Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Andrew's Episcopal School

Private | 1-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Austin

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $191,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

This school takes barely noticeable action to racism that goes on in its own halls. There was an issue of a kid getting bullied and they all got away with 1 day on in school suspension.


Posted October 1, 2013

After a public elementary school, we moved our daughter here. She learned a lot in some classes, and in others, had so much busy work that it was overwhelming. The students were all very nice, but were very misbehaving- in and out of school. The teachers were engaging and interesting. It seemed as though most students attended the school not because of learning needs, but because of social status. We moved her to St. Stephen's for high school and the experience has been very different. More engaged, interesting and focused.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

Academics at lower level grades are adequate, but, the school doesn't deliver for the level of their tuition rates. The homework load is very heavy for 6th grade and up. The lower school has some wonderful teachers; however, the school retains too many average (and below average) teachers. The academics seem to improve greatly in the middle school (7-8 grade). The school focuses on language arts and has a wonderful writing program. The Latin and Spanish courses are a very nice offering. Math and science seem to get short changed. The school creates a nice community, but, lacks diversity. Recent annual tuition increases make affordability a real issue for many families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2010

St. Andrew's offers a life-changing experience to students. Faculty, staff and administration are committed to excellence in all aspects of education. It's been worth every cent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

The tuition is bad, but at least the work is hard.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2010

We've had 3 kids at St. Andrews. The academics are great, the faculty and staff are incredibly attentive and involved with each child. Many of the teachers at the high school have advanced degrees. The senior year is the best, the college counselors make the tuition seem almost reasonable. Take a look at the list of college admissions, that's where they really shine when compared to other private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

Im an 8th grade student and this school has really nice facilities, and most teachers are willling to help you. most teachers will get to school early, so you can go to them if you have any questions. I don't think this school does a very good job at making sure the kids are getting along, and not ganging up or forming cliques, though
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

Advantages include an excellent education and very good environment for kids on multiple levels (community service, sports for all levels, caring teachers, no bullies, inclusive all around)...Disadvantage is the huge tuition and constant fundraising....Financial aid is available for low income, but no sibling discount offered; no middle class tuition breaks in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

Saint Andrews a fun dchool for the children but at the sme time they are learning so much. In forth grade they will learn ow to add, subtract, multiply, and divide fractions. They will also do so many projects that are fun but they learn. They will mostly be learning not to wait till teh last minute. Finally They start learning how to type in forth grade. I did not learn until high school and my son types great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2008

Excellent school. We're now in our 6th year and still think it's the best education in Austin. Low student to teacher ratio. Individual attention. Many, many on site resources for students as well as parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

St. Andrews has very good academics. Diversity is a problem with the school, however, as is student behavior
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I was really suprised to read the other review stating that the advisors and teachers weren't doing their job. St. Andrew's is an amazing school mostly because the teachers are so hands on. As a student, I have never gotten more attention anywhere else, especially for a highschool. People need to realize that it's not middle school anymore and it is in fact the perfect environment for a kid to be in academically and socially.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 21, 2007

St. Andrews is a wonderful school. My child learns so much and is confident in himself. I feel he is cared for emotionally, mentally, physically and spiritually on a daily basis. We are so happy to be a part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

My children have attended St. Andrews Upper School. It has been a great experience for one, who is a naturally motivated student. The other needs more individual attention. It has been a struggle to get the faculty to stay focused - we agree to weekly reports from his teachers, but each week I have to track down and remind his advisor and often his individual teacher. Their heart is in the right place, but the execution is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 37%
Hispanic 12% 47%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% N/A
Black 2% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1112 W 31st St
Austin, TX 78705
Phone: (512) 299-9810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


ACE Academy
Austin, TX


TNS Academy
Austin, TX



Helping Hand
Austin, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT