Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Laurel Mountain Elementary School 3

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
Our experience at LME has been very mixed. Kindergarten and 1st grade were wonderful. In 2nd grade my daughter didn'tseem to learn as much, and in 3rd & 4th grades there was a heavy emphasis on testing. It's hardly surprising the campus tests so well: the students mostly are from affluent and well-educated Asisan and Anglo families. My daughter has never had a non-white teacher, or an African-American classmate (we are white, too), so it's not really diverse:(. She would have benefited from more hands-on learning and fewer worksheets in grades 2 - 4. The Friday morning enrichment program, on the other hand, is very good. So it's a toss-up.

Laurel Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2013
- a parent
We love LME. We moved to Austin from Seattle two years ago, started school after the year had begun and the teachers, counselor and administration made every effort to ease the transition for my boys. Accommodations are made for kids who need help socially, academically and otherwise. The school wants children to succeed and to be empowered. It's a strong community. We love it.


Laurel Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
Excellent school, with very motivated teachers and exceptional involvement by parents via the PTA. Very high academic standards, racially diverse and a good foundation for middle school. The parent funded "enrichment clusters" are great and provide a level of customization that helps keeps children interested in school. They have a very strong chess club. Several hundred (!) participate in their chess practices every Friday at 6:45am!.

Laurel Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
LMES is everything that a parent could ask for when choosing a school to help educate their child. We are finishing our kindergarten year, and our teacher was amazing! We get daily e-mails on the daily activities, weekly e-mails on upcoming important dates, and parents are always welcomed when they visit. My son's kindergarten teacher even made a home visit after he got a tooth pulled to check up on him and bring him goodies from the classroom. The parent involvement is spectacular, as the PTA rallies to support the school with so many enrichment opportunities. Yes, the school is academically competitive- but that is brought upon mostly by the highly educated and ambitious parents and not the nurturing staff. Yes, there is a lot of fundraising, but if one wants all the extras that this school provides, there is no other option. All the fundraising directly benefits our kids.

Laurel Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
My son is entering his first year at LMES. Kindergarten thus far has been amazing! This school has so many enrichment activities that it is hard to start describing them all. The staff are very nurturing and approachable, we couldn't have asked for any more. The level of communication from the classroom to home is out of this world. We are so lucky to be at this school!


Laurel Mountain Elementary School 3

Posted May 10, 2009
- a parent
My son is in first grade at LME and now at the end of two years there I am done with this school. There are two reasons why this school perform so well on TAKS testing 1) the kids are smart and 2) the test is ridiculously easy. LME is a wasted opportunity. It is bristling with intelligent children and motivated parents and yet it teaches to the lowest common denominator instead of rising to the challenge of stimulating intelligent children. The teachers don't have to teach - the children are well prepared by their home environment before they enter the school.

Laurel Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
LME is incredible! Teachers, staff, students and parents make this school amazing. This school offers a unique enrichment program weekly for the kids as well as preparing them academically. If you have a child that needs extra assistance academically, they do a superb job accomodating the student and individualizing the program. We have 2 kids in this school, and I cannot say enough good things about it.

Laurel Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2008
- a parent
This is our first year and we love LME. Yes, there is a lot of fundraising, but that is the nature of elementary schools anymore. Definitely a great school.


Laurel Mountain Elementary School 3

Posted September 03, 2007
- a parent
Overall, this is a good school that used to be great. Most of the really good teachers have either retired or changed schools. Every year, I find yet another reason to hold off on volunteering at the school. One year, I asked why we couldn't use the funds from over $27,000 raised at our school Carnival for the purchase of paper and ink, items that the school was asking for in weekly newsletters.

Laurel Mountain Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2007
- a parent
This is our first year at LM and so far we are extremely pleased with the curriculums and all the staff members. The principal and the teachers are excellent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel Mountain Elementary School
10111 D-K Ranch Road, Austin, TX  78759
(512) 464-4300
Last modified Laurel Mountain Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Laurel Mountain Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top