Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kealing Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1130 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

68 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2011

I would strongly encourage everyone to stay away from Kealing Magnet School. They screen kids to get the smart ones but heap so much homework on them as if they can't comprehend! Three hours of homework a night is routine. There isn't any room for other activities. Kids learn best when they are having a positive experience, not being punished. They need to explore other interests and be well rounded. Administration ignores these issues and is difficult to work with. Don't be surprised if they don't return your calls. Teachers impose their own liberal views of life/religion on kids and parents aren't usually aware unless you follow homework carefully. You are far better off to have your students in local middle schools. They have student support and factual curriculum. Their music and theater teachers quit last year due to no support from the administration. One teacher told me she felt she was being set up by the administration for failure. The students I spoke with weren t happy at Kealing Magnet. They hated the bars on the windows, the homework, the teachers and the many fights between CAP kids and Magnet kids. We have one chance to raise our kids. Beware .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

Well after looking at all of these reviews i see that most of the Magnet parents and students still look down apon us CAP students. I went to Kealing all through middle school and it was great i had friends in both programs but i noticed that each side hated the other. Sports at kealing are the best we have alot of competion in our zone. But over all a great school i went there from 07 - 09


Posted May 12, 2011

Hate it. I cry everyday. Its ridiculous. There's to much homework and when I look at my homework I say to myself "uhmmm, einstein where are you?"


Posted January 31, 2011

Great school with excellent teachers and very effcient office staff! The magnet program offers them exactly what our kids need. The math, social studies, electives and after school clubs are great and high quality education opportunities to many students who want to learn. The program director, teachers there are working very very hard. So do the kids and everybody there. We really appreciate the Kealing Magnet program and Kealing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2010

I go to Kealing. I love Kealing! yes, it is hard and challenging but you meet so many new people from different parts of Austin. You really gain individuality there. And as a student, at first I really did not want to go there, but now I'm glad I did. There are some really great teachers, and its a really good learning environment.


Posted May 2, 2010

Kealing is a great school, you learn a lot and if you are having trouble with the school work the teachers will help you with it. The CAP kids are a bad influence on some students, whhat with their cursing every 5 seconds, and showing little or no respect for the students around them. But I have found Kealing to be a great experiance.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2010

My child is GT-labeled, and needs that label -- she skipped a grade without blinking an eye. 'Differentiation in the classroom' doesn't get her much when she's a different of 1 -- what classroom teacher can do that? Kealing Magnet has been a godsend - she's now figured out what 'work' means, she's discovering that she can not-know things & then learn them... all the things most parents take for granted in their kids. However, if your kid is not so bored in elementary school that they're causing trouble, Kealing Magnet MAY NOT BE FOR YOU. I have another child in pre-AP at another Austin middle school. She is thriving there... but Kealing would /not/ work for her at all. I **love** how Kealing Magnet works for Gifted & Talented students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

The academics in the magnet program are great however the question for us is this school worth the hassle and burden on our child? 1) In my opinion we have found the discipline to be a bit militaristic. I like having consequences but I believe this school's seem to punish more than teach. 2)My son spends 3-5 hours on homework that at times consists of busy work that leaves little time for him to read for fun. 3)We find there is little feedback--one of his teachers didn't post homework grades until the end of grading period so he was in the dark as to how he was doing. 4)Tutoring sessions are so crowded my son complained that it was hard to get help. I witnessed this when I went to a teacher conference. It was scheduled during a tutoring session. We are looking at other schools with pre-ap courses next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

Kealing has been a very good experience for my children. Notice that I didn't say an easy or problem less experience. Yes, the expectation is set very high. Coming home one day my daughter told me that she finally felt that she deserved the A's she had made that semester. Know your kid and be realistic in terms of expectations. My son sometimes had difficulties there but reflects back on how much he gained from the experience. The academics are top notch and the orchestra is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

My child is in the Magnet program. He has gone from being a bright, happy child to a child that is burdened and depressed by an oppressive amount of homework, and most of his friends feel the same way ~ many of us are looking at other schools. The teachers move very fast in class and refer students to tutoring and count on that and homework ~ this is how the kids are able to learn so much, so quickly. But there is a price. My child has gone from loving school, to thinking that his school is cool, but is saddened by how unhappy he is there. If you know of another good school, near you, consider it. This may not be as good of a deal as you think it will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

Kealing is coolest school around. They really help kids acheive their goals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2009

My Child Is in the 8th grade at kealing in the MAGNET program. He says he loves it.Once i visited there one day and saw the diversity and large amount of programs and clubs kealing has to offer. My son was in the CAP program in the 6th grade and told me it was too much of a breeze. I quickly had a meeting with the magnet director and in doing such found that there was a spot open. My child says that the assignments are not easy but are not impossibleto do. If your child was in the Kealing Magnet Program, Pre-Ap, or CAP he/she would love it not only because of the ground breaking academics but also because of the loving and friendly teachers and students that are there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

The teachers are great. They even stay after hours to help the children achieve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

While some of the magnet kids can be snotty, the rest of us are perfectly fine. And those that are snotty tend to be rude to everyone, not just CAP students. The teachers are incredible, though the draconian discipline is somewhat extreme.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Kealing is a great school with a diverse student body and excellent teachers. It's an awesome place to teach and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

Though academically, the school is easily exemplary,(I speak only for the magnet program, for the CAP system is one I have not experienced) I feel that in the classes as well as the hallways, magnet students have a tendecy to look down on Cap students. Parents, please sit down and have a talk with your child not to judge Cap students. Despite the numerous negative encounters that have occured whose validity I do not dispute, all children who live in the neighborhood are not neccarily to be viewed with hatred, and reading Malcon X and other stories about prejudice is useless if the magnet students consider a plausible interpritation of a CAP student to be speaking with an African American accent. The teachers are fantastic and encouraging, and the assignments are original and interesting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2009

This school is just like any other middle school. Unless you are in the Magnet Program, there's really nothing special about it. I was a little late to enroll last year, because I had moved to Austin less than a month before school started. I had the grades and perseverance to be eligible for the Magnet Program, but they would not allow me access. This ended up with me not having the best experience. The Magnet kids seem to be a bit snotty towards the other kids anyway, and there is a HUGE segregation. The Magnet kids are like the elite, because they are supposedly smarter and 'better'...the acceptance into th program has gone to some of their heads and caused many of them to be very pretentious. I wanted to be in the Magnet program so I could be challenged. but it seems that it would be a bad choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

Regarding the Kealing Magnet Program -- this program is a wonderfully advanced program for bright kids, but be warned that your child must approach it with discipline. While these teachers are wonderful and the curriculum is very superior to what is offered in the regular public program, these teachers WILL NOT coddle your child. It is up to the child to stay on top of assignments, due dates, etc. and if he/she falls behind because of lack of discipline, it is a rare teacher who will help. All teachers will offer tutoring, but if your child doesn't develop the discipline and fix his/her issue, then they will be out, with out even a polite good by. I am not trying to discourage anyone from applying or attending Kealing Magnet. I just want to warn that if you have bright children that tend to 'get by on brains', ain t gonna happen here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

Kealing is an excellent school with curriculum as well as entertainment. This is a really good reccomended school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

My child just completed 6th grade in the Kealing Magnet Program. I cannot say how glad I am that we made the decision to come here! My son is gifted and has ADHD (inattentive type) and I thought the organizational requirements and the homework load would be too much...especially after reading some of these reviews!!! Yes, he struggled with organization, but the teachers were understanding and helpful throughout the process. The homework load was no more than the elementary school that he came from - they were just longer term projects that required planning. That's a foriegn concept to most preteens! However, he's learned a great deal, matured tremendously - loves school, and cannot wait to start 7th grade. The bad ...the lunch periods are run like a concentration camp because so many students are cramped in one space and theft is a big problem. Bad language and behavior are rampant.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

379 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

376 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

401 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

395 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

403 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

381 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

382 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

383 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

382 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female87%
Male86%
Black or African American64%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education8%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented99%

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male86%
Black or African American60%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education30%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black or African American66%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education30%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students87%
Female85%
Male89%
Black or African American52%
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education38%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American86%
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education61%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black or African American87%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education89%
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female90%
Male91%
Black or African American81%
Asian100%
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education60%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Black or African American56%
Asian100%
Hispanic72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education60%
Not special education82%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented99%

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education70%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)76%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black or African American65%
Asian100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education17%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)36%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female86%
Male89%
Black or African American56%
Asian100%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education23%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted77%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black or African American53%
Asian98%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education12%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students41%
Female43%
Male39%
Black or African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Special education13%
Not special education45%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Gifted/talented80%
Non-Gifted39%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students80%
Female79%
Male80%
Black or African American38%
Asian98%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education11%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female94%
Male89%
Black or African American72%
Asian97%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education20%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)40%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted86%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students82%
Female84%
Male81%
Black or African American61%
Asian100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special educationn/a
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented99%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Black or African American65%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education40%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
Female82%
Male84%
Black or African American46%
Asian100%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education40%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)16%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 29%
Hispanic 30% 52%
Black 12% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 6%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • ROBIN LOWE
Fax number
  • (512) 478-9133

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1607 Pennsylvania Avenue
Austin, TX 78702
Phone: (512) 414-3214

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT