Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 61 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Davis Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Principal Daniels for pursuing excellence and caring for our children's development. We are grateful for your willingness to adapt our childrens' learning environment to the changing world and marketplace. Change can be difficult for parents and teachers who are stretched, but we are thankful that you are willing to take that risk for the sake of our kids.

Davis Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
Our campus is a community raising a generation of kids that care about others and love to learn.


Davis Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
We are so very thankful to have ended up at Davis!! The administration is working so very hard to add Project Based Learning to all grade levels. The principal wants our kids to be able to learn from experience and hands on lessons. The parent community is highly involved and cares about all the students. Many of the teachers are working hard to change the way they teach to engage our kids in an 21st century way with technology and creativity. My only hope is that the few teachers that are stuck in their old ways would move on or change the way they view education.

Davis Elementary School 5

Posted March 10, 2016
- a parent
Both of our children have been at the school for almost their entire elementary experience and we have absolutely loved it! All schools have challenges, but the response of the teachers, and specifically the principal and vice principal to address concerns and pursue excellence, make this school great. Of course, without parent involvement, no school will thrive, and Davis parents have been incredible. We feel truly blessed to be a part of this community.

Davis Elementary School 1

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teachers at Davis are great. Others are bullies who only care about the students who have the highest grades and will shame those who don't in from of the class. When brought to the principals attention no action was taken.


Davis Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
My son went to Kindergarten in Davis for 2014-2015 year for few months and then we had to move. He now goes to a different school. However, we were very satisfied with the class, curriculum taught and the teacher. His teacher was Mr. Moreno. He would select materials for my son according to his capacity and send home works for his level. My son enjoyed his time in Davis a lot and learned a lot too. He took a big leap in his reading skills. Thank you for all your hard work, Mr. Moreno.

Davis Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
I love having my children at Davis. I have a kindergarten student and a 3rd grader and this is there second year attending. I love the parent involvement, the lesson plans, and how the teachers go above and beyond to keep the students engaged. Very good school!

Davis Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a parent
Very good school! The staff is extremely pleasant and eager to answer questions and fulfill the help you need. School has a very close community and very relaxed vibe. Highly recommend this school!


Davis Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
My son and daughter both attended Will Davis Elementary. The teachers are very caring and developed interesting lessons. My children loved going to school! There are many enrichment activities from Math Pentathalon to Spanish Enrichment to a school-wide MARE ocean program. Parent involvement is incredible and there are opportunities for everyone to become involved. The school has two computer labs and a science lab. They are part of a new initiative where each grade level learns another language. My son was taught Latin by a High School Latin teacher! Administration is open to parent concerns and welcomes parent involvement at all levels. It's a great school!

Davis Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Davis is an absolutely amazing school. Staff is wonderful, caring, and responsive. They have numerous unique and interesting programs. They keep students engaged, and set them up for a life long love of learning. The parent involvement is above and beyond. Fund raisers and school functions abound, are well organized, and super fun to boot. Our 2 children are thriving here, and I am eager for our little ones to grow into this school as well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Davis Elementary School
5214 Duval Road, Austin, TX  78727
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. (512) 414-2580
Last modified Davis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top