Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Louis School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Austin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $249,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2011

My children have been at St. Louis School since kindergarten and are now in middle school. I have seen many changes over the years, some good and some not so good. However, I believe my children are being well prepared for high school and they have always been happy at the school. This year, the math program in the middle school was changed dramatically for the better. I am a research physicist and my husband is an electrical engineer, so math and science are very important to us. I can't believe how great the math is in middle school this year. What a change! Also, I am amazed with the science my kids are learning. Some of the concepts that my eighth grader is learning I did not learn until late high school. My kids are engaged, happy and learning. They love the sports program. I think this is a solid program that is really on an upswing with the new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

My children have attended St. Louis for 4 years now. We absolutely loved it our first year here. Everyone was so welcoming and it made you feel great about sending your children to school here. However the changes made over this last year have been disheartening. THe new office staff has been out of reach and unaware since the last change in administration. Phones are not ansered, messages not returned, and emials not responded to. Weekly correspondance is late or not existant. Walking into the office it is chaotic and unorganized. I have no complaints of the teachers, they are wonderful educators and talented with handling the children. This is the 3rd principal in less than 6 months, let me just say: Get it together St. Louis Catholic School. My children will remain at St. Louis because of my confidence in their teachers, but i need to feel confident in the people responsible for them and i absolutely do not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

I have been involved with St. Louis school for over 8 years. During our tenure, I have seen 3 principals come and go. The academics have slipped over the years. Weaknesses mainly in the secondary section of the school in particularly in Spanish, Math, and English. Way too much focus on the Fine Arts. The administration needs to come back to the basics of academics. Enrollment has steadily dropped over the past 3 years (mainly due to the last principal) and the loss of some quality teachers. The enrollment level is under 300, not 365 as stated above in the profile. If St. Louis will go back to the basics focus on academics (Math, Science, English and History) and NOT the arts and computers, it can be the school it once was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

I currently have 2 children at St. Louis Catholic School. I have had 3 older children graduate from SLCS and they have all excelled at a private college prep school. A couple of years ago I decided to research the curriculum. I used the book "The Educated Child", by William J. Bennett(former Secretary of Education)as my guide. The office made the school curriculum available to me and I was very happy with what I found. I know the teachers need to bring that curriculum to the classroom, but in my experience, they have definitely done that. My final determination as to whether my children are receiving a strong academic education is the success that my older kids have experienced at a top notch college prep school. Our family has been at SLCS for over 10 years and have been very happy with all SLCS has to offer. It is a great environment for children to flourish both spiritually and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

I have always been very happy with St. Louis Catholic School. The kindergarten teacher has taught for many years and is the perfect kinder teacher. Kinder has always had an aide in their class. My first child did not do so well in the standardized testing until about 4th grade, even even though he had all A's. He is now in high school in AP classes as an Academic Scholar as his school likes to say. Our second child is now a freshman and she is also doing very well at the same college prep high school. I know my children received a very good education at St. Louis and it did prepare them for success in high school. Our school is a very close community filled with faith, love and support for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

This school has a great community feel, lots of parental involvement. However, it is lacking academically. For example, my older child gets As in math, but scored very poorly on the standardized testing. She does well with what is taught, but the school is not teaching a challenging or even standard curriculum relative to other schools. My kindergarten child is in a class of 25 children.(17 boys). The teacher says she should be reading by Dec. She's been reading since the end of last yr, but the teacher is too overwhelmed to notice. Teachers are average, but I would give curriculum 1 star. Don't be fooled by 5 star reviews.written by those w/ an agenda..The fact that enrollment is down significantly speaks volumes! We are currently looking for a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

St. Louis school is an excellent private catholic school. It has so much to offer your children. A great education , plus your children will learn so much about their catholic faith. I have had 2 boys graduate from St. Louis and will have a daughter graduate this year. It has been a blessing to me and my family to be part of the St. Louis Catholic school family..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2010

St. Louis Catholic School is a hidden gem located in the heart of central Austin. Caring teachers serve a diverse student body. Parent involvement is first rate. The principal knows every student by name and truly cares about them. It is a total family affair. My children have received a high quality education and have formed wonderful friendships. My closest friends are the parents from the school. There is an abundance of opportunity for parents to get involved. If you are looking for a safe, nurturing situation for your child and an excellent learning environment, St. Louis is the place for you. Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

Criticism on public websites can be skewed but the evidence demonstrates that low enrollment along with an exodus of students and teachers continue even after the debacle that took place two years ago. How many former St. Louis Catholic School students are now enrolled at Redeemer or other private/public schools? Review the facts and judge for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

Excellent Private Middle School. St. Louis Catholic School accepted my daughter as an Eighth Grade Student and she had a wonderful experience at the school. The children were warm and accepting, the kindest group of kids I have ever seen. The faculty were warm and loving, excellent teachers who inspired their students to learn. The campus is excellent, providing a large athletic field, gymnasium, library, and cathedral church. I am so pleased with my experience at St Louis Catholic School, particulary considering the low cost for attending the school. It is an excellent value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

We had our children at this school for 14 years, I feel the school is effected by the lack of interest of parish support, decline in leadership, and lack of ability to retain and attract quality teachers, thus a decline in the academic and Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

This school has really become a family again this year. There are so many things going on with the school. Students are happy and learning. The school focuses on virtues and the fruits of the spirit in all that they do. Students are recognized and challenged. Some new things this year were Red Ribbon Week, Homecoming Week, new after school music groups including advanced strings, guitar, piano, and choir, a yearbook club for students, High School Test Prep for the 8th graders, new Science curriculum, and a Writing and Grammar class for the older students in addition to teaching them Literature. The faculty and staff are helpful and go out of their way to support the students, even those with special needs. I am glad that my children attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

St. Louis has excellent diversity of cultures, especially for a small private school. Students and staff genuinely care about each other and want the school to succeed, in good times and in bad.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 2, 2009

Great staff, good price, wonderful caring teachers, unsupportive principal, condescending Father.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

Great Catholic school. The recent changes due to new new principal might appear as a little bit of a burden but overall they were a welcome improvement. If you want you child to be educated in an orthodox school then this is the place to be. If do not want to be involved with your child religious and academic education and you just want to delegate it to the school then you better find another place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

This is a quality school that has a strong core group of faculty, staff and parents that work together to provide a great learning environment for the students. As with any school there are areas of improvement but there should no question about the focus on doing what is best for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

I am appalled at the lack of response by the prinicipal, school board, pastor, and even the bishop to the valid concerns many other parents have raised. The reviews appear to be 5 to 1 against; however, we are not all irresponsible parents as implied by other posts. I am completely unhappy with the value for tuition spent. My child was not placed in the correct grade (via charter school transfer) because no testing was done until the end of October after poor grades reported on her first report card (under the former administration). My child received a better education from Sylvan tutoring. No field trip yet this year. The room parent left. In summary, I am dissatisfied with the value received for my treasure and see no opportunities to use my talents or time to help this school. My child (and my money) will be going to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

We have pulled our children out of St. Louis after 5 years. The policy changes and lack of caring shown by the administration has reached such a level that there is no community left there. Christian values are to be found more at a public school than at this school given the current state of things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

We pulled our child out of St. Louis after several happy years there. The teachers are awesome, but the new principal made the environment unbearable. The constant policy changes with little or no notice to the parents, the ridiculously strict uniform regulation enforcement, new detention policy, excessive reduction of physical activity, etc, made school life unnecessarily stressful for children and parents alike. All requests at reason fell on deaf ears. Thus, we decided to take our tuition payments elsewhere. We, and other families who have also left, felt the new administration was unashamedly hostile. We would strongly encourage parents to fully research St. Louis before enrolling your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

The reviews on this site are a reflection of how torn apart our little community is right now. Please stop and think about how it got to this point. The reason most of us send our children to SLCS is because of the catholic identity and the loving community. What's happened? In our many years and several children through this school - we have never seen it like it is this year, sad but true. Change is always difficult but it isn't just about change this time... We pray that this will turn around. The teachers are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 31%
Hispanic 34% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (512) 454-7252

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Austin
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2114 Saint Joseph Boulevard
Austin, TX 78757
Phone: (512) 454-0384

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oakmont School
Austin, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT