Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
388 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Austin Waldorf School 3

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
Like all schools, there are positive and negative aspects to this school. Good: * Fabulous curriculum designed to meet appropriate developmental needs * Beautiful school - campus is gorgeous * Kindergarten - play-based with lots of time outdoors * Handwork - art, music, crafts are an essential part of the day * Time spent outdoors Needs Improvement: * Class size - the state of Texas mandates that the maximum size for elementary public schools is 22. Yet, routinely Waldorf schools have 30-40 kids per class. The school will tell you that because kids have the same teacher year after year, the larger class size is okay. But, it's not. Large classes are harder to manage, kids get less individual attention, and lots of things go on between the students (i.e. teasing and bullying) that go unnoticed by the teacher. * Special Needs - Because AWS is a small school, they cannot accommodate special needs. Also, with their more holistic approach, may special needs kids are not diagnosed as early as they would be elsewhere. The school also does not have counseling support. * Administration - AWS does not have a traditional principal. Which is fine, unless you have a problem with a teacher, and suddenly there is no one in charge to turn to... * Nurse - only dispenses supplements and other holistic medicines. If your child has a medical problem, nurse may not be able to help.

Austin Waldorf School 5

Posted January 22, 2015
- a parent
We are a family at the Austin Waldorf Schol for 10 years and entering the high school in 2015. Steiner's Waldorf Education has been here in Austin Texas for over 30 years! "Waldorf Education, founded in 1919 by the Austrian philosopher, scientist, and artist Rudolf Steiner, has grown into an educational movement with over 900 independent schools in 55 countries. Fundamental to Waldorf Education is the recognition that each human being is a unique individual who passes through distinct life stages and that it is the responsibility of education to address the physical, social, emotional, intellectual, and spiritual needs of each developmental stage." - from website of The Austin Waldorf School


Austin Waldorf School 5

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing! The kids learn all of the same stuff they learn in public school, but in far more interesting, interactive and progressive ways. In addition all of the regular academics, the Waldorf students also get art, handwork, woodwork, eurthymy, musical instrument, chorus, sand sculpting, blacksmithing, theatre, and time to play outside.

Austin Waldorf School 5

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
Great school. Our children received excellent educations K-12 and admission to top colleges and universities where they excelled. Teachers were caring and supportive as well as brilliant in working with students. Arts were engaging and expected; sports and leadership opportunities were available to students who choose such. As parents our questions were readily understood and answered. We are most appreciative of finding such a well rounded and balanced, beautiful school.

Austin Waldorf School 4

Posted February 11, 2013
- a parent
My students attended public schools and two different Waldorf schools before spending their high school years at AWS. AWS wins hands down in terms of how much the teachers invest in teaching the students, rather than simply their subjects. We all loved the integrated curriculum with different artistic skills encouraged in what would otherwise be ordinary subjects (English, math, history, Spanish, German.) Although the school has had a tendency to involve itself in more than just the academic lives of the students, we understood that this was to protect all the students. Our children have gone on to take up professions or further studies at liberal arts colleges in which their instructors and professors have commented positively on their broad based education; ability to think, ask questions, observe, and draw conclusions; as well as their wide range of artistic experiences. We are all working hard to make it possible to send the grand-children here.


Austin Waldorf School 5

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
What an amazingly brilliant curriculum, campus, and faculty! My child has attended this school for 8 years and I wouldn't choose anything else. There is tremendous attention given to educating not just the head, but also making certain that the students' emotional and physical needs are supported. The academics are rich and enlivened by the arts and practical disciplines. These children are well-rounded, engaged, and genuinely enjoy coming to school. Imagine!

Austin Waldorf School 5

Posted January 22, 2013
- a parent
The Austin Waldorf School is an excellent school for all grades k-12. We have three children and have been at the school for 8 years. I could not be more pleased. In a world where media and technology are moving faster and faster, this school emphasizes those educational moments where the student can focus on the activity in themselves as doers and not just observers of the world around. Providing opportunities to create and solve issues, and not just imitate leads to an enriched educational experience across the board. Additionally, the teachers are truly dedicated to the growth and development of the whole child as a human being and not just the academics. When there is something happening academically, they strive to support the students by supporting the general well being of the student in addition to working through the academics. In the high school, the academics are diverse and rigorous, but met with enthusiasm by the students. The programs in arts, music, and sports are also great! My children love to go to school and are joyous, and eager to learn. The community is warm, supportive and dedicated to the wellbeing of all it's members. What more could you ask for.

Austin Waldorf School 5

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
What an amazing school. Both my kids went there from Kindergarten until they were ready for college. Not only did they get an excellent education that permitted them to attend and excel at first-rate colleges, but also they developed into the sort of young adults of whom any parent would be proud.


Austin Waldorf School 1

Posted January 12, 2013
- a parent
This was a terrible place for my children. My son took a huge blow to his self esteem in the short time he spent there. It truly was a disaster. They are not prepared to deal with learning difficulties at all. They accepted our son based on a very short interview and a quick look over his work from another Waldorf school. The person who interviewed us said his work was "advanced". Two short months into the school year and we were having major problems. After a total of 5 months we withdrew our son as he was suffering in class. He is doing much better now and we are considering the local public school after a short period of homeschooling. The community is not warm as they would like you to believe. We came from another school with a fantastic community, so we know what that's all about and AWS doesn't have it. My children's teachers didn't even know the name of their baby sister. The"mentor" program to welcome new families is a joke. These people were paid a lot of money to blow off our family when we became inconvenient.

Austin Waldorf School 1

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
the customer service and counselors for the camp were not friendly or inviting! But awkward and uninformative. I did not go back for the last days and did not get a refund or even offered one. I didn't even know where my son was when coming to pick up and no one knew where he was for an hour! My mom told me I should have called the police. Maybe I should have. The teacher was creepy and wierd My son did not like him and neither

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Austin Waldorf School
8700 South View Road, Austin, TX  78737
(512) 288-5942
Last modified Austin Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Austin Waldorf School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. Top