Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
86 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
92 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 122 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kirby Hall School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
Yes, definitely. My kids are asked to challenge themselves daily. They learn to work hard and at the same time have fun with it.

Kirby Hall School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
Everyone exhibits kindness and caring everyday from the moment they see each other in the morning to leaving school. If there is a problem, it is heard and something is done to resolve it.


Kirby Hall School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely the best school for smart kids who love to learn. My fifth grader is loving all her classes, even history. She is excelling and looks forward to school. She is responsible and keeps track of her work and things to bring to school. I cannot ask for more from a ten year old. Thank you, Kirby Hall!!

Kirby Hall School 5

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Kirby Hall has a terrific high school. My daughter is a junior this year, and this is her second year at Kirby Hall. She is challenged in every class but never overwhelmed with homework. The teachers only give meaningful homework, and because of her study hall, she is able to get a lot of it done at school. This leaves time for her to join extracurriculars and sports. I should mention that prospective students shouldn’t be intimidated by the academic rigor of Kirby Hall. Although academics is what the school is known for, it’s not THAT hard. The teachers go out of their way to help the students meet their expectations. It’s a cooperative and supportive, not competitive, environment. At first, we were nervous some of the classes would be too hard for our daughter, but she has done really well. I think it's a great fit for conscientious students looking for a smaller, less stressful environment than you find in some of the public schools. The size of the high school is small and intimate, and she actually has more friends here than she did at the big public schools she used to attend. The parents and students are friendly and open to all newcomers, so it is easy to fit in no matter what your personality. This is hands-down, my favorite school.

Kirby Hall School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
This is the best group of teachers I have encountered in a school, public or private. They love teaching, and it shows.


Kirby Hall School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I think the high school actually gives a little less homework than some of the pre-AP and AP classes in public school. All homework is for a reason and no busywork. They also get a study hall starting in middle school, which helps a lot in getting work done at school.

Kirby Hall School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Definitely agree. My daughter is pushed to do the most challenging courses the teachers feel she can handle. They are very encouraging and helpful in goal-setting and attaining.

Kirby Hall School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Yes; teachers treat the students with a lot of respect, like they are people worth listening to. I think this makes the students treat teachers and each other with respect.


Kirby Hall School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
I think the teachers lead by example; gossip is really discouraged. The administration sets a tone of respect.

Kirby Hall School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and administrators work hard on this with the students; they don't let bad behavior slide.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kirby Hall School
306 W 29th St, Austin, TX  78705
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 122 reviews. (512) 474-1770
Last modified Kirby Hall School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top