Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cowan Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 797 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

98 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

Cowan is a great school, the staff is amazing and the PTA works really hard to make it even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

our school is so great not only because we have the best teachers but the parents are fabulous too. They see every need is met for teacher & student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I am proud to say my kids go to Cowan. The teachers/staff are top notch and the parents are so involved! Everything that makes a Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

Coming from a school on the east side of Austin to a supposedly better nieghborhood and better schools, I found Cowan, SO FAR, to be below my expectations. My daughter was forced to switch classrooms because they do not like having more than one child with the same name in the classroom during the first week of school. My daughter is not allowed to eat sweet snacks that I pack her for lunch because other children are on strict diets. I live a very busy and spontaneous lifestyle due to my work so I try to be with my child as much as I can be, but its hard to do that when I must notify the teacher in writing of any changes 24 hours ahead of time. They are nice yes, but it seems this is just for show. I have no choice but to give Cowan a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

i transfered my daughter to cowan, and i found out that my daughter was DRA reading below..and required her to attend tutoring..wow..her old school never mentioned about her drea reading level!..i love cowan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

Cowan seems like a wonderful school until you go somewhere else. Sadly the principal focuses on TAKS and therefore the children do not advance at the pace of other students in other area schools. They are taught to just 'pass' the test, therefore that becomes their focus even well beyond their elementary years. While Cowan has some wonderful teachers, we would not recommend this school due to the lack of focus on a well rounded education. Many area schools focus on TAKS for just a few weeks, whereas Cowan preps them nearly the entire school year. We also believe the gifted program is a complete joke. Our daughter did not excel at all in this school and our son went on to middle school with underdeveloped writing skills. After speaking to many parents this seemed to be a widespread problem amongst Cowan graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

Cowan is an incredible school. This is our second year. It started small and although it has grown in the last year with some re-districting, the 'small school feel' remains. The teachers and the staff are exceptional and have many years of experience on average. The principal has high standards for her teachers and encourages higher education. They have a lot of teachers that are National Board Certified and they are very easy to communicate with. The socioeconomic population is mixed, but the school is equipped to provide for students of all levels. I have a child in the gifted and talented program and her needs are being met. She loves her school and her teachers and we could not be happier. The discipline is well-handled in my opinion in contrast to other reviews. We get alot of positive encouragement for good behavior. Go Cowan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

This is my family's first year at Cowan. I have been very impressed with the overall school climate. The principal, staff, teachers and parents have been welcoming. The school is clean and well equipped. My son absolutely loves his teacher, is challenged and is enjoying learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

I am highly impressed by staff and teachers,principal and assistant principal. We moved from California last year. My child was going to the best school in our district.When we came here my child was very nervous.All 3rd teachers are wonderful but my son's teacher is a gem.She helped him in academics and also helped make friends with other kids.They have a very nice system to be well behaved and disciplined,staying focussed,making good choices.I am impressed.Yesterday was first day of 4th grade.The bus driver did not have our address in his list,my child got back to school and after an hour of panic when I went to school to pick him up,the assistant principal made sure that she lets me know his right bus.She kept contacting the transportation and finally called me at 7:00 p.m. to let me know his right bus.Cowan has wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

I removed my son from Cowan after a 2 year and 2 month struggle. This schools is unequipped to handle bright young children. The teachers have difficulty differentiating for children who perform higher than grade level. The teachers are not properly trained to handle discipline issues, focusing only on negative punitive measures rather than working to find a positive solution. After my son became frightened of going to school, we approached AISD for a school change where our son is now thriving in a positive nurturing environment that meets his academic needs. Overall, we found the education lacking and the staff to be rigid, harsh and unqualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

My son just completed his 3rd year at Cowan and is more then ready for 3rd grade (4th grade at any other school). Mrs. Brown was an angel and helped my son make gifted and talented this year. I am so proud and simply love the school. It is clean, inviting, and very well organized. Thank you Cowan Elementary for educating our wonderful children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

Cowan is a great school. The teachers are highly qualified and the infrastructure is nice. The principle is a real go-getter who may be more concerned with the TAKS scores than I would like. However, in this era of funding based on TAKS scores, I am sure the school will continue to bring in monies. I wish the parental involvement was stronger.. most of the families at Cowan consist of two working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

My son is in second grade and the entire second grade team is wonderful. They are organized, obviously experienced, and attentive to the different needs of the different levels in class. I couldn't be happier and neither could my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

I have a child in the first grade so I only have 2 years of experience with Cowan. Pretty good school as far as Texas public schools go. Clean and well kept. Teacher quality really depends on the luck of the draw and your personal preferences. As with any school...you don't always mesh well with certain teachers. They do tend to focus on discipline and are quite strict. They have a behavior ranking system and it could take something as small as your child talking once in the lunch line to lose a rank for the day. It can become quite negative...especially for young children just starting out. The science education is outstanding and they have the basic 3 (art, music, pe). Parents are involved and have easy access to the teachers. Communication via email, phone and meetings is frequent. Hope this helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

Cowan is a nice school from the outside to the inside. The building is very welcoming with the giant size pillars painted like crayola crayons. Inside the building the first thing you see to your right is the office and the women in there are very sweet and have gotten to know exactly who I am and who my child is. The nurse my daughter has had to visit is also very sweet. This school has a Pre-K program, which my daughter was able to attend, thank goodnes. The teacher was excellent. Her current teacher is great too. She loves the art and p.e. classes they have and the best part (she loves it too) is the after-school child-care held at the school by the YMCA. That saves her from having to be taken by bus somewhere else. Things have been great, I'll miss it for both her and I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

Successful education is a teamwork job between the school and parents; i.e. #1. Cowan teachers and Staff, with the good leadership of the Principal, Ms. Glenn, need to be commended for all their day to day efforts in providing the necessary tools for learning. My daughter has been with Cowan for 4 years now, and at 3rd grade her DRA is above and beyond at level of 6-8th grade. Too often are teachers blamed for poor student performance but not being praised for their dedication and endurance. The school counselor's perseverance in dealing with kids who need personal attention, is super! #2. As parents, with all our strength to achieve the level of excellence for our kids, we should not expect the school to do these things alone. We have a role to play,let's make sure we get involved. Cowan is a great place for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2004

This is my granddaughter's third year at Cowan and she is now in the 4th grade. She loves school and has had a very positive attitude about her school experiences and her teachers. The after school program is staffed by caring and dedicated counselors. The principal seems to provide good leadership. I would recommend this school to anyone who would ask.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

Hi,I relocated to Austin from Laredo, Texas. I just read some of the previous reviews, and I am surprised to hear that the school has such bad reviews. Especially, about the fact that some of the children are taught at a much lower level than they are suppose to be. I believe the AISD, teachers and parents have a moral obligation to give the children of the Austin Community their very best in order to provide better leadership citizen for the future. I know that some teachers are probably underpayed, but the children shouldn't be short changed, as far as, their education is concerned. They shouldn't have to suffer the consequences later on by not being fully prepared to conquer society on a day to day basis. AISD should offer the best quality of education to all the children in each of its schools without any discrimination. Concerned Grandparent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

118 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

119 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

108 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

107 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male92%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students93%
Female98%
Male90%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students95%
Female96%
Male94%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education100%
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female95%
Male100%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education86%
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students92%
Female90%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian86%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education75%
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Female90%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited English proficient (LEP)89%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female85%
Male90%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female95%
Male87%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education50%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted88%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male85%
Black or African American88%
Asian100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education33%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students87%
Female85%
Male90%
Black or African American63%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education40%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 29%
Hispanic 42% 52%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 4% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2817 Kentish Drive
Austin, TX 78748
Phone: (512) 841-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT