Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
503 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Redeemer Lutheran School is a great option for families looking for an alternative to Austin Public Schools. We provide a learning experience - a family environment with faith development, nurturing relationships, academic excellence, integrated technology, physical fitness, and hands-on enrichment. In elementary school, children enjoy chapel, our music program 3 times a week, art, science enrichment, spanish, physical fitness in the gym, and technology. We have 3 age appropriate state of the art playgrounds, SMARTboard technology in all classrooms as well as computers, and IPADs. An on-site shuttle bus to Concordia High School offers an opportunity for High School.
January 22, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Redeemer Lutheran School 4

Posted March 28, 2016
- a student
The school is academically very good, but there is still room for improvement. There are too many bullying problems here, which is the school's biggest problem. When I graduated, I realized just how poorly the other students treated me based on how I am now treated. If I ever were to have children, this would be towards the bottom of my list of schools to choose from.

Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Excellent teachers and a caring administration. Ms. Mueller, acting principal for 2015-16, greets students and is quite visible amongst the children and parents during the day. Mr. Jahnke, long-time vice principal, is caring but firm. Bullying is not tolerated. Class size is small. PE every day. One test: ITBS, which I myself took in elementary school. Ms. Schatte, the music teacher, is a gem. The play equipment is up-to-date and developmentally appropriate. Nap times in K for kids whose bodies aren't ready for a full, active day (or quiet time, because we all need that!). Check out Ms. Keyburn and the Garden Club -- she's knowledgable and truly a Mother Nature-type figure to the kids. Redeemer is slightly more conservative in their beliefs than I, but this is such a small matter and I really believe they benefit from seeing how others think.


Redeemer Lutheran School 2

Posted August 08, 2015
- a parent
All teachers at this school are caring, but some do have favorites. There're a few teachers that aren't the best, but the true problem at this school is bulling, and trying to cover up mistakes. My child was being bullied and the teachers tried to just talk it out with them both in the same room. which just made things worse. Plus their bully made it seem that my child was attacking them. So it looked like my kid was the bad child. Instead of listening to both of the kids, they heard one side of the story and settled with that one story. Also I have lost respect for some teachers. Some of the teachers could care less about what you have to say about how they handled a situation badly. If a teacher messes up, yes you should give them grace. What I don't like is that if I want to talk to that teacher who messed up, it is extremely difficult to contact them in person. It is difficult because other teachers try to build a wall to protect that teacher. They try to drive you away from the one teacher you need to talk to. The school is great if your child is a favorite of every teacher, and if your child have no problems with making friends with others.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Redeemer Lutheran School is a great option for families looking for an alternative to Austin Public Schools. We provide a learning experience - a family environment with faith development, nurturing relationships, academic excellence, integrated technology, physical fitness, and hands-on enrichment. In elementary school, children enjoy chapel, our music program 3 times a week, art, science enrichment, spanish, physical fitness in the gym, and technology. We have 3 age appropriate state of the art playgrounds, SMARTboard technology in all classrooms as well as computers, and IPADs. An on-site shuttle bus to Concordia High School offers an opportunity for High School.
Posted January 22, 2015

Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted June 29, 2014
- a community member
I attended Redeemer for 11 years. The education was AMAZING! The 7th grade lit class changed my life and set me on a course to graduate from high school with 45 college credit hours, because that class gave me the foundation to think deeply about myself and others, which would later put me on a path to pursuing my passions (balanced with wisdom of course). Now I am married and have an infant. When it is time for him to attend pre-school you can bet that he will be attending Redeemer!


Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
RLS has been such a amazing experience for my two children. The teachers LOVE these children as if they were their own. Last year was hard, one of our children was diagnosed with a learning disability but the staff at RLS helped us and stood by our side to help figure out every step we needed to take. Now I'm happy to say, that same child is now excelling beyond belief and it is all due to the love and support of the teachers and staff. God is the center of all things at RLS and it shows! They go above and beyond in every aspect!

Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
We have two kids at Redeemer, and we have had an amazing experience! The kids learn so much--not just academics, but about love, character and God. So glad we found Redeemer, and my kids have had such a good start to life!

Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
Redeemer Lutheran is an extraordinary environment to challenge and support academic, intellectual, social, and spiritual growth of Pre-K through 8th grade students. The teachers and staff encourage and genuinely care for not only the students, but for their families as well.


Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Redeemer for six years and absolutely love it. Although the academics are outstanding and the students get a variety of experiences each day including science, PE, music, art, technology, and Spanish, the main reason we love her Redeemer is the sense of community we feel here. The teachers genuinely care about their students.

Redeemer Lutheran School 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
My child has been at Redeemer for the past 2 years and loves it! Everyone was so welcoming and made her feel right at home. She looks forward to school and loves the small, community feel it has. I love the idea that she can stay in the same school through 8th grade. They are building a new private high school so may keep her with her friends and stay through high school. So happy we found this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Redeemer Lutheran School
1500 West Anderson Lane, Austin, TX  78757
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (512) 451-6478
Last modified Redeemer Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top