Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 572
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pillow Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
Helped my son to perform, given new opportunities to speak, present and represent communities. GT program, science fair etc. have led my child to improve and innovate

Pillow Elementary School 4

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
My son attended Kindergarten and first grade at Pillow. His first grade teacher Ms Sarah White is an exceptional teacher, she helped my son in every way to improve and utilize his capabilities and created new opportunities for him. Really grateful to her and the whole school family - will miss you all.


Pillow Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2015
- a community member
Pillow Elementary is a wonderfully diverse neighborhood school. There are over 35 home languages spoken. Students at Pillow feel safe and happy and are supported by their teachers who provide equitable learning experiences giving each child the tools they need to be successful. There is parent involvement with the PTA hosting several Spirit Nights a year to raise money for the school. In addition, the school opens its doors four times a year with a night dedicated to celebrating the each of the 4 content areas. My favorite is their Literacy Night where children come in and have fun with literacy, guided by their teachers, and leave with a free book! Lastly, Students in 1st-5th grade are exposed to foreign languages once a week (Spanish, French, German, Chinese, and Latin). This really is a wonderful school and one of Austin's best kept secrets.

Pillow Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2015
- a community member
Pillow Elementary School is an incredible school. The teachers are so caring and nurturing to each student. They always go above and beyond to make sure each student learns what they need to succeed in the next stage of their education. The teachers take a personal interest in each student to give them confidence in finding what motivates them not only in school but in life.

Pillow Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2014
- a parent
My son attended PK here in the year 2013-14. We found this school to be quite good, the teachers and staff are friendly and involved. The school had regular field trips which helped keep the students interested. The parents were encouraged to be highly involved. I do not know why the school fell in the ratings but our experience has been good so far.


Pillow Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
This review is for 6 years ago (06'/07')- not sure if the same principal is there. My son loved this school. He only attended in 5th grade, but as a senior now he looks back and says 'I really liked Pillow. I learned so much there.' The principal was really the key I believe. She was terrific. She hand picked a group of teachers that truly wanted the best for the kids. They taught in a way that made the kids think, not just memorize facts. Thank you!

Pillow Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
We love the school, my son is happy there, since PK he has great grades, we're taking an active part in his education by reinforcing what he learns at school at home, I wish more parents take the plunge an volunteer more at school , the opportunities are there.

Pillow Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
The staff and faculty at our school goes above and beyond for it's students. We are a family here.


Pillow Elementary School 3

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
Pillow Elementary is a good neighborhood school. We love that parent involvement is encouraged by the staff.

Pillow Elementary School 4

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
It is ok but do not why it dropped from exemplary to acceptable in 1 single year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pillow Elementary School
3025 Crosscreek Drive, Austin, TX  78757
(512) 414-2350
Last modified Pillow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pillow Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. Top