Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Austin Waldorf School

Private | K-12 | 375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $290,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

This school is amazing! The kids learn all of the same stuff they learn in public school, but in far more interesting, interactive and progressive ways. In addition all of the regular academics, the Waldorf students also get art, handwork, woodwork, eurthymy, musical instrument, chorus, sand sculpting, blacksmithing, theatre, and time to play outside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

Great school. Our children received excellent educations K-12 and admission to top colleges and universities where they excelled. Teachers were caring and supportive as well as brilliant in working with students. Arts were engaging and expected; sports and leadership opportunities were available to students who choose such. As parents our questions were readily understood and answered. We are most appreciative of finding such a well rounded and balanced, beautiful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2013

My students attended public schools and two different Waldorf schools before spending their high school years at AWS. AWS wins hands down in terms of how much the teachers invest in teaching the students, rather than simply their subjects. We all loved the integrated curriculum with different artistic skills encouraged in what would otherwise be ordinary subjects (English, math, history, Spanish, German.) Although the school has had a tendency to involve itself in more than just the academic lives of the students, we understood that this was to protect all the students. Our children have gone on to take up professions or further studies at liberal arts colleges in which their instructors and professors have commented positively on their broad based education; ability to think, ask questions, observe, and draw conclusions; as well as their wide range of artistic experiences. We are all working hard to make it possible to send the grand-children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

What an amazingly brilliant curriculum, campus, and faculty! My child has attended this school for 8 years and I wouldn't choose anything else. There is tremendous attention given to educating not just the head, but also making certain that the students' emotional and physical needs are supported. The academics are rich and enlivened by the arts and practical disciplines. These children are well-rounded, engaged, and genuinely enjoy coming to school. Imagine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

The Austin Waldorf School is an excellent school for all grades k-12. We have three children and have been at the school for 8 years. I could not be more pleased. In a world where media and technology are moving faster and faster, this school emphasizes those educational moments where the student can focus on the activity in themselves as doers and not just observers of the world around. Providing opportunities to create and solve issues, and not just imitate leads to an enriched educational experience across the board. Additionally, the teachers are truly dedicated to the growth and development of the whole child as a human being and not just the academics. When there is something happening academically, they strive to support the students by supporting the general well being of the student in addition to working through the academics. In the high school, the academics are diverse and rigorous, but met with enthusiasm by the students. The programs in arts, music, and sports are also great! My children love to go to school and are joyous, and eager to learn. The community is warm, supportive and dedicated to the wellbeing of all it's members. What more could you ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

What an amazing school. Both my kids went there from Kindergarten until they were ready for college. Not only did they get an excellent education that permitted them to attend and excel at first-rate colleges, but also they developed into the sort of young adults of whom any parent would be proud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

This was a terrible place for my children. My son took a huge blow to his self esteem in the short time he spent there. It truly was a disaster. They are not prepared to deal with learning difficulties at all. They accepted our son based on a very short interview and a quick look over his work from another Waldorf school. The person who interviewed us said his work was "advanced". Two short months into the school year and we were having major problems. After a total of 5 months we withdrew our son as he was suffering in class. He is doing much better now and we are considering the local public school after a short period of homeschooling. The community is not warm as they would like you to believe. We came from another school with a fantastic community, so we know what that's all about and AWS doesn't have it. My children's teachers didn't even know the name of their baby sister. The"mentor" program to welcome new families is a joke. These people were paid a lot of money to blow off our family when we became inconvenient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

the customer service and counselors for the camp were not friendly or inviting! But awkward and uninformative. I did not go back for the last days and did not get a refund or even offered one. I didn't even know where my son was when coming to pick up and no one knew where he was for an hour! My mom told me I should have called the police. Maybe I should have. The teacher was creepy and wierd My son did not like him and neither
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

We have been at AWS for 9 years with children in the 1st and 6th grades. The experience for both has been fantastic--they love learning, are confident and full of wonder at every new learning opportunity. The teachers are indeed masters and are devoted to educating not only the mind, but the heart and will as well. Everything about the curriculum interrelates and is developmentally appropriate. For example, in the 5th grade, they study ancient culture, including Greece, and work for months to participate in a Pentathlon, complete with a bonfire, odes they have written and illustrated, a Greek meal, etc. The event is done with reverence and culminates their studies for the year. I can't say enough good things about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The opportunities given to students are amazing


Posted September 22, 2009

An amazing education - for the whole family. Teachers are outstanding, great community, makes me want to go back to school. And hearing my children wake up every day wanting to go to school is unbeatable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

My niece Lilly Tischler goes to Austin Waldorf School and she is multi- talented and just amazing in every sense of the word, because of all she has learned in this fabulous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Developmentally geared curricullum. Best high schoolin world. Best teachers and administrator ! Wonderful community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers are masterful. The children are instilled with a love of learning, a love of words and critical thinking. Their questions are thoughtful, creative and deep. An illistration: as a 17 yr old, my child went to a medical lecture with me. His question to the presenter stopped many of the audience from their own individual conversations. The speaker lit up and spoke for another 15 minutes in response to his question. It is commonfor these young adults go to college where their professors ask about their education and it is thru these children that their professors have the first introduction to the Waldorf education. I feel that i have provided the greatest gift of all by providing a Waldorf education to my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My grandson attends Austin Waldorf School. I am very glad he has the opportunity to go to this very worthwild and wonderful school with an education that will mean a lot to him in his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My daughter graduated from the Austin Waldorf School, attending since kindergarten. The school provided a well-rounded education in a warm, creative and beautiful setting. The education she received prepared her well for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

IT s a small liberal arts school that provides an outstanding education in a great community of people. It has definitely prepared me for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

It teaches children in a developmentally appropriate way. My son loves going to school there. His favorite classes at the moment are 'Woodworking, gym, and math.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My kids are getting an education that facilitates their development into free human beings who can make a difference in the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

The Austin Waldorf School and Waldorf education in general honors and respects a child like no other... the most sophisticated organic education in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 31%
Hispanic 5% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AWSNA
Fax number
  • (512) 301-8997

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Waldorf
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8700 South View Road
Austin, TX 78737
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 288-5942

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mr Darcy's Class
Austin, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT