Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Redeemer Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 503 students

We are best known for caring attitude, technology.

 
 

Living in Austin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $249,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

My child has been at Redeemer for the past 2 years and loves it! Everyone was so welcoming and made her feel right at home. She looks forward to school and loves the small, community feel it has. I love the idea that she can stay in the same school through 8th grade. They are building a new private high school so may keep her with her friends and stay through high school. So happy we found this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Love our school! The teachers and staff really care about our students and the value of education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

The school is amazing. My son hates to miss a day of school. We have the academics are grat and they also focus on having well rounded children. I would highly recommend especially if your child has speech or other issues because they are very open. Parents are great too. Ask for a tour!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

Redeemer is an excellent place to receive a quality education for your child. My family is very impressed with: Teacher involvement, parent support of the students and the overall knowledge my child gains each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2011

My kids love Redeemer Lutheran School. We have attended preschool, elementary, and middle school and have been very happy with the teachers, curriculum, and the loving Christian environment. In my experience with public school, and this private school, I would hands down pick this private school. I know a few families that left Redeemer to go to public schools and they came back to Redeemer because you just can't beat the education they get at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

My daughter has attended Redeemer for middle school and we have been very pleased with both the academic rigor and the caring atmosphere at the school. The teachers and administration take a genuine interest in the students as individuals and there is healthy collaboration among teachers. My daughter had lost interest in reading prior to attending Redeemer. Now she loves to read and has even mentioned an interest in becoming a librarian.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

I have two kids who both love Redeemer. There are a lot of opportunities offered that they didn't receive at their last school. We also love the family environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

Poor school. The principal is very immature and not objective. Sad for the teachers who do try.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

My two kids love Redeemer! My family considers Redeemer a home, not just a school! The atmosphere is very loving and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

There is a major problem with bullying at this school that has driven several families away. The principal refuses to step in when the teacher won't handle it. There are teachers who are not qualified to teach, and very little has been done about it. Academics are average. Three families I know who left due to bullying issues at the school are thrilled with their public school choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

Some teachers are good but the bad ones are left to continue to teach there year after year. Eventhough their issues are brought to the principals attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

My wife attended Redeemer and now our three children go there. Redeemer has perfected the balance between academic excellence and Christian character. I know that my children are being challenged academically while being loved and cherished. A true gem and a blessing to the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

I have had my two boys at Redeemer for the past 4 years and we have been very happy. The campus is full of happy staff members, teachers who love your children, and parents who care. The playground is exceptional, the daily religion and the strong academics make Redeemer a great place for my boys and our family as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I have two elementary age children attending Redeemer. I am very happy with the education my children are receiving and the experiences they are having at school. I feel like they are safe and cared for, they are excited about learning and are exposed to so many unique opportunities for hands on learning. The outside areas of the campus are often used as a hands-on science classroom, community members such as authors, scientists and community workers are encouraged, and each year the children go on a wide variety of field trips from farms to landfills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

I give 2 stars my son went there from k-5 grade the teacher quality from 3rd grade up is poor with the exception of 5 th grade, the principal is not willing to work with parents and dose not take responsibility for anything that goes on there with their teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

Redeemer has been a wonderful school for our daughter. The teachers truly care about the children as well as how they are doing academically. The communication between the teachers and parents is very open. It is money well spent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My wife went to Redeemer when she was young. Now, we have 2 girls that have gone to Redeemer since they were 3 years old. Very affordable and the teachers are the best I''ve ever seen. There is so much sincere love in the school from the teachers, staff, and students! My daughters are smart and are of outstanding character, thanks in large part to their education at Redeemer. It's the best money I have ever spent on my children and I can't recommend it highly enough! You owe it to yourself and to your kids to tour Redeemer and see what it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

My grandchildren attend Redeemer Lutheran School and are excelling in many ways - educationally, spiritually and personally. I am so pleased to have grandchildren that know, understand and live for God. The school has a wonderful outdoor science education program where the children learn how to plant and care for all types of vegetation and the aviary gives first hand knowledge of birds. Grandparents Day is exciting for me and the students who like to 'show off' their grandparents. The musicals, the year end programs, and the special programs show the enthusiasm the students have for their school. I have met many of the teachers and administrators and find all possessing a sincere desire to teach. Bring your children to Redeemer for a firm foundation in Christianity and education!


Posted August 13, 2008

2007-2008 Year was the first for my son 5th grade, previously Del Valle Public School. Unbelievable! The teachers are fabulous and really love the children. My son is excelling without all the social issues he was having in Del Valle. Very blessed to find this jewel, very affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

The teachers reallyu care about your child! They care about everything from what might be troubling your child that day to writting letters of recomendation to colleges to ensure that your child has a better future. If your child will be a new student don't be afraid of the other kids thaey always make new students feel welcome and embrace them with open arms.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 37%
Hispanic 10% 47%
Asian 5% N/A
Black 4% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Accelerate Reader Elite School (2010)
  • Premier Green Ribbon School (2010)
  • ITBS Top 5% of Schools Naionally (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Glen Kieschnick
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • LSAC
  • NLSA
Fax number
  • (512) 459-6779

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Parents are part of our school community. many volunteer to help in classrooms and in the library. they assist with lunchroom accounting, volunteer events, coaching, clerical work, teacher appreciation, and other activities. our local exxon station sponsors a portion of our drama program.
More from this school
  • We provide a strong a academic program which prepares students for the world beyond elementary and middle school. Our graduates have a superb reputation at area high schools. We rank in the top 5%of schools according to a nationally normed test (Iowa Test of Basic Skills). We have had 6 students finish in the top 2 of area public high schools in the last 15 years.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Highland Park Elementary

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Concordia High School
Anderson High Scool
McCallum High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1500 W Anderson Ln
Austin, TX 78757
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 451-6478

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oakmont School
Austin, TX


St. Louis School
Austin, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT