Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 778 students

Our school is best known for it's diversity & academic excellence.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2009

My daughter graduated from Oak Hill in 2008 and because the education she got there she is a great student. Mrs Thompson was her second grade teacher and the one that identify and corrected a few things and now we are greatfull to her for all her effort. All the teachers there work hard to help the students but parents need to be more involve if you want your kids to succed.Go Eagles!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

My son is a fourth grader at O.H. He has nothing but wonderful engagement. We have been here since kinder and he is excelling in everything. He is challenged on every level. I have been so impressed with absolutely everything about it from the principal to the counselor to the librarian to the teachers. Way to go Oak Hill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

This is an amazing school! Both of my children have learned a lot. My children have had very kind understanding teachers. God Bless you Mrs. Baxter, Mrs. Rogers & Mrs. Ritter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2008

Amazing school! The kids are the focus at the school. The principal's main concern is the student. If each student is getting everything they need, she is happy! I had concerns about my son and each concern was addressed and fixed to my liking. I know that I used too much of Mrs. Whistler's time, but she never made me feel this way. She was unusually helpful. Even though there are some teacher I heard bad things about (as you would anywhere), for the most part the teachers go above and beyond. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

The teachers are wonderful but the school is a big let down when it comes to the safety of the students. They have to request parental volunteers to watch the children at lunch and on the playground because they have not allocated funds for this. If you have a child who has special needs of any kind you will not get any help from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

I agree with the opinion's of the parents who believe it's all about the teachers and how they interact with your child. My daughter has been at Oakhill from Kindergarten and currently closing in on the end of her fifth grade year; she has had certain teachers who have identified her uniqueness and helped her achieve higher goals and then there were those who simply chose to let her slide by. I am extremely grateful to those who took the extra step and pushed her to be the student they knew she was capable of being particulary her fourth and fifth grade teachers who have never given up no matter how exasperating she may have been. God bless you Ms. P and Ms Ledbetter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2008

We have been fortunate to have great teachers in our years at the school but this is not the case for everybody. Like everywhere there are great teachers and bad teachers. The playground is great and the library is well managed. However the principal leadership is far from what I was expecting. There is very little communication comes from the principal and there is no innovation at all. Principal seems have open door policy on a personal basis but does not really address any issues that do not benefit the scoring of the school or if your child is above the norm. Extracurricular activities are simply non existent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

My experience at Oak Hill is that if your kid fits the program, it is a great school. I have read the bad reviews and they all have a similar theme. If your kid does not fit Oak Hill's definition of normal, the school does not do a very good job with them. I don't have any serious issue with my son or the school. However, communication leaves something to be desired. They could do a better job of understanding that all kids are different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My daughter has been there for two and a half years now. I have never had a worse experience. One bad teacher is understandable, but all three she had have been unenthusiastic and unwilling to provide the proper skills needed to pass to the next grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

My child was in Eanes ISD for 1 year (Kinder), but is in Oak Hill Elem now for first grade. It is an excellent school, as rigorous as I hoped, with diversity, high standards, and excellent teachers. The principal Ms. Whistler is omnipresent and approachable. I feel that my child will get an excellent education at this school. Also, it has a great playground (much less congested and chaotic than what she had last year) and enormous library. The leveled library for reading is implemented well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

My daughter has been at Oak Hill Elementary for only a year, but what a bad experienced it was. I had heard great things about the school and was very disappointed. I also think it depends o the teacher. She got the worst second grade teacher. Actually the worst teacher ever since Pre-K. I am hoping this year will be better. We are keeping our fingers crossed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2007

My kids have gone to Oak Hill Elementary since kindergarden. My daughter is now in 8th at Small and my son is in 3rd. Great schools both of them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

It's all about the teacher. Had good to great to fabulous teachers for my children. Know others who weren't so lucky. However......... The principle is difficult to work with and needs more education or training about tolerance on issues involving childrens health and more current thinking on issues involving differences in children. I have to agree with the previous writer on k-roundup, the school is not very welcoming. Sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

We love this school for our children. The teachers are friendly and responsive to parents. My childrens teachers have really gone the extra mile in working with them to become successful. The principals are both approachable and available. The music and art and PE programs are great. There is a good level of parental involvement. We transferred from another school to Oak Hill and are happy that we did so!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 7, 2005

Have had multiple communication problems with different areas, including, prinipal, vice principal, school nurse, and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

Oak hill elementary - rocks!! parents why send your kids to a private school when they cannot compete with the great well rounded education and social development that our kids are and have recieved at oak hill. Rather than pay the extra money, give some of your time and invest that back into your kids as many/most of the parents do at oak hill elementary and watch you child soar with the eagles!! great place to learn and great place to grow. Don't just judge the facility from the outside. Go meet with the staff and find the diamond inside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2004

Unfortunately our son experienced a very stressful and demeaning fourth grade year with very little sensitivity or awareness of our child's needs demonstrated by the staff throughout the school year. We were left feeling no one was listening to our concerns and we never experienced any sincere attempt to understand our child's learning needs. Our child whose learning style is to physically move to integrate information and who is a verbal learner had to sit still and be quiet to be accepted as a 'good' child. Having an advanced degree in education myself, I expressed my understanding of our child's learning style and needs to the staff and found a lack of comprehension and even awareness of child-development needs and individual learning styles. This greatly disturbed us and points to a lack of importance placed on the the needs of the child and the professional sensitivity of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

I went to Oak Hill for my fourth and fifth grade years. My teachers were both great, and also the accelerated program was a great help, not to be put behind by the other kids. I learned so much while I was there. All the students are very welcoming to any new students, and the atmosphere is very kind.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 12, 2004

I've heard great things about Oak Hill and have been looking forward to my son attending. But we attended Kinder. round-up and were very disappointed that kids weren't invited into the classrooms, we didn't meet any teachers or the principal, or learn anything about their kinder program or the school. I know of other schools who provided a warm, interactive, kid-friendly welcome for kinder kids. We basically just filled out paperwork and were walked around by parent volunteers who were nice but told my son to not touch anything (even books in library) and not enter classrooms etc. I was very disappointed, but hope to see great things once we get started there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

We have been part of the Oak Hill family since our son was in Kindergarten. He is now a 4th grader. I cannot say enough positive things about this school. The teachers and staff are awesome. Their professionalism, skill, and caring are unparalleled. An environment of respect for self and others is fostered and expected of students and staff alike at Oak Hill. I have seen one teacher quiet 800 kids in about 10 seconds by raising her hand and saying 'give me five'. Our kids are among the best and the brightest. And last, but not least, parental support at Oak Hill is incredible--just ask, and it shall be done. With a heavy heart, I look forward to our last year at Oak Hill. We have been truly blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

82 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

76 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students89%
Female84%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)87%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female87%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students99%
Female97%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education80%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female92%
Male81%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education80%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingual54%

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian88%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education100%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingual62%

Writing

All Students85%
Female81%
Male89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education40%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female94%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted94%
Bilingual63%

Math

All Students89%
Female87%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education86%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingual88%

Science

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education88%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingual100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 29%
Hispanic 42% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 27%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • CATHRYN MITCHELL
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (512) 892-2279

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
O Henry Middle School
Small Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6101 Patton Ranch Road
Austin, TX 78735
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 414-2336

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Veritas Academy
Austin, TX





Veritas Academy
Austin, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT