Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 765
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pickle Elementary School 1

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
A School where my Son was punched, lip cut with scissors by another classmate, bullied every day! HORRIBLE school! Was convenient and close to my work but not worth a bit. He loved to go to pre-school and this school was his nightmare. Substitutes could careless about what was going on with the class. Oh! and his paperwork was some how missing?? Done! So thankful his transfer to a very good school was approved to start immediately, we left this school before the end of last school year. I would NOT recommend this school AT ALL.

Pickle Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Pickle Elementary School 3

Posted July 30, 2006
- a teacher
I've taught at Pickle for years and seen many changes and even more atrocities. Children are disserviced daily in terms of academics, discipline and especially dignity. Recent administrators privately insult students' abilities and difficulties in school, from poor test scores to asking the wrong questions. If students' TAKS scores don't count towards the school's ratings because they have been transferred or they meet some exemption, they are virtually non-existent. Teachers are discouraged from doing any type of work that isn't test-related. They are also overworked and underappreciated by administration. I've worked in other schools where teachers smile and laugh with each other and students, but the recent tension and frustrations are silently deafening. Repeat cycle: excitement in August, insulted in October, numb in November (after Thanksgiving and before Christmas), reenergized in January, but TAKS prepping until April and then teachers getting ready and giving students coloring pages in May.

Pickle Elementary School 4

Posted March 06, 2006
- a parent
There is a great after-school tutorial program that feeds the kids and teaches about nutrition as well. Runs M-Th after school till 5:30 p.m. Kids do their homework there so no fighting about it at home. Tutors are available for questions.

Pickle Elementary School 3

Posted November 16, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pickle Elementary School 4

Posted May 18, 2004
- a teacher
I teach at Pickle Elementary. It has shown great growth and much community involvement. The teachers and administration at Pickle put in 100% with lots of love, training and overtime. WE strive to make our school stand out and be a success in the Austin community.

Pickle Elementary School 3

Posted December 06, 2003
- a parent
The overall feeling one receives when leaving from Pickle Elementary School is one of community. Sad to say, yes we serve a lot of the community however the community still places a lot of the responsibility onto the teachers and staff at Pickle. Our children would advance so much more if we actively role modeled the necessary steps it takes in order to advance in our world today. That might even mean supporting all English instruction vs. total spanish immersion.

Pickle Elementary School 3

Posted November 05, 2003
- a community member
When JJ Pickle opened 3 years ago, it was for the entire community. It consisted of approximately a 40/60 split African-American/Hispanic student population. However, the teaching was geared 90% towards the Spanish-Speaking community. I speak Spanish and English. But I had a problem when I sat in the class with my child, and there was no English being said in class.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pickle Elementary School
1101 Wheatley Avenue, Austin, TX  78752
(512) 841-8400
Last modified Pickle Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pickle Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top