Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
885 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Andrew's Episcopal School 2

Posted April 19, 2015
- a parent
The facilities are outstanding and I think it is a great school for an average kid. Gifted children do not do well here. Children with learning differences of any kind, will not last here. They give a lot of homework, but its busy work. Like some previous reviews have said, its just not worth the tuition. St. Andrews could be an excellent school if they made a few changes.

St. Andrew's Episcopal School 5

Posted February 21, 2015
- a parent
It's the best in Austin. We've looked and enrolled our kids in other schools (public and private). You can't go wrong here. The faculty and curriculum are great especially if your children are motivated. Fair to say that it is a tight-knit community, but that does not mean snobbish. We are very happy to have our children here.


St. Andrew's Episcopal School 1

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
We also pulled our child after too many liberal agendas being forced onto children that are not quite ready to understand what a "gay" family is all about. Videos and teachers informing their students of their alternative lifestyles are better left unshared. SAS should allow parents to decide when the appropriate time is to discuss more mature topics. Second grade is certainly too early. SAS is certainly a "status" school.

St. Andrew's Episcopal School 3

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
Our children attended the lower school at St. Andrews through 5th grade. We chose the school for it's academic reputation and the Christian values. However, we were disappointed in that we discovered the school leadership and some teachers were more interested in pushing a liberal agenda on children. The kids are way too young and immature have such topics forced upon them in a school environment. These "politically correct" discussions have caused unnecessary stress and worry in one of my children's lives that would not have been there at this age if not for this school.

St. Andrew's Episcopal School 4

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
After a public elementary school, we moved our daughter here. She learned a lot in some classes, and in others, had so much busy work that it was overwhelming. The students were all very nice, but were very misbehaving- in and out of school. The teachers were engaging and interesting. It seemed as though most students attended the school not because of learning needs, but because of social status. We moved her to St. Stephen's for high school and the experience has been very different. More engaged, interesting and focused.


St. Andrew's Episcopal School 3

Posted August 30, 2010
- a parent
Academics at lower level grades are adequate, but, the school doesn't deliver for the level of their tuition rates. The homework load is very heavy for 6th grade and up. The lower school has some wonderful teachers; however, the school retains too many average (and below average) teachers. The academics seem to improve greatly in the middle school (7-8 grade). The school focuses on language arts and has a wonderful writing program. The Latin and Spanish courses are a very nice offering. Math and science seem to get short changed. The school creates a nice community, but, lacks diversity. Recent annual tuition increases make affordability a real issue for many families.

St. Andrew's Episcopal School 5

Posted July 04, 2010
- a parent
St. Andrew's offers a life-changing experience to students. Faculty, staff and administration are committed to excellence in all aspects of education. It's been worth every cent.

St. Andrew's Episcopal School 3

Posted March 11, 2010
- a student
The tuition is bad, but at least the work is hard.


St. Andrew's Episcopal School 5

Posted February 07, 2010
- a parent
We've had 3 kids at St. Andrews. The academics are great, the faculty and staff are incredibly attentive and involved with each child. Many of the teachers at the high school have advanced degrees. The senior year is the best, the college counselors make the tuition seem almost reasonable. Take a look at the list of college admissions, that's where they really shine when compared to other private schools in the area.

St. Andrew's Episcopal School
no rating

Posted October 08, 2008
- a student
Im an 8th grade student and this school has really nice facilities, and most teachers are willling to help you. most teachers will get to school early, so you can go to them if you have any questions. I don't think this school does a very good job at making sure the kids are getting along, and not ganging up or forming cliques, though

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Andrew's Episcopal School
1112 W 31st St, Austin, TX  78705
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (512) 299-9800
Last modified St. Andrew's Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top