Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
683 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Stephens Episcopal School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Simply amazing school with absolutely no or few equals in Texas. It's all about the teachers here. You will not get a better education in Austin.

St Stephens Episcopal School 1

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
This school has slipped through the years. They are behind in robotics and computer literacy (a real negative in this day and age). They also do not cater to the well rounded student. Instead they are looking for one dimensional kids that test high and enjoy studying for hours (don't believe them when they tell you otherwise in the interview!). It definitely was not a fit for my son, who is very social and highly engaged. Save your money and look for better public options in Austin, such as Westlake or LASA (the Liberal Arts and Science Academy). We moved over to Westlake and the opportunities there were boundless in comparison.


St Stephens Episcopal School 5

Posted March 03, 2015
- a student
This school has changed my life. I have gone to both middle and upper school here. I began as a "G" or average student but have gone to an "H" (high honors student) in my time here because teachers challenged me to reach my full potential. People here are extremely friendly and teachers deliver a personalized education; it is obvious how much they care about their students. Although there are days when I feel exponential amounts of stress because of the demanding curriculum, I know that I am receiving a college level education. Overall, a great school for kids that are willing to work hard! There is no tolerance for lazy students here.

St Stephens Episcopal School 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Both of our kids graduated from St. Stephen's and both loved their experiences there. Most of the teachers are absolutely fabulous, caring, creative, and highly intelligent. Most of the students are intellectually exceptional and very friendly, and the writing program is unsurpassed in Austin. The campus is beautiful. The small boarding program brings in kids from all over the world, which enhances the school in many ways. This is a warm and loving place. The volleyball, tennis, and soccer programs are also quite strong. Both of our kids are at Ivy League colleges and they say that St. Stephen's prepared them very, very well to get great grades in those settings.

St Stephens Episcopal School 3

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
I have mixed feelings about this school. I think they are good at some things, such as writing, and weak at others, such as compter-related skills. Overall I am not sure it is worth the price tag. My daughters had a bit of trouble with rich, entitled classmates. We are not wealthy--grandparents paid the tuition--and my daughters felt out of place sometimes.


St Stephens Episcopal School 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a parent
Excellent academics, sometimes indistinguishable from college-level courses. I attended all the classes on visiting days for parents, and was extremely impressed with the teachers. St Stephens had the reputation of teaching students how to write Ivy League-level essays, and this was true. My son loved St Stephens, and had such good training that his courses at a very competitive college didn't require any adjustment. There was no struggle at all. He wouldn't have switched to any other school in Austin.

St Stephens Episcopal School 5

Posted September 08, 2011
- a community member
Great academics. Students will learn how to write like Ivy League College students by the time they're Juniors. Students get much support and help from teachers whether or not they want the help. A great place to play almost any sport you want competitively, with very strong Soccer, Tennis, and Volleyball programs; however, most other sports programs are fairly average.

St Stephens Episcopal School 5

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
This school is about a full year ahead of our public school's pre-AP and GT classes/programs. The sports program allows everyone to participate, but not necessarily win (MS sports are not the school's strength). The teachers are awesome, caring, and challenge the kids. My son's work ethic and academic growth have been amazing since moving to St. Stephen's. I ask him if we wants to go back to his public school and get a resounding 'no'. Yes, he went from top of his class to now somewhere in the middle by changing schools, but now, he understands that just because you are bright you can't skate by, you must still work hard! Great life lesson!


St Stephens Episcopal School 5

Posted November 27, 2008
- a parent
St. Stephen's is a wonderful school. As a parent of a middle-school student, I could not be more pleased. The school is expensive, but it is worth every penny. The academics are outstanding and the athletics are good in some areas. Although there are a few exceptions, the teachers are absolutely superb.

St Stephens Episcopal School 5

Posted October 22, 2008
- a parent
Best school in the world! I cannot imagine my sons life without him not going there. I would highly recommend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Stephens Episcopal School
6500 Saint Stephens Drive, Austin, TX  78746
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (512) 327-1213
Last modified St Stephens Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top