Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted February 17, 2010
- a parent
Thank you Principal Summers for talking to our children about setting goals. I was in the office one morning and in your announcements you mentioned to all of the kids about setting goals whether it to do better on the next math test or something else in their lives. My children transferred last January with nine other students. I had visited the school twice last fall and the staff were understanding and personable. Ms Smith and Ms Baker have helped a lot this last month with getting our children adjusted to a new school. We are happy that our Kindergartener is reading now and knows her sight words, thank you Ms Baker. Both of our children are very happy now and eager to learn.

Kocurek Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 17, 2010
- a parent
This school was horrible, horrible, horrible! The administration and staff did not respond to my child's needs properly. Our needs were ignored. This school is behind academically, and I am glad my child no longer has to attend. This school is a disgrace to AISD!


Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a community member
I visited this school to observe recently and was very impressed. The faculty and staff are very personable and hospitable, and the students are very kind and obviously have been taught to respect each other.

Kocurek Elementary School 4

Posted May 08, 2006
- a parent
Kocurek Elementary has been a great school for my son to start out in. Although, I have not always been fond of the ways some things are done there, both teachers my sons has had have done a terrific job. Mr. Quieroz Pre-K and Mrs. Lemoine - Kinder. They have excelled him completely.

Kocurek Elementary School 4

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2005
- a parent
The teachers are experienced and the students are well behaved. Diverse school, involved PTA.

Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2005
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Kocurek Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2004
- a parent
Kocurek Elem. has the best teachers, a well rounded learning system, and an active PTA, that is growing in numbers and participation, every year! The school has ongoing 'lessons' for the staff. Whether it be on the latest test standards, how the students scored, what can be done to strengthen the weaker subjects/scores, & how can we make it more fun and still include the fundamentals; programs and speakers to educate the staff on new/different teaching skills to how behavior problems effect just the class, or family; events to encourage the parents to meet each other & also be able to benifit from the speakers & learning programs; Art, Music, P.E. and even the students get to benifit from speakers, tutorers, field trips, & many other programs related to the classes subject matter. They're the best! But they don't stop there. They continue to educate themselves to achieve even higher standards!

Kocurek Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2004
- a parent
As a single parent of a 3rd grader, I cannot say enough good things about Kocurek and the Koala staff. The commadery on campus is truly that of a close knit family between staff, students and parents. Ms. Heath and Ms. Davis are very intuitive principals who interact with the staff and students on a very personal level. Each student is individually important to them and as a parent you feel that comfort in knowing that your child's well being and education are in very good hands. It is nice returning every year and knowing that the same teachers are there. You will find teachers that have been there since the school opened. Margaret Hester is also a phenominal counselor who has helped my daughter through some very rough patches. The extra curricular teachers are awesome. The PTA and CAC board members are very commited to our school. -N Demmer

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kocurek Elementary School
9800 Curlew Drive, Austin, TX  78748
(512) 414-2547
Last modified Kocurek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kocurek Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top