Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hill Country Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 612 students

We are best known for our Christian, Classical, college-preparatory education.
 
 

 

Living in Austin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $268,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted July 27, 2013

On behalf of the school s administration, I appreciate the opportunity to comment upon reviews left at this site. We realize that no school is a fit for every student and no school is a perfect place. We welcome the appropriate sharing of opinion and periodically read the reviews so that we may learn and grow from legitimate feedback. Unfortunately, online review forums also allow individuals to launch personal attacks under the cover of anonymity. As a school, we prefer to resolve conflicts utilizing the biblical principle put forth in Matthew 18:15-19. While that is not possible in this case, we would like to address misinformation put forth in a couple of earlier reviews. The number one priority for our school is to provide a Christ-centered, Classical, college-preparatory education that prepares students to become future leaders for Christ. Our priority is not to increase enrollment. Our recent growth is the result of very high retention rates and a record number of applications, which are two indications of a quality school. We do not accept all applicants and regularly deny admission to a large number of students whom we do not feel are a good fit academically or behaviorally for our school. We do not tolerate bullying and have clear policies in place to deal with behavior issues as they occur. At times, parents who do not have all of the facts may disagree with our application of discipline policies. That is unfortunate, but we strive for fair and consistent application of the policies for the entire student body and cannot adjust policies to please the few. We are committed to being accessible to as many families as possible through our tuition assistance program that historically awards needs- based financial aid to approximately 20% of our student body. The school s administration has never falsely created or seeded reviews on this website. We do have a number of reviews that were posted during a brief time period when we shared information about GreatSchools.org with our school community and encouraged parents to go to the site to rate their experiences with Hill Country. We did not in any way coerce reviews or know what parents would say. I would assume that many parents promptly went to this site, and that is why a number of our reviews occur during a narrow time period. Each year we conduct parent surveys to provide an additional opportunity for feedback, and the vast majority of our parents rate that they are pleased or very pleased with their experience at Hill Country Christian School. We think that these ratings, plus our re-enrollment rate of roughly 90% this year, demonstrate that parents and students are pleased with the education they are receiving at Hill Country. We hope you will take the opportunity to read the large number of positive reviews from parents, students, alumni, and teachers posted on this site to learn more about our school.

70 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 8, 2010

Hill Country Christian School of Austin is an amazing place. The teachers are committed to the education and training of each student. They do not abandon the students but embrace and support them.The teachers incorporate practical biblical principles into the daily lesson so the children learn to include God in every task and activity. Hill Country Christian School of Austin supported my family while my wife was deployed in Iraq. The administration has a dedicated staff with high standards and relentless work ethics My wife and I searched for the perfect school. HCCS has been a perfect fit for our family. The learning center and experienced diagnostician are rare assets. Having a son with ADHD this program has been very helpful for him. HCCS sports program creates opportunities for all to participate.Our children are 1st and 2nd graders and are die-hard Knight fan.We know our children are being taught to do everything in excellence for God's glory and to never leave a Knight behind or alone. "Go Knights".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

Our daughter has attended HCCSA for five years since Kindergarten, and our son is in Kindergarten at the school and has attended the Pre-K program here. When our daughter was in preschool , we researched various private schools and private Christian schools hoping to find an academically rigorous school that promoted Christian values. HCCSA has fulfilled them both! We have been extremely happy with the level of education they are receiving. The staff and teachers are absolutely wonderful! The teachers are very nurturing and they do a great job teaching academics as well as helping them grow in character. Our children love going to school everyday and absolutely love their teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

We've had children at the school for 13 years. At first I was content that my children were getting an education at a Christian private school to help reinforce the morals we were raising our children to have. Over the years, I began to understand the value of the classical education. I began to see that Hill Country Christian School didn't just instill good morals in my children. It also didn't merely teach my children to memorize information in order to pass a state mandated test. Most importantly, Hill Country tought my children how to think. How to use and build upon the gifts God has given them and be prepared for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

One thing you get in this school that is just priceless is a partnership. As a parent, you get a partner in your child's education and spiritual maturity. You also have a community of parents to do life with and encourage you as a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2010

HCCSA has provided my child with a nurturing and supportive learning environment. Above all, the school and it's faculty are providing a spiritual belief system from which he will draw his core values and continue his quest for knowledge and faith. We have no question that HCCSA will provide our son with not only an education standard that will prepare him more than adequately for life and it's many challenges, but most importantly the knowledge and spiritual gifts for a compassionate, well balanced individual within a society that is need of more and more individuals possessing these qualities. We plan to keep him through 12th grade and believe the classical education, along with spiritual and loving support will prepare him for his higher education desires and further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

We have been at Hill Country four years and are very pleased with the school. Our kids are able to participate in multiple sports and activities, something which would not be possible at a public school. Our kids are able to develop great relationships with their teachers and coaches who feed into their lives both educationally and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

We have had children at Hill Country now for 7 years and have been very pleased with the outstanding education our children are receiving. Not only is the academic curriculum strong and challenging, but our children are learning about Christ and how to "see God" in all aspects of learning. We love that the school is our partner in raising up our children in the way they should go. The teachers truly care about the students--they do an excellent job of teaching as well as helping them grow in character and Christ-likeness. We also love how the teachers get to know the children so well that they are intentional and prayerful about recommending which class each child is placed in the following year. We have outstanding leadership at Hill Country that is constantly seeking to improve the school and has implemented a strong vision and strategic plan for the school. We thank God for the blessing of having our children educated here at Hill Country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I am currently a student in the 5th grade, and I've been attending since Kindergarten. Our school is very advanced in academics, my teachers and principal are fair. It is very easy to have fun here. New students don't have to be afraid on the first day because others are very welcoming. There is a wide range of personality from athletic to artists and anywhere in between, so it is very easy to find your own circle of friends. There is also a boys 5th-6th grade flag football team so you get the chance to have fun competing for your school. I get to take guitar lessons at the school conservatory, too. If you are looking for a school, this is the place to choose.


Posted November 9, 2010

Our family has had one or more of our children attending Hill Country Christian School for 10 years now. OUr son began attending in Kindergarten and is now a freshman. Our daughters have each been in attendance since Kindergarten as well and are now in 6th and 4th grade. We have been very pleased with the school and feel very blessed to be part of such a great community of people. The academics are rigorous, and yet they manage to keep things balanced remarkably well. The quality of teachers is superb, and the staff is always friendly and helpful. We love that our kids are each known by name and that we know almost all of the teachers and staff at a personal level. We also love that they are allowed to openly talk about God and He is integrated into all aspects of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

HCCSA has exceeded our expectations since our children joined the school. Our son has attended HCCSA for five years since Kindergarten, and our daughter just started attending Kindergarten this year. Our hope was to find an academically rigorous school that promoted Christian values, and HCCSA has met those needs. Our children are thriving in the school environment, that is challenging but not overly burdensome. Our kids still have time for other activities, like athletics and scouts, and rarely have to stay up late for their work. On a personal note, I am inspired the school's vision, which is a product of the HCB church. Not only is the school inspiring our children to model Christ, but the school community and values are inspiring us as a family to model Christ as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

We just moved here from another city and the staff at Hill Country have been Great! They gave us an awesome Tour, introduced us to staff and made us feel very welcome. Our questions have always been answered. Our Child loves to go to Hill Country. We have even started attending Church there. We couldn't ask for a better school for our child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

We are so pleased with HCCSA and the way the teachers and staff care for, teach, and mentor our children. The curriculum is fantastic--it teaches them to think for themselves, form their own opinions about this world and God's Kingdom, and is challenging them / preparing them for college. The teachers are very intentional about nourishing the heart and developing character at every turn, beginning in Kindergarten. They not only 'teach' academics (which they do extremely well), but also genuinely care about / for our children. The teachers partner exceptionally well with the parents too. Our kids are definitely experiencing a Christ-centered education at HCCSA--my wife and I are so blessed to be able to partner with the school in educating our kids, and have watched them grow both spiritually and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

We have been at Hill Country Christian a total of 10 years. In fact, we moved back to Austin because of the school and coaches. There is no place we would rather have our son attend and learn to not only be smart in the worldly sense, but to also have a heart for God. The school also allows you as a parent to have a voice and get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2010

Hillcountry Christian School of Austin is a superior school in every area!! The classical Christian education is way above par compared to other private Christian schools in Austin. We had our daughter in Regents at Austin and transferred to Hillcountry and found that Hillcountry was a year farther in academics than Regents! The administration has a "heart" for each student and they instill Christian character not only by teaching it to the students, but also by living it! I would highly recommend Hillcountry Christian School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

HCCSA has been an incredible blessing to our family. We appreciate the challenging (yet manageable) classical curriculum, but what matters most is the impact that the school has had on the hearts of our 3 daughters. The teachers and staff have genuine walks with the Lord, and our kids have "caught" that. They have been loved on by teachers who pray for them before school and in class, they've been cared for by a school nurse that knows everyone's name, and they have been led by a headmaster who is esteemed and recognized as stellar by his peers. I could go on and on. We couldn't be happier with our school "family". I highly, highly recommend HCCSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

We relocated to Austin from Minnesota where our two young boys had attended a classical christian school. We wanted the same sort of educational experience in Austin and were referred to Hill Country by friends. We have been very impressed with the leadership at the school and the quality of individuals our boys have had as teachers. They provide a caring and nurturing environment for all the students, and have really challenged both of our boys to excel. They have excellent music programs and we've been pleased with their Gifted and Talented program this year. As evidence, both our boys are reading signficantly above grade level. Most important to us is that everything at the school is Christ-centered. We love the way they challenge the students to think in terms of "world-view" of the Bible and "Biblical-view" of history and worldview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

We are so thankful for HCCSA! This is our 4th year at the school, and I never cease to be amazed at not only what our kids are learning, but how they are learning. In addition to classroom instruction, they are taking educational field studies (to places like NASA, Pine Cove, the Renaissance Festival, etc) and participating in activities such as Speech Meet, Science Fair, Egyptian Day, etc. I also appreciate how much our teachers and staff invest in our kids lives. The entire high school is on a retreat right now with their teachers. If you are looking for a Christ centered school with challenging academics, an excellent headmaster, loving teachers and staff, and a group of parents that will welcome you with open arms, this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

My family is new to Hill Country Christian School and have two elementary age children attending. As new parents we have been so impressed with the high level of communication that is provided to parents on a regular basis. It is huge to know what is happening at the school. The faculty has been simply fabulous and this includes not only the grade level teachers. This includes the librarians, school nurse, principal and head master. The beyond academic opportunities are also amazing. The school offers things such as a Chess Club, History Club and Pep Squad. One last point is the welcome by existing parents, faculty and admissions office has made for an easier transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

We have been members of the HCCSA family for 5 years now and look forward to MANY more! Their newly added Preschool is outstanding and provides a safe haven for our young students! My children still benefit from past teachers as they walk the halls. The staff is supportive and welcoming. I believe the most important thing you can instill into a child is their love of learning (and this school has excellent curriculum that the student's learn by singing, dancing and motions). The strong sense of Christ-centered behavior is evident in the education they receive from day one until the day they walk out the doors in the afternoon, along with great friendships that span many grade levels! We are truly blessed to have found a Christ-centered learning environment that enables us to not only watch our children learn, but participate in their growth as young adults!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

We switched from public school to HCCSA when our daughter was going into 1st grade. She is now in 5th grade and our son is in 1st. We love HCCSA and feel that the Christ centered values are priceless and worth the sacrifice that we make to afford a private education. I am a public school teacher and believe that children get a great education in our public schools; however, it is not Christ centered and that is what we want for our children. We believe the moral values and biblical teachings are the foundation for our children s successful future AND they get a great education too! If you feel the same then I encourage you to visit HCCSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Hispanic 4% 51%
Black 3% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Texas at Austin
Texas A&M
Abeline Christian University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Dance club: jazz, ballet
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Latin, Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Head Master - Mr. Bill McGee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (512) 257-4190

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club: jazz, ballet
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: Latin, Spanish
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
600
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
780

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Texas at Austin
Texas A&M
Abeline Christian University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12124 Ranch Rd 620 N
Austin, TX 78750
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 331-7036

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Joule School
Austin, TX







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT