Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 86
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kirby Hall School 5

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Kirby Hall has a terrific high school. My daughter is a junior this year, and this is her second year at Kirby Hall. She is challenged in every class but never overwhelmed with homework. The teachers only give meaningful homework, and because of her study hall, she is able to get a lot of it done at school. This leaves time for her to join extracurriculars and sports. I should mention that prospective students shouldn’t be intimidated by the academic rigor of Kirby Hall. Although academics is what the school is known for, it’s not THAT hard. The teachers go out of their way to help the students meet their expectations. It’s a cooperative and supportive, not competitive, environment. At first, we were nervous some of the classes would be too hard for our daughter, but she has done really well. I think it's a great fit for conscientious students looking for a smaller, less stressful environment than you find in some of the public schools. The size of the high school is small and intimate, and she actually has more friends here than she did at the big public schools she used to attend. The parents and students are friendly and open to all newcomers, so it is easy to fit in no matter what your personality. This is hands-down, my favorite school.

Kirby Hall School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
This is the best group of teachers I have encountered in a school, public or private. They love teaching, and it shows.


Kirby Hall School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I think the high school actually gives a little less homework than some of the pre-AP and AP classes in public school. All homework is for a reason and no busywork. They also get a study hall starting in middle school, which helps a lot in getting work done at school.

Kirby Hall School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Definitely agree. My daughter is pushed to do the most challenging courses the teachers feel she can handle. They are very encouraging and helpful in goal-setting and attaining.

Kirby Hall School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Yes; teachers treat the students with a lot of respect, like they are people worth listening to. I think this makes the students treat teachers and each other with respect.


Kirby Hall School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I think the teachers lead by example; gossip is really discouraged. The administration sets a tone of respect.

Kirby Hall School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and administrators work hard on this with the students; they don't let bad behavior slide.

Kirby Hall School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Every teacher we've encountered is a professional at what they do. They're the best of the best. The the teacher isn't a good fit, the administration isn't afraid to act fast, which is how they maintain their top standards. The teachers and administrators make this school.


Kirby Hall School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The homework is all appropriate, no busy work. It seeks to achieve a purpose, which makes it alright with me.

Kirby Hall School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
By being in a warm, loving, environment, Kirby Hall School is able to push students past their limits, which allows them to excel and soar. I'm constantly impressed with all they're able to accomplish.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kirby Hall School
306 W 29th St, Austin, TX  78705
(512) 474-1770
Last modified Kirby Hall School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Kirby Hall School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 107 reviews. Top