Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Savior Lutheran School

Private | PK-5 | 85 students

We are best known for small class sizes.

 
 

Living in Austin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, July 8, 2014

My grand daughter attends school here, and loves it! We have seen her gain confidence in her abilities, and a true enthusiasm for learning. She cannot wait till school is back in session; she misses her friends and teachers. The PTO is great, as is the small class size, ensuring individualized attention. Keep up the good work!


Posted December 5, 2012

Having attended OSL from Pre-K through 5th grade, I know first hand how dedicated and caring the faculty and staff are to the students. A truly wonderful experience that I could never forget. Thanks OSL!


Posted December 4, 2012

When my children are in the care of OSL school/childcare, I know they are being respected, nurtured, attended to, educated the right way, and, maybe most importantly, safe. When I pick up my children in the afternoon, they are smiling and happy. They have truly enjoyed their day and are at peace, which is a treasure. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. It is a place where you find very well educated and experienced teachers who have been in one place for a long time. They do not exceed certain student/teacher ratios, which allows for efficacious instruction. It is a private Christian school and they do, of course, teach their beliefs, but are not overbearing with it. It has a positive effect on my children and they seemed balanced with it all. Their later start and dismissal times work toward my advantage. I would have to pay after school care with a public school. I will never forget the feeling that I had the first day I visited OSL. Everything felt right about it. I trusted my instincts and they were spot on! I carry that same feeling with me now, several years after my initial visit. Trust me. If you place your children in this school, you will NOT be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2012

My 4 yr old daughter loves going to school here. She's been going here ever since she was a year old. Their mission is teaching children the love of Christ while offering a competitive academic program. I believe OSL is doing a wonderful job of laying a solid foundation in my daughter's character and academic career. I believe one of the differences here is in the little things and the extra things the teachers have time to plan and do since the student teacher ratio is lower. I love that the teacher greets her warmly and makes her feel welcome. I love that I'm not the only one that thinks she's the most important thing there. I love when she is all excited about a cool space planetarium that came to visit their school or the garden they tend. It's these extra things that excite her that get me excited about the school. The teachers here believe they are on a mission to reach each child for Jesus and inspire a love for learning. Even the principal has a servant heart and the children love him. He makes them laugh and finds ways to bring joy to their day. He stays involved with their activities and leads them in chapel time. He's a great role model and leader for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

Small classes, motivated and caring teachers, and convienient location. Many of the parents are involved with the PTO. There is a well-tended garden that the students participate in. A safe learning environment. Christian education and reasonable tuition. Our child has been at Our Savior (OSL) for three years and she is doing very well. Her favorite subjects are science and the gardening time--recess too! ;) We appreciate the loving teachers and smaller class sizes. The teachers work with us for any extra attention she needs. Our daughter reads above her grade level. Her math homework is challenging. She will stay at OSL all the way through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2011

My daughter just finished 1st grade at OSL and I could not have asked for a better teacher. I appreciated the extra attention she received as there were only 10 in her class. The teacher has a special relationship with all of her students. She also has special events for the children, such as Author Parties when the children get to read their written and illustrated books to parents and classmates. I felt I could always talk to the teacher with any concerns and she was always happy and willing to listen. As my daughter enters the 2nd grade I am most confident in her future teacher also, she comes highly qualified. One thing my daughter is looking forward to is growing, taking care of and tasting the yields of the garden. Most importantly, my daughter is being taught to love and serve our Lord Jesus Christ. I highly recommend Our Savior Lutheran School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

My daughter loves to read! At OSL she got the attention she needed that her last school couldn't provide. Now she loves to read and reads on her own for fun! We can't believe the difference a year with a great teacher could make. We'll be there all the way through!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

I recommend this school to anyone whose children are not getting what they need from larger private or public schools. The school is fully accredited. OSL has smaller classes and dedicated teachers. Our daughter has attended PreK and 1st grade at OSL and will be there next and following years. We're very happy with the amount of attention she receives in a smaller class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2011

My son has been at OSL for 3 years and we couldn't be happier. The teachers, staff and administrators are all wonderful. The school provides a loving, supportive environment where kids thrive. My son and the other kids in his 1st grade class are far ahead of some that we know from other schools. The flexible before- and after- school care has been a lifesaver for us. The moderate tuition makes this private education the bargain of a lifetime!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

My children have been at OSL for a few years now in the school and chidcare, and while I have always been happy with the care and level of education that my children have recieved, I am very excited and impressed to see a good program improving into an even better program. It seems that making a few new additions to the staff have made all the difference. I look forward to watching this program contiue to excell and am glad that my family is a part of it. God Bless them and the work they do
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

Our son has been attending PreK 4 (and PreK 3 last year). We love the small class sizes and attention from his teachers. He is always excited to go to school and has crafts to bring home everyday. Great teachers and staff and attention to all students are what keeps him enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Our Savior's early childhood and elementary school program has been around for 35 years. My kids all attended OSL and loved it. When they went to public school in the later years, they were at least a full grade ahead of their class. Christian education also grounded them in their faith and their lives are richer for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

My son is bilingual. He was the only one in the class that can't speak English well. PK teacher refused to be patient with him. He was there for 3 days and I had to pull him out of that school. He was so scared that he wet himself twice. The principal and PK teacher were so mean. They think he has a development issue. He is perfectly a good student in other school. My advise is that if your child can't communicate English well, Don't even register to that school because it just wastes your time and money. All they want is just money. I was very clear with them that my son can't speak fluent English yet. They said everything should be fine. I paid for tuitions/application fees and had to rescue my son after 3 days. They never mentioned about refund my money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

My daughters are in preK 4 here, and I love this school. There are lots of available extracurriculars, they're learning computers and are writing-neither of which we work on at home. I am so impressed with the strides they've made while having fun. Their teacher is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

Osl is a great school. My baby loves her teachers - ms. Betty (prek) and ms. Helms (k). They both firm but love, care and are highly skilled, motivated. Good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2007

If you want a safe, non-competitive environment where your child will learn the minimum skills, this school is for you. However, if your child has special needs, whether they are extra attention for a challenged child or an ADHD child, or a challenge for a gifted child, please look elsewhere. Extracurricular activities are non-existent. There has not been a principal in several years. Essentially, my experience was of profound disappointment and I hope my child has not fallen behind too much. Little to recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2006

My child is currently enrolled there and I will be taking her out at the end of the school year. The teachers i know are wonderful, however, the school administration is poor at best. The operating premise is very flawed and i find it difficult to imagine how children can realize their full potential in this school. they are mainly concerned with what they believe and they don't care about indivlaity or uniquenesss in children. It is unreasonably very rigid. Many public schools are better than this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

This is not a good match for children who will not fit into a standard classroom 'box.' We, as parents, did not feel particularly welcome to participate in much other than fund raiser activities/donations. From an academic standpoint, our son progressed fairly well, however not without a good deal of aggrevation with the rigidity of the program. I feel it would be an excellent program for kids who naturally 'fit the mold' and happily sit down to complete seatwork, are cooperative, and have nice, long attention spans...and are naturally just like everybody else. Absolutely not a place for individuality, free thinking, different learning styles. Additionally, our child was visibly frightened of their extremely experienced, but painfully practical/no-nonsense first grade teacher. The school has a small library, and a sizable computer lab which is used by each class once a week. Art, music, etc., is taught by primary classroom teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

OSL provides a challenging cirriculum, in a loving, safe, and happy atmosphere. The teachers are highly skilled, motivated, and caring and go out of their way to bring out the best in every child, which is made easier by the small student/teacher ratios.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

My son is currently in Kindgergarten at Our Savior. He receives instruction in a very nurturing setting. I have already noticed a big improvement in his ability to identify and write letters, and it is only the third week of school. I was impressed by the number of parents involved in the PTO meeting this week as well as the positive atmosphere. I really feel my son is learning the basics of reading in a loving, Christ-centered atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 31%
Hispanic 32% 51%
Black 21% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 90 percentile ranking on Iowa Test of Basic Skills (2010)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carol Helms
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • LSAC
Fax number
  • (512) 836-4660

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1513 East Yager Lane
Austin, TX 78753
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 836-9600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT