Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
220 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Austin Catholic School 5

Posted August 25, 2016
- a parent
The St. Austin Community welcomed us with open arms since we moved from the northeast a couple of years ago. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for an open, enjoyable, diverse and urban school environment, with a great staff, great leaderships and a fantastic learning environment for their kids.

St Austin Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2016
- a parent
Because of the school's downtown location, small size and mission to prepare students to be Christ centered, academically strong, moral community leaders - St. Austin teachers, staff and administration put an emphasis on service learning and being kind and respectful of all people.


St Austin Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 25, 2016
- a parent
St. Austin's four core values are: honesty, integrity, dignity and community. each of these values are instilled in the students through classroom learning, playground fund, sporting endeavors and social justice actions.

St Austin Catholic School 5

Posted August 22, 2016
- a community member
The small environment and attention to detail has created a great environment for my daughters. The teachers are able to adjust the curriculum to each student's specific needs and the older students serve as great roll models for the younger students. SACS is focused on fundamentals in a very positive environment.

St Austin Catholic School 5

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
It's a wonderful, welcoming community at Saint Austin and the school has an excellent focus on curriculum. Our daughter has been there for 7 years and she has thrived in the environment. We looked at a lot of schools and this one is a 100 year old gem in central Austin!


St Austin Catholic School 5

Posted August 19, 2016
- a parent
St. Austin school has been an amazing blessing in our lives. The school community is unparalleled. We visited several schools and found St. Austin to have the most respectful and enthusiastic student body of any school. We love the various points of engagement among classes from Mass Buddies, Reading Buddies Faith Families and school events. The entire school is truly connected. You can tell that the teaching and administrative staff thoroughly loves their jobs. Our children are thriving both academically and spiritually.

St Austin Catholic School 4

Posted July 20, 2011
- a parent
We love this school set in an exciting urban area, very loving community and academically challenging. Ms. Kennedy, the principal, is the kindest human being who knows every one of her students and cares for each one of them. This school is for people who are involved in their children's lives and who are willing to be part of the community. Our only complaint would be how the school deals with bullying.

St Austin Catholic School 4

Posted June 25, 2010
- a parent
With challenging academics and a positive, nurturing environment, St. Austin has been an excellent fit for our child. The school community focuses on Catholic values, and provides ample opportunities for service, academics beyond the classroom, sports and other activities.


St Austin Catholic School 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
St. Austin Catholic School has been FABULOUS for our 3 boys. Daily PE, Handwriting Without Tears curriculum, nurturing teachers, talented principal, and strong academics have made this urban school located in downtown Austin a great match for our family.

St Austin Catholic School 4

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
I've been a parishioner of St Austin Catholic Church for over 20 years, and I sent both of my children to St A school. It's small, only 200+- students Kinder through 8th. For us it is a very good thing; it's a wonderful, nurturing community, at least it has been for us. The academics are challenging, they get art, Spanish and music, which many public schools are cutting. There are alot of team leading opportunities for the older kids; they get to know their Mass Buddies in the lower graders really well; my daughter has small children running up and hugging her all the time! My older child felt VERY prepared for magnet public high school, my younger will likely go on to Catholic high school, but both have done very well. After 15 years I am still very happy as a parent, and member of the community.

Nearby schools

St Austin Catholic School
1911 San Antonio Street, Austin, TX  78705
(512) 477-3751
Last modified St Austin Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top