Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Travis Hts Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 533 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, August 20, 2014

My child has been at Travis Heights and in Special Education for a few years. There is a partially new staff in SPED this year and I have met them. They seem vibrant, engaged and ready for the challenge with fresh ideas and a positive attitude. The district itself clearly struggles with how to best serve our most vulnerable kids. We have been at others schools in AISD, but we have found the principal at Travis Heights to always be approachable, responsive and willing to dig in deep to make sure the instructional experience is appropriate. Even so far as to push on the district to get needed or unique resources on campus for our child. I'm sorry to hear one person is upset prior to even starting the school year, but raising a child with special needs can be difficult. I have always found the leadership and teachers at this school to be supportive, proactive and thoughtful about how to truly serve our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I am new to the neighborhood and caught wind of the school at my little coffee shop/market from a poster that was posted in the window. I went to the website and the schools seems to be doing some pretty cutting edge stuff as far as a public school goes.


Posted July 28, 2014

Was excited about this school until I just learned that a new SPED teacher has been hired (who is also their new "head" of their SPED dept on campus) is an unqualified 2 year "teacher" who has ONLY been a co-teacher for her first 2 years of teaching at another failing AISD campus (that is being "restructured" this year)! How can this person be qualified? To add insult to injury, she isn't even fully certified (only has SPED certification and no general ed certification). How can someone like this get hired to be in charge of some of the most vulnerable students in the district? Very disappointing! We will be changing schools immediately as I will NOT risk my child's education on the whims of someone as un-proven and unqualified as this. Not acceptable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Travis Heights Elementary. I think that Travis Heights is a wonderful school. The new charter will give we as parents more of a say as to how our children are being educated. Ms Robertson is wonderful. I like the morning exercise, the music, Korean activities, I work as a math mentor at the school. It has been one of the most rewarding things that Ive done! I am looking forward to my younger sone to begin school at Travis Heights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

Travis Heights Elementary School provides the outstanding level of education and careness. This is an excelent school. Love it


Posted April 24, 2012

Excellent teachers and course works!! I am so proud of having my kids attending at Travis Heights school due to sincerely treating kids, various education programs and very supportive faculties. Especially, I love they have multicultural education programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

Last year my son started school here at Travis Heights. I absolutely fell in love with his kindergarten teacher, Ms. Mrowca. She was loving and encouraging as well as structured and firm when needed. She had some very difficult students in her class and worked very hard to both be firm with them and to find things to encourage in them. She was very open to talking with the parents and very understanding when I discovered some visual problems my son was having. She was always enthusiastic about helping to make the classroom a good space for him to learn. Really, all of the kindergarten teachers are great! Now that my son is in first grade, he is in the dual language program. I have enjoyed that Spanish is a challenge to him as most everything else comes very easily to him. Not every single teacher at the school is as amazing as Ms. Mrowca, but I cannot imagine a school where that isn't the case. I have recently spoken with a parent with a child now in the magnet program at Kealing, and she felt like THES prepared her son very well, better, in fact, than some other elementary schools prepared their students. I found this quite encouraging to hear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2011

I am thrilled with THES' Dual-Language Program. My daughter's Kinder teachers are both native speakers from Chile. Aside from providing my child with constant exposure to Spanish (she has Science in Spanish daily and Mon and Wed/alternate Fridays are Spanish days), they are remarkable instructors who respond with a great balance of humor, nurturance, and structure. I initially was concerned with the amount of (or lack of) outdoor time (i.e., recess). But being involved in the school community, I see that the children are moving a lot throughout the day (learning with music through stand-up choreographed movements, working on various stations, changing classroom - library, art, p.e., music, Korean class - yes, they are the only school that has a third language!) My daughter loves walking to and from school with the neighbors and I've seen our community strengthen across Socio-Ecoomic lines and individual differences. THES is incredibly unique and flourishing to be one of the most diverse and innovative campus. If you are in doubt, just spend some time visiting the campus. Volunteer in the library - walk the halls. See for yourself. It's very honest and authentic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

as we enter our fourth year at THES, i look forward to continuing our relationship with the forward thinking staff, administration and educators. the children here are happy. with excellent parental involvement, during school hours and outside of school hours, the students feel the community is on their side. the teachers welcome this involvement and the students benefit greatly. so many teachers spend weekends and after school hours assisting any child who needs that bit extra. knowing that each student continues their education outside of school hours, the parent support specialist as well as teachers and administration offer encouragement and resources to parents so that they may help their reach for more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

They serve many students below the poverty level and their principal, Lisa Robertson, cares deeply about the success of her students.tr


Posted October 4, 2010

This is our son's third year at THE and we're honestly beginning to wonder why we even bothered putting him on the transfer list. Coming from a Montessori preschool program, it was an easy transition b/c his Kindergarten teacher was fantastic. That said, his 1st grade teacher was obviously burned out and spent so much of her time either yelling at her students or out sick. This was the first year our son has ever come home from school consistently telling us that he "hates school". This year, he's in the "new" dual language program. He's given a 10 page homework packet to take home and instead of engaging students, his teacher gives the kids busywork packets to do all day. Mediocrity abounds. THE is frankly no different than the rest of the district. No better, no worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2010

My Daughter just started Kindergarten here. I must say she is having a ball and is challenged. I was really worried that as a precocious, spirited child who requires tight, loving boundaries to thrive, wouldn't get them and would be labeled "trouble". Instead we are delighted that her energy, desire to lead and learn is being lovingly directed and challenged with appropriate demands. The diverse environment is exactly the environment we wanted to encourage empathy, open-mindedness, etc that will set her up for smooth success in this ever changing world. Overall, the principle, PTA, and especially the teachers, are committed and skilled enough to provide every student the love, support and challenge they need and deserve. We are a proud "Thunderbird" family!!.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

I absolutely love Travis Heights and it's teachers. I would really like to live closer to work, but because I want to keep the kiddo in this school, we will be remaining in this part of Austin until he has completed the 5th grade. My son was in their PPCD program and has transitioned to 'regular' ed. The entire way, his teachers from both PPCD and Kinder have been phenomenal. His resource teacher (helps him with reading, math, and writing) goes above and beyond the call of duty to help my kiddo. She has accomplished things with him that I didn't think he was capable of or that he would even be capable of anytime soon. The administrative staff is wonderful and supportive. I've had nothing but great experiences with Travis Heights and I just feel so lucky that we found a great school on the first try.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2010

I think this school is awesome it is my daughters 1st year and we were going through alot with the economy they made my daughter and myself so very comfortable they take pride in there students and there ability to learn I am greatful they r the school I chose for my daughter her teacher mrs.chavez is amazing... the entire staff..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Great shcool, teachers and administration!!!


Posted March 31, 2009

we transferred in from far south austin. i am sooo pleased with the experience my child is getting. the small school, the intimate environment, the strong involvement of parents, and the willingness of the teaching staff and administrators to incorporate their assistance has made me feel 100% sure of the decision i made to send my child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

We are finishing our first year here and it's been a mixed experience. The year started out good, but it's been an eye opener these past months. If you go here and want your kids to have a good experience you're going to have to work for it. It's a big school. Twice is demanded of every parent with a child at THE and that's still not enough. I don't appreciate the looks from parents when I can't be there everyday or the air of entitlement because some are there more than others. Some people at the school forget that some of us have to work and still earn a living and they take their frustration out in negative ways that don't help the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Travis Heights has so many qualities that make it one of the top schools in the city as far as I'm concerned. This school is located in the heart of Austin near Congress Avenue. The student body reflects the city's population with a mixture of culture and economic backgrounds. The energy within the school is so positive. The teachers and staff are vested and take pride in their students. Because of the diverse population, teachers are challenged with keeping curriculum engaging. It's not a school where regurgitaing information from a text book is the norm. If you haven't visited the school, try a Friday morning assembly where the 'Thunderbird' band cranks up and rocks the students with the school song. It's truly an experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

I have two children. I have a child currently attending THE and am very satisfied with her educational progress. One now in middle school is very successful academically, partly because her early foundation at THE. This school is quite diverse and is very accepting, but is not for everyone. One of the benefits of this school is the awesome community that has formed around relationships developed at the school, for both children and parents. I suppose someone living in our neighborhood with children in school elsewhere may feel left out. We all make choices about how we live our lives and those choices do have consequences. Academically my children do at least as well as their friends from elsewhere in the city. Is it perfect? No. THE has challenges to be overcome. However, I do know my children are happy and thriving, learning new things and conquering new challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

I have chosen to send my children to THES and have never regretted it. I love the school, the community, the administration. I have been there four years and will be there for another ten years. As a parent that is continually involved with all the people at the school, I do not see anything wrong with recruiting parents to help their own children as well as their classmates excel in their education. THES is a unique community and I am impressed with the level of dedication the teachers and parents have to their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

60 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

50 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

51 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

46 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

71 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

69 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female94%
Male81%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education50%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education38%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female96%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education60%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented94%

Math

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students87%
Female86%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education70%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education67%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education71%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female78%
Male74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingual92%

Math

All Students50%
Female58%
Male39%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education49%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted32%
Bilingual57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female81%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted78%
Bilingual86%

Math

All Students69%
Female62%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)72%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted54%
Bilingual69%

Writing

All Students80%
Female88%
Male72%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingual100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Female81%
Male82%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted71%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students71%
Female74%
Male67%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted55%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students80%
Female76%
Male86%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 52%
White 17% 29%
Black 10% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 23%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • LISA ROBERTSON
Fax number
  • (512) 442-9537

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2010 Alameda Drive
Austin, TX 78704
Phone: (512) 414-4495

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Acton Academy
Austin, TX



Daep- El
Austin, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT