Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 756 students

Teaching exceptional curriculum through the Christian perspective

 

Living in Austin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

As an update on my prior review regarding bullying there is now some action happening. I applaud these efforts and wish the school success in alleviating this problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2013

I have a graduate and a current student at Brentwood Christian School. Even though it is tough for us to send our children to a private school, I have never regretted it. The teachers and staff truly love the students and are dedicated to teaching and being wonderful Christian role models. My children have both grown in their faith and developed talents we never dreamed they would. The academics are rigorous, and the fine arts and athletic programs offer the students so many opportunities. Children don't have to be natural stars to participate either, giving them the opportunity to learn and grow. We love Brentwood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

my school is awesome its the best!!! ~peyton your favorite 6th grader i love it-


Posted July 22, 2013

We paid $700 ($125 app fee, $225 enrollment fee) in Feb.for our 2 children to apply to BCS. We asked about the process and were never given a clear answer as to when we would know if we got in and what our chances of getting in were. In April, I was told there were no spots for my children. The $225 enrollment fee is only refunded if your child is not offered a spot. However, they have until the first day of school to offer you a spot and if you turn it down they can keep the entire enrollment fee. In June I was told there were no spots available so I let them know I would need to enroll my kids in a different school. In July, they called and said they had created spots for my children and would now be keeping the enrollment fee for both kids (again, this is after they knew that we had enrolled them in another school). BCS did not have to do a single thing with our applications (no checking references, no ordering school records) and yet they get to keep $700? The entire process left a bad taste in our mouths. At this point I feel like we are lucky we did not entrust them to educate our children. I advise future families to use great caution when applying to BCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2012

Best school! Putting my child in a private school is financially challenged, but will not exchange it! My son started at BCS since Pre-K and and the teachers and staff care about the students. The Christian faith and their mission is exemplified on the way teaching kids and the way they discipline. Its a college prep school, academically expectation is very high and my husband and I loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

I am always pleasantly surprised by how much the teachers give back to the students at Brentwood everyday. I have 4 students there, and after 7 years of our kids attending, I have never had a day where I wished we were at any other school. In all subjects, the teachers are especially well-qualified and inspire my kids to perform and excel far beyond grade level. I am so happy with the level of expectation that the Brentwood teachers have for their students as well. I recommend Brentwood Christian School without hesitation to any Austin area family who wants to foster their children's success in mind, body and soul within an affordable Christian environment, where the faculty, staff, and administration live out the messages they teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

The experience that we have had at brentwood has been overwhelmingly positive. Ther are great teachers, secondary students that are great role models for the younger children: all resulting in an environment that enriches learning and character development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Outstanding school...great environment for schools...rigorous academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

My daughter has gone to BCS since kindergarten - she is now in 2nd - wonderful school. Very happy and recommend this school - education and Christian values are both highly strived for here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2007

I go to Brentwood and it is one of the most welcoming environments for new students. They also have a shadowing program where your child can see what it is like to be at Brentwood for one day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2007

Brentwood is a great school. It is one of the lowest cost private schools in Austin but it is one of the top academically. Not to mention the wonderful Christian values they receive. I am thrilled that my daughter will have the opportunity to be in Kindergarten there next school year. ('07-'08)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 9, 2006

My son attend Kindergarden at Brentwood and we are very satisfied with his achievements. We believe Brentwood is one of the best private schools in Austin.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 31%
Hispanic 11% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school public schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 10% (2011)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2011)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Texas A&M University
Abilene Christian University
University of Texas at Austin
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • TAPPS Academic State Champions 3A (2013)
  • TCSIT Academic State Champions (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Church of Christ
Associations
  • NCSA
Fax number
  • (512) 835-2184

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
124
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
153
Students typically come from these schools
public schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based scholarship

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Texas A&M University
Abilene Christian University
University of Texas at Austin
Students' post-graduation plans in 2011
2 year college - 10%
4 year college - 90%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11908 N Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78753
Website: Click here
Phone: (512) 835-5983

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT