Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 89 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


93 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kirby Hall School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Kirby Hall School is a unique and magical place. I think of it as "Hogwart's Up the Block From Ruby's Barbecue." On approach to the building, a stately redbrick former dormitory with tall columns, students immediately feel a strong sense of continuity, history and academic tradition. Inside, they find a thoughtfully curated library, vibrant classrooms and a lunchroom where a science teacher sometimes plops down at the piano to play. A rigorous academic curriculum leads by a full year the education provided at most other schools. At all levels, the experience is well-rounded, including physical education, art, music, computer science and foreign language. Most importantly, the students rise to the challenge on the strength of the staff. Across the board, from the founder to the principal to the full-time teachers to the special subject teachers to the parent volunteers, everyone at Kirby Hall fosters a sense of community, striving to advance together. This place - and the people who run it - have been the best thing to happen to our family. I'm proud to put my name on this post, and I'm happy to discuss it. Call the school office for my phone number - Mike Brick
1 person found this helpful

Kirby Hall School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
This school is awful! Don't send your kids there. They have no counselor, no director of school, no nurse. Anytime there's a problem they have no idea how to resolve it.
1 person found this helpful


Kirby Hall School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
Kirby Hall has changed our daughter's life! She loves the challenge and her teachers. She was a straight A student in public school, but never had homework and had difficulty with all the girl drama. Now she has homework every night and loves doing it. There is girl drama but they are like sisters!

Kirby Hall School 5

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
I've had a child at Kirby Hall for the last fourteen years (!) and it would be very difficult to find a school that provides as much personal, individual attention to each child as KHS. The teachers are outstanding and adjust the lessons to best suit each child's strengths and weaknesses. It's as close to having a 1:1 tutoring environment specifically designed for your child as you can get without homeschooling.

Kirby Hall School 5

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
This is our second year with a child in KHS (elementary). The experience has simply been outstanding. As some have pointed out, the academics are intense - but the environment is nurturing and warm. The very small class sizes are a tremendous boon for the early years - each child receives a great deal of individual attention. The level of preparation and thoughtfulness for the twice-yearly parent-teacher conferences is also top notch. The instructors are completely engaged in teaching your child as an individual. I don't mean that in some fluffy "we're all individuals" way - the classrooms are well managed. Rather, the instructors work hard to understand how your child learns best and apply that in their lessons.


Kirby Hall School 5

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
We have 2 children in Kirby Hall and can not say enough good things about the school. Teachers are excellent, administration is friendly, helpful and very efficient, school has a warm, "home-like" atmosphere and everyone know each other. Yes, the schooll has a very intense academic curiculum, but isn't it the purpose of the having a child in a private school?

Kirby Hall School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
Kirby Hall is an exceptional school with the excellent teaching staff and caring administration. Students feel truly at home there, well cared for and challenged with rigorous curriculum and top notch teachers. We have raised three high achieving kids in our family and had a chance to compare other private schools with the best TAG programs in RRISD and highly selective magnet school in AISD - Kirby Hall quality of education and nourishing atmosphere stands unmatched.

Kirby Hall School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
At Kirby Hall School the administrators and teachers understand how to reach bright and gifted students....they engage students and teach at each student's individual pace. Students are challenged to think critically, ask questions and dive deep into subject matter. My son is in his third year now at Kirby Hall School and is happy as can be. He appreciates: - all students are focused on learning - teachers and peers are kind to one another - he is encouraged to share his ideas and participate in class - he is surrounded by other capable students who learn at a fast pace - Kirby Hall is a fun place to be. Kids are having fun! I appreciate Kirby Hall because: - Each teacher is outstanding and goes the extra mile to deliver excellent instruction - My child is finally being challenged in Math and Science (unlike public school) - Spanish is taught in a very effective manner and the students' acquisition of language is rapid - Kirby Hall students all love learning and doing their best...this type of attitude is contagious! - The school environment is loving and nurturing. - Administrators and teachers are responsive to parents


Kirby Hall School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a teacher
An amazing school with an amazing faculty. This place feels like home. You will love the small, intimate atmosphere that makes it feel like the students have one on one time with the teachers.

Kirby Hall School 4

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
Kirby Hall has been a great place for our son. We moved him here after his Montessori school as they only went to second grade there. The transition from Montessori to the more structured and traditional approach at Kirby was initially a challenge, not academically as much as systematically, but the staff and teachers and kids were great in reaching out and supporting a new student in their midst. Once those adjustments were made it was clear to be a good fit for him and we have been happy with his academic progress and his engagement in the school community. The class sizes are small, the connections with other kids are deep, the teachers and staff are really kind and really involved in all the kids' lives. Last year it was hard to follow what was going on in class if you weren't there to pick up your child and speak directly with the teacher daily, but now the school uses RenWeb and I have the app so I can follow lesson plans and homework as well even when I am on the road and can't always be there for pickup in person. That is just great and helps all of our family participate in our son's education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kirby Hall School
306 W 29th St, Austin, TX  78705
(512) 474-1770
Last modified Kirby Hall School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Kirby Hall School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. Top