Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Small Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
Christopher Davis because he helped my child become a well mannered person. He also helps students to understand the importantance of of bring a good citizen. He was strict though, but for a good reason.

Grateful to:
SCHOOL LEADER
Thank you Heather Sanchez, volunteer extraordinaire!! I appreciate so much your dedication to our school, the amount of time you spend helping out from updating the school sign, selling tickets to events, putting packets together, chaperoning, and so much more. Thank you so much!!
Posted November 23, 2015


Small Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 22, 2015
- a teacher
Homework should equal about 10 minutes per grade (according to some recent studies). This would look like 60 minutes for 6th grade, 70 minutes for 7th and 80 minutes for 8th grade (including reading log time, projects and practice time for band/instruments). Mostly math homework is given, but I have noticed that some math homework is too lengthy and is not of great benefit to students.

Small Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a teacher
I do feel that Small works hard to develop honesty, integrity and fairness in its students through their daily classes and in their Social and Emotional Learning in their advisory classes. However, these skills are only taught as far as the classroom teachers are willing to integrate into their lessons, and commitment to fidelity in the SEL lessons.

Small Middle School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a teacher
I thoroughly enjoy the staff, students and parents that I work with and who contribute to our Small school. I am currently in my 5th year as an educator at Small, and I continue to return because I truly enjoy the population I work with, as well as the unique programs our school has to offer.


Small Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a teacher
I am grateful to teacher Rhonda Offield for advocating for one of my students. Many of the students I work with are teased and bullied, often because of their condition that causes social awkwardness. Rhonda is always looking to create the best learning environment possible for students, and comes to me when she needs help in next steps when advocating for students who are being targeted.

Small Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2015
- a community member
Incredible school that kids want to attend. Emphasis is on meaningful instruction with real world applications rather than STAAR test scores. Kids are engaged in hands-on learning. Most work is completed in class, rather than assigning kids a bunch of homework and do-at-home projects. The block schedule allows students the opportunity for in-depth learning and there is a very large list of dynamic electives from which to choose. We transferred our son mid-year to this school and he really likes it and has rediscovered the joy of learning.

Small Middle School 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a community member
CSMS is a really awesome school! I'm going to go into my 2nd year (7th grade) in Middle School and 6th grade was really fun! We did have a lot of projects and a lot of fights happened this year, but Clint Small is really great school and wish I could come back next year. I made a lot of new friends and Clint Small made this really memorable.


Small Middle School 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
We moved into the district about a month before school started, and my daughter has now completed over half of her 6th grade year at Small. She's very happy. She's in the Gifted and Talented program and feels like she's being challenged enough to stay interested, but not so much that it takes over her life. The 6th grade counselor has been wonderful, the principal responded to an email question very quickly and thoroughly, and the teachers have all come across quite reasonably when we've interacted. Oh, and the GT coordinator has taken plenty of time to explain the program and allay our fears (we came from an academic magnet school in Seattle). The proof for us is that our daughter is happy on her way to school and happy when she arrives home. I asked her about bullying, and she says she hasn't noticed anything. So that may be an issue in certain circles, but hasn't affected us. Hopefully it never will.

Small Middle School 1

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
Just feel the need to respond to the previous review. Academics mean nothing if there is so much bullying and drama that your kid cannot concentrate on their work. Discipline, rules, etc have to come first. The improvement I've seen in my child's grades since leaving small is remarkable.

Nearby schools

Small Middle School
4801 Monterey Oaks Boulevard, Austin, TX  78749
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (512) 841-6700
Last modified Small Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top