Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bailey Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I witnessed good behavior by students recently at a performance and luncheon. Their teachers were fair and clear in communication and the young students followed instructions easily. The principal appears to be a fine man, doing a fine job.

Bailey Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Thanks Lourdes and Bardo for making sure the school is always so clean. We really appreciate it.


Bailey Middle School 5

Posted February 06, 2016
- a parent
Why do I feel like this school deserves a 5 star? Here's a story: I am sitting in my living room playing my guitar when my son, from across the room and staring into his phone, comments that the G string is a bit sharp. He developed that ear from the bailey band program. Oh... they always score past the star on the big test. If you have seen that test report you know will know what I mean. I attended an eighth grade graduation ceremony last year and was very impressed with the cohesiveness of the student body. All the students who won awards received loud cheers....all of them. It was nice. I volunteer very often and an on campus more that 10 times a month. I have never seen any ugly behavior between the students. Here is another interesting fact, The new Choir teacher was a Bailey student herself 10 years ago. She came back to develop the program. Send your student here with confidence.

Bailey Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
The basketball coaches have really helped my son progress. He loves being on the team.

Bailey Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
Thank you for letting my student test up to advanced math. He felt very good about taking control of his academics.


Bailey Middle School 5

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
John Rocha, the new principal, has been in place for two years now and he's been great. He is turning everything back into the positive, and working diligently with the teachers and staff to continue competitive education at Bailey. I would encourage all parents to truly look at Bailey because it does offer the same competitive classes that magnet schools offer. My son is doing the same upper level algebra at Bailey that they are doing at other schools, and this is just one example of the classes he's taking. Did you know that Bailey has a robotics class? Did you know that they are working towards even more tech classes for the students? Be sure to check out all of the classes offered at Bailey because there are many, and they are working on more to come! The teachers at Bailey are wonderful, hard-working, and truly are teaching our students. My son has learned a lot from them, and my daughter will be there soon. Bailey also offers fun community events that no other school offers! This past October we had a pep rally with a bonfire. The kids, staff, and community as a whole loved the event and are looking forward to more in the future. We have strong athletics, drama, orchestra, band and so much more! Bailey is also situated in a "country-like" setting and is across the street from a natural cave. There is only one main road by by the school which is a huge bonus to me since it allows the students to be in a more secure environment without traffic racing from all directions. The beauty is that you can drop your kids off and see a herd of deer along the way. Bailey has a hard-working PTA that is actively involved with bettering the school. Did you know Bailey has a beautification program through the PTA that is working hard to ensure our campus looks great? The beautification chair has also worked with local scouts to add aesthetically pleasing items such as a gazebo. This is one of the many programs the PTA provides. I highly encourage you to check out your local school, Bailey, before venturing to other ones outside of your area. Bailey has a lot to offer and is right at your backdoor.

Bailey Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 13, 2016
- a parent
Thanks for all of the teachers and staff for working so hard for our students.

Bailey Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Baker, Thank you for doing so much with the drama classes and department. You are an amazing teacher, and Bailey is so lucky to have you!


Bailey Middle School 5

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Amazing school! The new principal has really turned things around. I was disappointed when my child did not want to go to one of the magnet schools because she wanted to be with her friends. However she is being very challenged in her advanced math and pre-ap classes. Socially it has been the best of both worlds for her because not only does she have all of her great friends from elementary, but she has also made so many new friends. The drama teacher is a bright spot at the school, just an amazing teacher. They also have a new dance teacher who used to run Bowie's Silver Stars, and my daughter loves taking dance with all of her friends instead of normal PE. Bailey has strong parent participation now and is a true community. Amazing that a new principal can make such a huge difference!

Bailey Middle School 5

Posted March 06, 2015
- a parent
This is an excellent middle school made only better by a new principal. We have perhaps the best middle school band, an excellent football team, a progressive environmental science program and some top notch skateboarders. I could send send my kids to private school and they could easily qualify for the magnet programs. We also own a house in Circle C and could attend Gorzycki. We believe Bailey to be the best choice and my students like it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bailey Middle School
4020 Lost Oasis Hollow, Austin, TX  78739
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. (512) 414-4990
Last modified Bailey Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top