Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mills Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 830 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

This school has great teachers but their front office staff could definitely use some work. They are very rude and in person and on the phone they are very snoddy. I wouldn't want to be a parent that has to interact with them on a daily basis.


Posted June 21, 2011

Among the more excellent, high achieving primary schools in AISD. Veteran teachers and consistently high test scores. Suffering the same budget crunches as most schools these days. My kids have performed well here and seem highly motivated...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

crowded and the children suffer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

Mills is an excellent school overall. However, some of the faculty and staff don't seem to be responsive to the needs of children who have undiagnosed disabilities, especially disabilities that manifest as behavioral difficulties. That said, if your child is normal, gifted, or has an identified disability, Mills provides a top-notch learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2008

To the previous parent let me say this: Mills tends to track children by abilities though this isn't stated officially. If you are looking for more challenges for your child, ask for it in a letter to the Principal. There is a great amount of variance in the levels of the classes. As to 'feelings and self-worth' being too much of a focus, look at the literature. It all points to the profound value in elementary school education providing the social and community characteristics we want. Mills has some of the most open minded well adjusted tolerant children you will find anywhere. They are kind to people with learning differences and disabilities. They support each other and have learned the value of kindness. This is a direct result of the culture of values fostered by the administration at Mills. As your child gets older you will come to appreciate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

My son is in 1st grade at Mills. I agree that there are some excellent teachers. The VP is excellent and really engages the children. The school is far over capacity and that is noticable. My husband and I feel that there is too much emphasis on feelings and self-worth rather than true academics. What happened to reading, writing and arithmatic?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

Mills is the best school in SW Austin. How we lucked into being in its boundaries when moving from another city was nothing short of kismet. The professionalism of the administration and the parent involvement are exemplary. Little wonder that 'exemplary' is the rating we get every year. Go Mountain Lions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

We removed our son from a neighboring school and placed him in Mills. He is now loved and finally educated at Mills. We have found the staff to be professional yet loving. They don't seem to worry so much about the 'test' as and therefore the quality of education is higher and more individualized. We truly couldn't be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

I can't begin to imagine what the last review was addressing - in fact I question that it is regards to my children's' school at all. The Administration consists of a Caucasian woman, and African-American man, and an Hispanic woman. I think if they lacked diversity training it would severely impact their working relationship! As a parent of children now entering 1st and 4th, I can say that concerns, suggestions, and involvement are a top priority for the Admin, staff, and teachers. My younger son has both learning and behavioral issues, while my older son is asthmatic and in G/T. Clearly my needs run the gamut, and they have all been met beyond expectation. I couldn't begin to recommend this school more wholeheartedly. - Traci Anderson (not anonymous)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

I removed my child from this school. The administration and faculty are lacking in professionalism and in need of diversity training. Administration want parents to think that their concerns, suggestions and involvement is applauded but you will be set aside and labeled as a difficult parent and child. The caliber of education that my child received was reprehensible. I suggest that parents familiarize themselves with their Legislative Representatives, memorize their phone numbers. Knowing this and the State Education Committee information is just as important as knowing the Pediatricians telephone number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Mills is an outstanding school. They really build the children's self-esteem and besides just teaching the required math and reading, they try to teach them who to be polite and how to look out for the younger children. Even though it has a large number of students, the school really cares about all the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2006

Great school. Both our first and fifth grade teachers were excellent. Children seem well disciplined. Kids says school lunch isn't as good as their last school, but like that they give them enough time to eat it (unlike last school). Has a very good afterschool program which is less expensive than most private programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

I love the spanish program the school has to offer and the innovative way the principal has come up with a way to solve the problem of district budget cuts with art/music/and pe. Extra fundraising has been done so each classroom goes to music/art/pe, where previously there were some classes combined (class and a half). Also, the computer lab and part time computer teacher are a wonderful asset to this school. The after school program, which is run by Mills is great. They do cooking projects, arts and crafts, play games, help with homework, and have great counselors. The after school programs offer an array for all students-chess club, choir, intramurals, art, girl scouts, computer, gymnastics, and mad science classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

My son, has a summer birthday and I have always been told to hold back boys with summer birthdyas. Therefore, I put him in a private kindergarten though his daycare so that I could make the decision on what I thought would be best for him once he turned six. I did not want to hold him back if he was acemdically ready for 1st grade. The staff, principal and teaches have been excellent to work with in deciding if my son should go into 1st grade or Kindergarten. After some testing, we as a group decided it would be best for him to attend 1st grade. With having them test my son they assisted me in making the best decision for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

Mills is a great school. The school is over-crowded but the teachers are really keeping pace. I have also found that the budget cuts in art and music are district-wide and every school is lacking in these areas. I feel now that the high level of parental involvement and the open-mindedness of the teaching staff makes Mills the best school for my family. My previous post was one of a digruntled parent and over the summer we have played at the Mills playground and been with our Mills friends at the pool and park; we cannot leave Mills just because of its size and budget cuts that are the case with all AISD schools. We will stick with Mills and be very graetful. My son would have nothing to do with leaving Mills, he said that Mills is: 'My hero' That says it all. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

A really great school with lots of different programs, committed teachers and incredible parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

My daughter entered Mills as a kindergartner on the first day it opened and is in the first group of children to have gone completely through. I have been extremely happy with the education she has received and with the quality of the entire staff. This year, due to budgetary issues common throughout the system, some important activities were eliminated and classes mixed to distribute more high-performing and lower-performing students within classes - to the detriment, in my opinion, of those at the top. I have friends whose children have attended expensive private schools who have been very impressed with the level of education received by my daughter and her great preparation for middle school. Parent involvement is extremely high and shows throughout the school, inside and out, as well as the superior artwork created under the leadership of the art dept. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

Our family has been at Mills for 4 years and will be there for 4 more. I have an older child who had attended 4 different Elementary schools including a private school. I feel I have the experiences to suggest that Mills Elementary excels in comparison to other schools. The staff trys to fit each student with a teacher that offers the best teaching style for their particular needs. After school programs at Mills include Art Enrichment, Mad Science, Tennis, Gymnastics, a chess club. MASCOT is provided for after school care. Mills provides Spanish lessons taught by a Spanish teacher during class time. The parental involvement at this school is excellent. Being an involved parent at Mills allows you the opportunity to feel like your concerns are addressed and actions are taken. Becoming a Mills Mountain Lion is one of the best decisions you can make for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2003

I have had one or two children at Mills ever since it opened. I have found that the teaching staff is effective overall and dedicated to the education of our kids. I do not believe that the principal is a strong 'kids-oriented' person. She needs to be more motivating and a stronger leader: one who puts the school on the cutting edge of education rather than status quo. I think that the addition of the new Assistant Principal is a tremendous step in the right direction. I hope he stays with us long term. I wish we had an energized teacher or parent who could start a science or rocket club but I know that they have too much paper work as it is. Overall a great school primarily due to a dedicated teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

The staff at Mills Elementary is the best! The teachers, the principal, the crossing guards, the office staff, the people who run the afterschool program. Everyone at this school goes above and beyond to care for our kids and help them grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

149 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

152 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

140 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

138 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

140 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

149 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

149 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

150 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female95%
Male99%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education90%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education85%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education91%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students96%
Female97%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education92%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female99%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education79%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education93%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students89%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education65%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)20%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education99%
Limited English proficient (LEP)95%
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant99%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted99%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education90%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)84%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Special education100%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted98%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female99%
Male90%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education75%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)70%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted94%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education86%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education91%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education90%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted93%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female85%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian90%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education58%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 29%
Hispanic 25% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 10%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • PATRICIA BUTLER
Fax number
  • (512) 841-2490

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 Davis Lane
Austin, TX 78749
Phone: (512) 841-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Veritas Academy
Austin, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT