Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pillow Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 572 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2009

The school is an integral part of our neighborhood sharing both their facilities and positive spirit.


Posted August 2, 2009

I agree with all the good things said about Pillow.It's a great school, with mostly great teachers.However, there were things that I didn't agree with.1)I wish there were more opportunities for project-based learning rather than TAKS test drills;2)I think my daughter was inappropriately placed in a bilingual class.A true bilingual class should be instructing all students in English and Span.There were many times my child tuned out because she does not speak Spanish at all.And didn't even learn any!3)I asked for accommodation for my daughter and was denied by the teacher because she said she was too busy with the bilingual students.3)her teacher was not savvy with email.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

I have 3 children attending Pillow. This school is the the reason I have not moved from where I live now. My children love this school. The teachers at Pillow are very dedicated to teaching. I am very glad to say that Pillow has been by far the best school ever. They have been there for 3 years and sad to say my 5th grader will not be there next year. Thank you Pillow for all you have done for my children in giving them the best education they could get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

my son was lucky enough to have a wonderful kindergarten teacher. She focused on the children's personal growth along with the curriculum. The principal is outstanding! She has won numerous awards this year, which included 25 thousand dollars towards the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

Awesome school that really cares about their students. Parent in PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This is a blue ribbon school, and the current principal (Dr. Webb) is excellent. Parents are motivated and involved and the school is culturally diverse. Unfortunately extracurricular activities have fallen by the wayside this year and it seems to have been due to the surprise influx of new students due to Hurricane Katrina, however, they still had small musical performances for each grade that the kids and parents both enjoyed. Past activities which will be returning soon, I understand are 'PTV' (Pillow TV), and the Gifted and Talented Program. The full scale choreographed very expensive annual musical production they used to do, 'Something's Afoot' has beend efunct for several years now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

Pillow is a great school.At first I was afraid to enroll my son there but now Im happy.He is in KG & his teacher is really great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

My child attended this school for a very brief period but I found the quality of lesson plans to be very non-challenging. The variety of children from differenT backgrounds was a good thing but that they were at completelty different academic levels was glaringly slowing down the speed and efficiency of lessons.Parental involvement was restricted to interactions with the teacher and not much at the class level. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

The diverse enviroment is the best point in this school. I reccomend to any person.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2005

Pillow is a great school for children who fall into the norms as my oldest child does. The school experience for my older child was excellent. Unfortunately, if your child is in need of special education services, the school is not nearly as good. Parent concerns were ignored, downplayed, and then attacked. Testing in the area my child was admitted for was incomplete and forced my child's new school to completely re-test despite only 6 months between testing. Response to issues were contradictory, variable, and often inadequate. Music was unavailable through much of one year because the music room made the teacher ill. They have a part time nurse only. Any illness or injury that happens outside of those times is dealt with by office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2005

Country Place Elementary School, Carrollton, Texas: (1) Quality of Academic Programs was adequate in variety but appeared to be of lesser quality than where we had come from in Seattle, WA; (2) Music/Arts/Sports availability was poorly- supported compared to others in the community, and other extracurricular activities were nonexistent; (3) level of parent involvement is difficult to access given our brief time there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

My kids are at Pillow since Pre-K and they enjoyed every minute of it. It is a great feeling to know that my children have fun to learn and are happy to be there every day. This is the kind of environment every parent wishes for. 'Good learning, fun and safe.' Dr. Webb and the Staff are wonderful. I think it is impressive that the whole staff was willing to help tutor kids, who needed it in their spare time. Not only the staff of Pillow is great, also parents who work hard on making Pillow a great place. Everybody tries to work together to help out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

We have two children at Pillow. We have had only good things to say about Pillow. When Dr. Webb took over as Principal, she ran the school with love in her heart for the children and teachers. Our kiddos both had Mrs. Walden for Pre-K, she was Pillow teacher of the year again this past year. The staff works so hard to help make our kids better students and young responsible citizens. They can not wait for the day to begin and are sorry when it ends. We give two thumbs way up for this school. We will help to keep Pillow Elementary shiney and bright for all who attend and all who will be coming in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

My child has just completed Kindergarten at Pillow, and we could not be more pleased! The teaching staff is excellent, and the office staff and adminstration exceptional. Pillow is a very diverse school, and it is recognized and celebrated in many ways throughout the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

This is a Exceptional school. My daughter has been attending her for the past 3 years and I have seen her grow with her peers and wonderful teachers. We will truly miss the Pillow Panthers when she attends middle school - we will not forget Dr. Webb and all of her wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2004

I have watched Linda Webb bring this school from an Acceptable rating to Exemplary in the past 3 years. The school is now nominated for a Blue Ribbon award. We will be moving at the end of this school year and I will greatly miss being able to bring my children to Pillow Elementary every day. I know they will be better people because of the time they spent attending this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

81 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

79 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

59 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

56 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female93%
Male86%
Black or African American71%
Asian92%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education80%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students81%
Female89%
Male71%
Black or African American57%
Asian92%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education60%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female86%
Male93%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education83%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female100%
Male91%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)96%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students94%
Female97%
Male90%
Black or African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education89%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male90%
Black or African American77%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education100%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students83%
Female76%
Male90%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education83%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female84%
Male74%
Black or African American67%
Asian100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students51%
Female53%
Male47%
Black or African American40%
Asian100%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education51%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Gifted/talented86%
Non-Gifted47%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Female60%
Male61%
Black or African American57%
Asian100%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education50%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted59%
Bilingual33%

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
Black or African American43%
Asian80%
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education20%
Not special education51%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted46%
Bilingual22%

Writing

All Students63%
Female67%
Male61%
Black or African American50%
Asian100%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education40%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingual44%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education71%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male68%
Black or African American62%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education33%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)76%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female67%
Male70%
Black or African American46%
Asian100%
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education29%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 52%
White 18% 29%
Black 16% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 38%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3025 Crosscreek Drive
Austin, TX 78757
Phone: (512) 414-2350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Louis School
Austin, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT