Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
268 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Ignatius Martyr School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
We switched to public schools and the kids are learning better and more into their studies, night and day difference.

St Ignatius Martyr School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
5 Subjects per night. they assign mandatory homework for weekends AND vacation/holiday. At times the backpack weighed more than my kids did.


St Ignatius Martyr School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
CLICKISH, well i would go as far as to say they invented the term "CLICK"

St Ignatius Martyr School 1

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
IT'S LIKE "PAYING" FOR PUBLIC SCHOOL If you don't take your faith or hard earned money seriously then this is a good place to throw it all down the drain. In addition to tuition you have to pay every time your kid sneezes there. They make you set up a auto-draft account from your bank and then they withdraw more than tuition, oh but you get an email saying they will take more money out...but just an email and not in time to budget for it either. They also show R rated movies to the kids and me as a parent find out about it when the kids come home talking about it. Save your hard earned money and send them to "juvy hall" - you will get the same results.

St Ignatius Martyr School 5

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
I am not only a parent, but I am also Alumni of St. Ignatius. I have truly enjoyed the last 5 years that my daughter has been enrolled. I am more than satisfied with the curriculum, the teachers, faculty, and staff. There is the sense of family within the school community. The priests and deacon come to teach and visit with the children, which I know my daughter truly loves and appreciates. I would recommend St. Ignatius to anyone who is considering private school.


St Ignatius Martyr School 1

Posted May 14, 2014
- a parent
The curriculum isn't rigorous. No music program. Parents are cliqueish. Some teachers phone it in, others are over the students' heads, and others perpetuate dated gender stereotypes. There's no consistency. Children are left behind at school during events, essentially ostracizing them if parents don't cough up $50 for field day. Teachers openly accuse students of cheating without verifying the accuracy of their information. Or they ban bracelets because colors supposedly represent sexual acts. (Seriously?!) Evolution has not been taught so far this year, so I'm concerned about the quality of STEM preparedness. Group projects are pedagogically outdated and a child's grade should not hinge on whether other members do their part. Technology seriously needs improvement. Communication could be much, much better. Less focus on the color of the kids' socks would be nice, as well as perhaps not threatening kids with demerits if they're the wrong color. Black socks are hardly disruptive in the grand scheme. The food is appallingly bad, all processed with nothing fresh except some wilted lettuce. All in all, it has been a very disappointing experience and we're looking for alternatives.

St Ignatius Martyr School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Great community. Teachers really know the children's style. Very strong faith oriented school. The school continually works on improving the environment and opportunities it offers the students. While there are some areas that continue to need focus overall the experience here has been good.

St Ignatius Martyr School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
Our child started at St. Ignatius, Martyr, Catholic School this year, and we could not be happier. The community has been warm and welcoming, the principal displays wonderful leadership and has a strong vision for the school. The teaching faculty is excellent, and the Catholic identity of the school is very strong. We love it!


St Ignatius Martyr School 5

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
We love St. Ignatius Martyr Catholic School. Our oldest started in PK4 10 years ago and now all 4 of our children attend. The teachers are the best. The principal and priest are very strong leaders and involved in the school. We love that our children are receiving such a great education and living their Catholic faith!

St Ignatius Martyr School
no rating

Posted November 17, 2008
- a parent
My family and I absolutely love St. Ignatius, Martyr School. The teachers are very warm and welcoming, and I know that my children are in a safe and caring environment that coincides with my Catholic values. One of the best things about SIMS is the community/family oriented environment. This is our fourth year in the community and we have felt accepted and comfortable from the first day. We love the principal and feel that each child is treated as he/she should be... an individual. For an education to be great, the family needs to be an active part of the effort. We do this and our children thrive. Thank you to SIMS for a wonderful, loving and enriching Catholic environment. The principal, teachers, staff and families are second to none. We love it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Ignatius Martyr School
120 West Oltorf Street, Austin, TX  78704
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (512) 442-8547
Last modified St Ignatius Martyr School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top