Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
75 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Savior Lutheran School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
I'm only thankful to staff members who did their best, though poorly trained, to take care of all the children, including my own. Sadly they seemed to have no training on handling bullying and physical injury and did not fill out required incident reports.

Our Savior Lutheran School 1

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
I am writing this review because it may aid in helping parents AVOID having an experience like we had at Our Savior Lutheran Summer Camp. In a brief summary, I felt that Our Savior Lutheran Summer Camp had poorly trained staff, were unorganized, understaffed and also not following through with standard incident reporting procedures required by childcare facilities that are registered with the state. It is because of these things that I ultimately made my decision to remove my child from their care after only 3 weeks. I would definitely NOT RECOMMEND anyone bringing their child here for care. My detailed experience can be found on Yelp.


Our Savior Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
It was obvious that they were unable to consistently invoke the respect needed to control a classroom. This is mostly likely due to lack of organization and constant changing of staff that was supervising kids.

Our Savior Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
It was summer camp so there was no homework. I cannot comment on this subject.

Our Savior Lutheran School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
I saw nor experienced any indications of this while having my child in the care of this school.


Our Savior Lutheran School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
Until they can handle treatment of bullying in a more fair manner, I disagree that respect is being developed in students effectively.

Our Savior Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
They may be attempting this but, because of poorly trained staff and under-staffing these lessons don't seem to be taking affect on all children.

Our Savior Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 14, 2016
- a parent
My child experienced multiple incidents of bullying (both physical and verbal) from the same two children, whose parent is a staff member. The Education Director claimed they were correcting this behavior, but my child still was being bullied on a weekly basis.


Our Savior Lutheran School 5

Posted June 28, 2016
- a parent
My child has attended Pre-K at Our Savior for the past two years and is now starting Kindergarten this year. We are so pleased with the new teachers and the new Headmaster, Pastor Borchers. You can see that there are a lot of changes happening and that not only is the staff excited but the so are the parents with one of the largest PTO's groups in many years. Great things are happening this year! UPDATE: The school has been re-structured as an Early Childhood Education Center focusing on Infants-Kindergarten and adding STEAM curriculum and Kindermusik. Great changes!

Our Savior Lutheran School 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is slowing dying. We had our children here for many years and were happy but over the last few years it has gotten unbearable. I blame this in a large part to the past two principles OSL has had and to their school board for not reacting to trouble and complaints with a fast firm hand. We decided last spring that we would not re-enroll our children and begin looking for another school. My wife and I like small class sizes but when your kindergarten and 1st grade class combined together have less than 10 children; your 2nd and 3rd grade class combined together only has 3 students; and your 4th and 5th grade class only has 8 students and your continually losing good families b/c your administration is desparte to keep families, so behavioral problems become an issue it is sad. Watching some of the really good dedicated staff suffer through this was agonizing. There are a few very good, dedicated young teachers here but the rest, the majority are either to scared of change or unwilling to change for this place to be what in needs to be successful. We hate that we have to remove our children but our children's education is on the line here and we have to put that first.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Savior Lutheran School
1513 East Yager Lane, Austin, TX  78753
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (512) 836-9600
Last modified Our Savior Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top