. The classes have about 30 kids in a room designed for 20. The teachers have so many students. This causes them to be tired and stressed constantly, and the lessons leave much to be desired. Many of the students there seem to barely care about their education. Many students who are in Pre-AP classes should not be. They do not work, and they do not care. They hold the lessons back, therefore, the smarter students are held back from reaching their full potential. The staff is nice, for the most part. However, there are some very rude teachers and office workers, these are the people that don't care about anything except for the paycheck. I do not recommend this school. I worked hard to succeed, and I did, but that was in spite of the circumstances.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

O Henry Middle School
2610 West 10th Street, Austin, TX  78703
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (512) 414-3229
Last modified O Henry Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top