Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Louis School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Austin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $249,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2008

Our family has been at St. Louis Catholic School for many years and we have seen many changes over those years. But one constant has always been the closeness of the families. We are not a wealhy school but we work hard together to make our school the best it can be. The families are mostly loving and caring and always willing to help each other out. Many of our children have transferred from other Catholic schools in the area due to issues or problems they or their parents had with the other schools. Our school has always welcomed these children and families. Even the ones who are never happy no matter where they are. This year we have a new principal (not principle) who is doing a wonderful job making the changes necessary to establish a first rate curriculum available to ALL of the children. We love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

The principal has implemented more discipline at St. Louis this year. This discipline not only includes a new tardy policy, but also includes pulling up the pants of the children to check the sock length for uniform violations. Although there is a parish priest for this school, he is no more available to the parents than the principal is on issues the parents have. The teachers are fantastic and we just hope they stay for those who will return next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

My child attends St. Louis School and we are very happy. More importantly, our child is happy. The children are challenged to grow academically. We have a dress code and it is enforced. Not to the extent of having children pull up pants to check socks, but enforced. We have met with the Principal and she was welcoming, listened, made a decision, and explained how she got to the decision. We are glad to have a Principal make decisions that is best for the students and not for personal parental agendas. Our expectation is that our child receives a high quality education with Catholic values. At St. Louis, the Principal and Pastor have done an outstanding job to assure a quality education with Catholic values and we are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

St. Louis is a Catholic School I went to school there 20+ years ago and we had weekly mass with Communion every week. I would expect a Catholic school to have mass and Communion weekly. I am now a parent of a student at St. Louis. Bullying was an issue last year. The new principal has added discipline and enforces rules that have addressed bullying. We had parents that believed the tardy policy did not apply to them and ran late everyday. I know this because late students constantly interrupted my child s class last year. No fault of the student, a reflection on the parent and their lack of respect of the other students. What a concept, have your child to school on time! The new principal is adding much needed discipline and direction and is welcomed by the majority of the school community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

If you want your children to attend a military academy with weekly mass & Communion, this is your place. The new principal has instituted strict rules & punishments on everything from dress code to tardies, added 30 minutes to the school day but taken away most recess (except for grades 1-3, and parents had to fight hard for an extra 10 minutes). The teachers are terrific, but the new principal is so unwelcoming and dictatorial that she has enraged most of the community, so that the school is no longer the pleasant place that it was (for children or parents). If you're looking for an education for your children based on the latest research & policies, go elsewhere. However, if you like the discipline of pre-1950s schools, this may be your place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

I think the schools teachers are great! The parents are very involved and the kids learn a lot. The only problem is the new principal's lack of communication and rudeness to the parents. She came from St. Augustine in Houston (2007) and seems to have some of the same comments from that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I too am appalled at the rudeness of the new principal and her lack of acknowledgement to the parents and their concerns. My children have been here for 4 years but I believe this will be their last unless changes are made. Teachers here are excellent but I am concerned they will not return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My interaction with the church and school imcluding the teachers, staff and lunch department are all excellent. However, the prinipal is no 'pal' to this community and see her as a loose dead weight NOT an achor of stability or compassion.


Posted September 23, 2008

We are new this school year and are appalled with the changes. No recess. 1 hour of PE a week. THis is not what we were told when we toured the school in the spring. The children have no chance to work off energy or make social contact on the playground! Oh, and the school day has been lengthened by a half hour too. We don't have heartburn with that, but to take away recess and reduce PE - well - that doesn't sem right. All this via the new principle who is rude and unaproachable. Not a very 'loving environment'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

There is a new principle at the school this year and she's very rude. I think the school is a good school and so far I don't see any problems with the teachers but the principle makes it difficult. She's not very supportive, she'll belittle and embarrass staff in front of parents and talks down to parents. Even though the school states they are 'all inclusive' when it comes to religion, they are truly not. I feel the St. Louis ECDC program is much better for Pre-K and young children. I was very disappointed with the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2006

As a transfer student from another state, my child was challenged. My child was welcomed with open arms to this small community. Teachers are wonderfully helpful and very good at communicating with parents. Academics are great and parent involvement is a priority. It has been a family for us and we feel lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

St. Louis has been consistently excellent in all academic areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 43% 31%
Hispanic 34% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (512) 454-7252

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Austin
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2114 Saint Joseph Boulevard
Austin, TX 78757
Phone: (512) 454-0384

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oakmont School
Austin, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT