Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cedar Valley Middle School 5

Posted June 14, 2016
- a student
This school is amazing fun and cool. Good friends enough amount of homework . Lots of fun at P.E and Athletics and Band. I also play the alto saxophone and i will be moving on the 7th grade. Overall great school

Cedar Valley Middle School 5

Posted March 29, 2016
- a student
I was a new student at cedar valley middle school this year for 8th grade, I had a new experience at a public school, this was probably one of the best years I have had. I was in band, (played alto saxophone) I was originally in concert band, but then I was able to move up a band!(symphonic band) it was a great environment with many nice people, and I enjoy all of my classes, (team 8-1) all of my teachers are so nice and show much respect towards their students, I've had a great time at this school, I've made great friendships and great projects, I hope I can experience the same thing in high school (I'm going to go to McNeil High school soon!)


Cedar Valley Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 29, 2016
- a student
I think cedar valley can give us more homework, because I believe that most students need more practice and understanding of what they are learning, others might say there is too much homework, but it really depends on what the teachers wants

Cedar Valley Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a student
Again, all the teachers I've had, have been respectful and encouraging towards everyone. Others should show credit towards these teachers.

Cedar Valley Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 29, 2016
- a student
All the teachers I've had this year have been so respectful and are willing to help the students to their best, I believe that they work so hard for us, and they deserve the credit


Cedar Valley Middle School 1

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
I don't care what other parents are saying, this school is about as fake as it gets. I put my children into private school to avoid this school because of all the stuff that I have heard families going through as their children attend Cedar Valley. A girl slammed a bag of books into my friend's daughter's head, which resulted into a massive concussion, and the school avoided the matter completely and even DEFENDED the girl/bully in order to keep their 5 star rating because apparently bullying is allowed, as long as it doesn't become public. My friend had to pay over $2000 in medical bills and even though she hired a lawyer, the school would not help or acknowledge the matter. The bully/girl's parent of course avoided the matter as well, so my friend had to pay the medical bills herself. This is absolutely inexcusable and the school should be put under investigation, not only because of this specific matter, but multiple other matters that I have heard of from multiple parents. The principal himself is an extreme dictator and I even went up to the school to talk to him about a few matters when deciding whether or not to enroll my kids in this school or private school, and he avoided all accusations and attempted to pull off the "everything is perfect here" attitude. I will not have a single part in this school and I continue to urge all the parents around the area to do the same.

Cedar Valley Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
There should not be summer homework allowed in a middle school setting. Save that for high school.

Cedar Valley Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The only determination Cedar Valley develops is consistently keeping up of its fake image, while it proudly instills in its students.


Cedar Valley Middle School 5

Posted June 27, 2015
- a community member
My child will be entering 8th grade this coming school year, 2015-16. The previous two years have been wonderful. She's had some marvelous teachers. One in particular was Ms. Julie Johnson. She is an exemplary teacher that goes above and beyond every day. Not only do her students learn a great deal but they enjoy what they are learning which can be difficult when it comes to math! Another superb teacher has been Ms. Kimberly Midkiff. Hands down she made Science cool again for my child. These are two of the best of the best!! Kudos go to Mr. Groff, as well. He's made the school pretty awesome! There's a great nurturing, supportive environment at Cedar Valley!! My emails have always been replied to promptly and I've always been greeted with smiles when visiting the school. An A+++ middle school in my book. Now can't wait for my second child to come here in another year!!

Cedar Valley Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 19, 2015
- a parent
The support staff and teachers went the extra mile to ensure my daughter was successful.

Nearby schools

Cedar Valley Middle School
8139 Racine Trail, Austin, TX  78717
(512) 428-2300
Last modified Cedar Valley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top