Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 106 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cowan Elementary School 3

Posted December 30, 2015
- a community member
This school has it's ups and downs. When I attended this school back in '00-'02 I wasn't a trouble maker child but I did always get into trouble due to bad discipline practices. I will admit, I don't know what it's like there 15 years later, but back in 2000 teachers would often take one side of the story and wouldn't listen to the other side. Aside from the downsides of Cowan, everything else was pretty positive, the building was brand new and was a lot different then the past elementary school where all I saw was a portable.

Cowan Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a community member
I don't really know where to start. I'm not ever one to write an online review, but what I went through at Cowan, everyone should know about. My son was diagnosed with mild autism in Kindergarten. It was a rough year, to say the least. As a mom, you feel like you've failed your child somehow, like the future is just doomed. Cowan saved my life. Cowan saved my son. They gave him (and myself) the confidence he needed to thrive. They provided him the resources to grow, to communicate, to have such an incredibly bright future. As a parent, we think of a school as just a means to teach your child various subjects, but Cowan taught my son that it's ok to be who he is, to be different. My son will be in second grade next year and he has excelled far beyond my expectations. Unfortunately, a job transfer is taking my family to Boston, but my heart, my gratitude, my sincerest thank you - will always go to the teachers, principal, and the entire staff at Cowan Elementary School.


Cowan Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2014
- a parent
My two children and I love Cowan Elementary. The teachers, principal, parents and facilities have made my children's first years of school a great experience. Mrs Geen and Mrs Cooper are both remarkable teachers who had my son reading and writing at the age of 4-5. Principal Warnken was recommended by a friend who told me that I would love her. She has been that and much more. She had said that it takes a village to teach and raise a child and that's what you get at Cowan. Everyone cares for the children as if they were their own. Cowan should be a model for other schools in AISD.

Cowan Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
This "hidden gem" has the best teachers, facilities, and community support in all of South Austin. I can't imagine my children attending any other school for their foundation of learning.

Cowan Elementary School 2

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
My student's teacher and administration have been very ineffective at maintaining an orderly, civilized learning environment. They cannot handle behavioral issues and let the other students bear the brunt.


Cowan Elementary School 4

Posted December 25, 2013
- a parent
Both of my kids are going to this school. Their teachers are great and very helpful to the students. Hopefully, the school will be one of the best of the best in the future.

Cowan Elementary School 5

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
I cannot begin to express how grateful I am to Cowan Elementary and its staff. From the front office staff to the principal staff to the teachers. I transferred my daughter from Boone beginning in second grade. Her teacher, Tracy Graham, is undoubtedly one of the most talented women I have ever met. My daughter FLOURISHED in her class. Third grade was a bit more challenging as the teacher, while very nice, wasn't very organized. This had an impact but we managed through. Fourth grade, Annie Vasquez, another total WINNER. She and Ms. Graham are cut from the same cloth and have an amazingly positive impact on children. My daughter is currently in fifth grade, with Ms. Kling and Ms. Beams. She is extremely happy with both of her teachers and is exceeding all expectations. There was a recent change of the guard, so to speak. Ms. Glenn, the only principal Cowan has had, left to another school and Ms. Debbie Warnken (vice principal) was vetted by the school and the community and we are thrilled to now call her PRINCIPAL WARNKEN! I have met the new AP, Ms, Duffin, but have not had any interactions with her. She seemed pleasant enough. Bring your child to Cowan. You won't regret it.

Cowan Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
My daughter currently attends Cowan Elementary first grade. We love it here! The staff is the best, events are non comparable to other schools. The principal is always involved with the students, faculty and families. We always feel welcomed and valued when we attend meetings, events and functions. This past year I became a room mom for my daughters class. And I loved the experience. The head volunteer coordinator handed me a pre organized folder with the schools planned out events!!! They truly hold high expectations for us as parents and them as child educators. I would recommend this school 100%. Go Cowan!!!


Cowan Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attended Cowan from 1st grade through 4th grade and absolutely loved the school. We had the best teachers and the principal is great. The teacher communication is the best, all her teachers kept us very informed of what was happening in the classroom as well as at the school. Monthly newsletters went out to the parents as well to keep us informed. My daughter had been to Bee Caves an exemplary school and is now at Patton another exemplary school and we would go back to Cowan if it was possible.

Cowan Elementary School 4

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
This school has a good reputation. I think it does well with what it has -- all of the schools are stressed with funding cuts. I do feel (and this is probably for all Texas schools), that learning ends about 3 weeks before summer break. My son's reading bag and weekend journal were discontinued after spring testing, because "school's almost out." I wish that we had year long school. The teachers tell us how students fall back to a lower reading level during the summer -- but they are already falling back because even the teachers have summeritis.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cowan Elementary School
2817 Kentish Drive, Austin, TX  78748
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 106 reviews. (512) 841-2700
Last modified Cowan Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top