Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hyde Park Baptist Elementary School

Private | K-5

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Austin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $261,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2011

The school has great caring teachers and an excellent administration. The principal, who arrived in 2009, is super. When we compared our daughter s academics with that of our friends children in public school, we found the difference to be significant. HPBS looked to be at least one grade level ahead. This was especially noticeable in K-2nd. The kids are sweet, courteous and respectful of adults, and the middle school students are great role models for the younger students. We couldn t be more pleased with the overall educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

The elementary school has endearing teachers who encourage their students through a rigorous curriculum. My son attended every year, K-6. His public school friends were 6 mos. to 1 year or more behind him academically. Even the ones in 'award-winning schools'. He is now in the secondary school and we have not experienced any negativity about differences in income. There are some wealthy families but there are numerous families like us who make financial sacrifices to have their kids here. Teens are teens and inevitably some are going to do things they shouldn't, but at least here they are taught what is right and wrong and if they are caught are held accountable. And athletes do not receive preferential treatment. This is an excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2008

Hyde Park is an awesome Godly environment with supportive teachers & administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

You will not find a more loving or nurturing environment. We came from public school and Hyde Park was a dramatic difference. The academics are challenging and my son loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

We could not be more pleased with our experience at Hyde Park Baptist Schools. Our two children have received an excellent education in a loving, Christian environment. We would highly recommend the school to anyone seeking a college preparatory, Christ-centered education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

HPBS has served our family with a Christ-centered education for three years now. Our oldest child continues to excel in the HPBS environment. We truly enjoy the principal, super-intendant and teachers we have on staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

Hyde Park has been a wonderful school for our children. They have strong academics and excellent Christian teachers. We love the Family friendly environment that is Christ centered.The school seems to be getting better and better, and the school leadership is outstanding and very supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

Excellent staff and curriculum. Our children are receiving a top quality education in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

Sending our daughter to Hyde Park Baptist School was the best decision we ever made. The small Christian enviorment and small classes were important to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

Hyde Park is a wonderful school. We have been here for 7 years and have loved each year. They care about the whole child - intellectually, physically and spiritually. The teachers love the students and love what they do. They teach with a Biblical worldview. My children feel loved and accepted at every level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

If you are looking for a school to challenge your child academically, you will find it at Hyde Park. If you are looking for a school where your child will find a very loving, Christ-centered environment, you will find it at Hyde Park. If you want to give your child a great education and a place to launch his or her college career, you will find it here. Our children, one of whom is now a senior, have attended since kindergarten. Thanks to the high academic standards students must meet at HP, our senior is now a National Merit Semifinalist and is receiving letters from the top colleges in the nation. In fact, many HP students are accepted into top-notch college programs, thanks to the education they receive at Hyde Park. Best of all, they earn this education in a very loving, Christ-centered environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

We have had three children go through the Elementary program at Hyde Park and have been involved in this school system for the past 15 years. I have found the overall environment at Hyde Park to be second to none for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

My children are encouraged by the warm and loving teachers and faculty. Hyde Park is academically challenging in a sweet Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

We have been at Hyde Park Baptist Schools for 14 years. It has been a wonderful experience and outstanding education for both my daughters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

Not only does our son have a school family but I feel like my husband and I do too. Our son has attened Hyde Park for the past 5 years and we absolutely adore his circle of fine friends and awsome faculty and staff. It does take a village to raise a child and we have found ours! Hyde Park!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

My son goes to Hyde Park. I was appalled to see that there was a below average rating on the school posted on the internet. Hyde Park has been an incredible place for my son. He has been enriched in every area of his young life, has a strong academic base and is far ahead of where other children his age seem to be both emotionally and intellectually. Hyde Park has been a wonderful experience for our entire family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

HP is very good in academics. It is not very diverse in ethinic groups. After 4th grade children start separating themselves by family income status (rich kids put down not so rich kids). They tend to put down kids they think are not financially well off. Most of the teachers care that all the children are challenged academically, there's only a few who target kids and give unfair judgements. The tuition is a little high for them to have torn and overly used books. There are a lot of additional costs thru out the school yr. Some seem to compete on who can give the best and expensive class parties Novels that are required reading cost extra and must be brought from teachers. Sports costs extra and seem to be overpriced. Strict dress code K - 6. All extra-curr. activities costs. But you get a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

Hyde park is an excellent environment for young Christian children to thrive and grow in a safe environment. I have been enrolled at hyde park since second grade and i have loved it. I have made life long friends that i will always keep for the rest of my life. The teachers are very uplifting and make you feel at home. Hyde Park has a very high percentage on students who get to go to the college of there choice. Most of the students are very active in there churches and are all vey good leaders and roll models for those around them. The sports program has a very high standard of excellence. The coaching staff is excellent especially former Dallas cowboy Coach Dulibon. He is what makes Hyde Park football excellent. The players learn life long lessons and learn how to persevere though struggles and hardships.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2006

Our son entered Hyde Park High School in teh 8th grade. He came from another private school in Midland TX that was exceptional. Hyde Park classes were mediocre - our son left with a poor background in math. His French class, though billed as advanced, relied on the most elementary textbooks. Our son made some good friends there, but we couldn't relate to most of the parents. It is a very fundamental environment. There were perhaps three teachers in the whole school that we felt were up to standard. They do not believe in teaching the students to think!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 8, 2005

This school is irreplaceable in my view. When I arrived at college I realized that the teaching at Hyde Park had given me more knowledge than most of the other students high schools had. Plus the friendships I mad at Hyde Park are special to me and I would not trade the experiences for anything in the world. Please if you want your child to become a better human being and thank you for his education and high school experiences after he/she crosses the graduation stage, send your child to Hyde Park.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACBS
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (512) 371-1433
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3901 Speedway
Austin, TX 78751
Phone: (512) 465-8338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Odyssey School
Austin, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT