Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

8-12|Private
40 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Huntington-Surrey High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
I am going to list as many as I can... so please don't take any offense if I forget a name... just know I never forgot anyone there... Light - English lit and Co principal... what can I say.. such an amazing woman, stubborn, but she probably pushed me more than most when it came to my writing. Johnny - Co principal... a blessing this one... she gave me many a chances to do the right thing and get my head on straight and stuck with me through all my turmoil... definitely a guardian angel Mack - Lit, Yearbook, NUNTIUS, and more... Mack was a great hackey sack player in the courtyard with us and opened my eyes to so many books out there... he was definitely my guy. Marilyn - Lit, incredible lady and I am sure I got away with things in her class but she was a great literature and very knowledgeable. Melba - Lit, I found her quirky but in the most adorable and amazing way. she would always have the most incredible stories to tell every day. Steve And Ferris - Math oh my goodness these guys were brilliant and hilarious... we had so much fun coming up with all sorts of tricks and methods. Anne - Science... this lady was a fire cracker... we loved all the awesome experiments and lessons along with photos she would bring to share with the class of her own adventures. I know there are many more of you that I am probably drawing a blank on right now... just know that everyone of you guys touched my heart and made me into the man I am tpday. Thank you!

Huntington-Surrey High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
I can't honestly speak about the current staff because it has been 10+ years for me... however the ones I did know we're absolutely incredible!


Huntington-Surrey High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
what homework?? I was able to complete all of my work other than researth assignments in study hall... which was great because I started working early at 15 and held many jobs during that time and still went through HS with honors

Huntington-Surrey High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
I wouldn't have graduated if they didnt... at times I felt like giving up or that I couldnt do it... and every time there was another staff member pushing me to better myself

Huntington-Surrey High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
definitely agree! rules are in place and were taught to have incredible manners when it came to our teachers. granted we use first name basis... but that just goes to the personal connection... we always had to be respectful to both staff and other students... again rules but justifiable


Huntington-Surrey High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Oh god do i! during my time at this school I went through many personal issues in which every teacher I had knew about and always looked out for me... called me when I slept in, picked me up if I had no ride, took me home if I had no ride, ate lunch with us... they were all completely concerned for my personal all well being, almost as much as my own parents

Huntington-Surrey High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Neverfelt that one student had a better connection to a teacher than any other. Teachers never lied nor tricked students into doing anything and as far as fairness... sure we may have hated the rules but they were all completely justified

Huntington-Surrey High School 5

Posted December 14, 2015
- a community member
Former student graduated as "the platinum kid" as they called me... I ended up having to do a half year as a junior due to personal reasons so I technically went to HSBC for 5 years... so that's what they dubbed me... This school felt like my second home... I actually enjoyed going to svhool, doing the work, testing my own limitations and thinking outside the box... The staff at that time was amazing! While we did have our fair share of teacher switching since they moved on to bigger and better things... I never came across any teacher that I disliked nor one that wouldn't work with me if I was struggling... I learn so much in my time there and it was an experience I would never take back. If any of the staff reads this they may remember me from that platinum kid joke... I love all you guys and I look forward to seeing you guys again soon! I love popping in!


Huntington-Surrey High School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a community member
I graduated from Huntington-Surrey in 1999. It was my third high school. Before enrolling, I was on a path to becoming a drop out. I loved learning, but hated school. Huntington-Surrey made me into a lifelong learner. I graduated from St. Edward's with Honors, received an MFA from Naropa University and an MA from University of Chicago. I am now an English teacher and one of my biggest dreams in life is to someday run and teach in a school based on the principles of Huntington-Surrey methods.

Huntington-Surrey High School 5

Posted December 10, 2012
- a parent
Huntington-Surrey has very small class sizes in a setting that allows teachers to individualize each student s learning. Students who struggle with the distractions of most school settings thrive because the small classrooms and content competent teachers encourage the student to be prepared for class and engage in learning. A student who has never read an entire book before is enticed with interest-specific literature that is discussed and written about in one-on-one English tutorial style literature class. The most important thing that happens at Huntington-Surrey is learning. The culture of Huntington-Surrey allows students to know their teachers on a first-name basis and everyone is accepted as individuals. No bullying, no intimidation, no time to waste- just learning. If you want a school where your child can soar based on their individual talents, visit Huntington-Surrey. You will be pleasantly surprised that a school like this exists.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Huntington-Surrey High School
4804 Grover Avenue, Austin, TX  78756
(512) 478-4743
Last modified Huntington-Surrey High School is a Private school that serves grades 8-12
Huntington-Surrey High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top