Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kocurek Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
There are pointed efforts to address these issues; and I see that in the work my son brings home.

Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2016
- a parent
Kocurek is community and family oriented. It is inspirational and motivating to see families and teachers coming together all year long to provide social and educational activities for the kids in our community. My son is learning so much every day, and it's wonderful to feel so confident in his school.


Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
I love all the changes this school has made amazing teachers who go beyond to help there students. Open door policy if you need to speak to the principal. Tons of after enrichment programs from cheer to math pentathlon great teachers great staff great school! South Austins best secret.

Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2016
- a community member
We chose to buy our house where we did because we like Kocurek Elementary and Akins High School. When we took the tour of the school we really enjoyed the faculty and staff. They are very Austin, super smart and down to Earth. The community of this school feels like Austin in a microcosm, a good representation of our community, with socioeconomic diversity. There is a guy down our block who drives a Tesla and another guy with an old chevy. It's definitely south Austin, and we like having our child in the mix with people from such a diversity of backgrounds. We are really world citizens and so it is comforting to us to know about the families in our school community from Russia and Vietnam and Mexico right beside our fourth generation Austinite daughter. My Dad remembers when Willie Kocurek used to be on the commercials saying,"You don't need a lot, just a little bit every month." There are a couple of events every year that bring together several hundred members of the Kocurek community, including the parents, grandparents, kids, staff, etc. These experiences are great and give you a chance to really feel like you are part of something beautiful and important in your child's life. It's a great community, a very Austin kind of experience. We love Kocurek!

Kocurek Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
I think everyone at Kocurek is working hard to motivate all of these kids to do their best and apply themselves academically.


Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2016
- a community member
Our son has attended Kocurek for the past two years, and we have been very happy with all aspects of the school thus far. We researched several schools in the area including private, and christian schools, and decided to see how things went at Kocurek. I believe some of the other outdated reviews do not reflect the current staff or necessarily the campus today. Parental involvement, being a member of the PTA, and volunteering at the school is very important, regardless of where the child goes to school - don't rely solely on the teachers, staff, counselor, and principal to do the job of a parent. Again, we highly recommend this school, and feel comfortable approaching anyone at the school with any concerns we have.

Kocurek Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
My child has always been happy with all of his teachers. Kocurek is a hidden treasure with nice classroom sizes and teachers who have been there for many years. The teachers strive for excellence and set good exames.

Kocurek Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
There have been only 2 incidents, in the past 5 years, that I had to bring to the attention of the teacher. Both times my concerns were addressed and resolved immediately with all parties feeling good about the solutions. I strongly feel that the teachers do love what they do.


Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2016
- a parent
I love this school! My son started here in kindergarten and now he is in 4th grade and I am always welcomed there whenever I show up. I really enjoy volunteering and going on field trips.

Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
This school is a hidden gem. The teachers are great and our experience has been very good. Our son is making great strides in core subjects, but also enjoys music, art, the library, and PE. We looked at several different schools before deciding to send him to our neighborhood school and we have no regrets. The leadership of the school does a lot to promote a sense of community at the school and since it is a smaller school, there are a lot of opportunities for parents to be involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kocurek Elementary School
9800 Curlew Drive, Austin, TX  78748
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (512) 414-2547
Last modified Kocurek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top