Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 465
 

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

10 reviews of this school


Pearce Middle School 4

Posted February 16, 2014
- a teacher
I'm guessing these reviews do not reflect the current state of affairs at Pearce as of 2-2014. I've been there a few times as a sub and the kids are great. Yeah, sure, they may be a bit louder than some schools, but they are GOOD kids. So, don't believe the older reviews. Seems things have changed or the reviewers were uninformed. Some of these kids will be our leaders someday. Some smart ones in the bunch! I love PMS kids.

Pearce Middle School 1

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
is a great sdhool but its ghetto and they have issues and its just dicusting


Pearce Middle School 1

Posted January 11, 2013
- a teacher
I have worked in a few different Austin middle schools at this point and Pearce was by far the worst. Everything that the other one star commenters have said is true.

Pearce Middle School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The Teachers at Pearce and students have worked very hard to to overcome problems without recognition.

Pearce Middle School
no rating

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
the school need disipline and parent involvement to talk about the problems that affect the school and what they need to improve.


Pearce Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2008
- a teacher
The students are not held accountable for their actions. The administration does not follow through with disciplinary actions. Teachers and administration are not working in a joint effort to improve the overall quality of the education.

Pearce Middle School 1

Posted April 07, 2008
- a teacher
I have to agree with the previous poster. Since there's no cohesiveness between the staff and administration (or by the staff in general) and there are no effective administrative consequences, the students get away with everything and we're stuck looking incompetent. The students are very smart, but the behavior has to improve before any scores will. I believe with more structure and an effective positive behavior support system in place, this school can turn around, but until that happens and until we can get all the teachers completely on-board with the administration, the school will not change.

Pearce Middle School 1

Posted October 16, 2007
- a teacher
Sorry, but this school stinks. Don't send your kid here. The teachers try very very hard, but the administration refuses to hold the kids accountable for their atrocious behavior.


Pearce Middle School 3

Posted February 23, 2004
- a teacher
Pearce is a challenged school that especially needs parent involvement. Numerous students have behavior problems that need to be dealt by the parents to expect the best possible learning experience for their children. Few students are really going to school to learn however most seem to be going because they are told.

Pearce Middle School 4

Posted September 08, 2003
- a community member
Many people are under the impression that Pearce is an unruly school, however that is hardly the case. The school [has] a new principal and he is getting things done! So that impression is highly incorrect.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pearce Middle School
6401 North Hampton Drive, Austin, TX  78723
(512) 414-3234
Last modified Pearce Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pearce Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top