Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 61 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


66 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nyos Charter School 5

Posted August 15, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at this school last year and when my family had to move I was extremely saddened because, quite honestly, NYOS is an excellent school. I had moved from outside the country and they helped advise me and complete my transcript. The community is tightly knit and everyone is so accepting of and compassionate to each other. The class sizes are small giving each student individual attention from all the teachers, who were also amazing. Emphasis is placed on academics and extra curriculars and all in all, I loved NYOS and am proud to have been a jaguar!

Nyos Charter School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
NYOS Charter school is great, good teachers, good programs to keep kids on track. Teachers dedicate their spare time to help kids that are having trouble, they are always going the extra mile.


Nyos Charter School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a community member
I have been attending this school since I was in Kindergarden, and I love it!

Nyos Charter School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
I love this school! My daughter was so shy, but the family aspect of the school brought her to life! The teachers all know all of the students, the parents all know each other and are willing to pitch in and help one another without expecting anything in return! It is a great environment to raise a child in, and I am so glad I chose it for my children! Parents are allowed and encouraged to be involved in every aspect of school life, and there are a number of enrichment activities beyond just sitting in a classroom learning.

Nyos Charter School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been here for 7 years now. It was the best thing we have done!!! I love the community aspect of this school. Everyone knows everyone. The teachers do an amazing job with differentiating their lessons. My daughter feels safe and comfortable, and so do I. There are clubs for everyone. All families are encouraged to volunteer, and that helps bring up well rounded children. I've seen other kids, patents and teachers from different schools have many difficult issues with testing, bullying, teaching, or getting lost in the system. That would never happen here. I am confident that this is the best school I could ever imagine. We will not be going anywhere else.


Nyos Charter School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
This school with a silly name is anything but silly. Not Your Ordinary School was started in the late 90s by a group of local regular public school teachers that were tired of the one size fits all, and test-oriented nature of Texas schools. Since then NYOS has grown into one of the best schools in Austin. Our kids have been there since Kindergarten and are now in middle and high school, and will graduate from NYOS. The class sizes are small, the teachers really get to know each child, children can move ahead in math or other subjects if they are ready (example: my 8th grade child goes to a 9th grade pre-AP algebra class every day). Schedule: 2 month summer, 2-3 weeks off in Oct, 2 week spring break, every Friday is a half day. This is better for learning and being refreshed. Graduates go to good colleges. If I had to characterize NYOS in a few words they would be: safe, nerdy, clean, community, human, caring, fun.

Nyos Charter School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
We love being a part of this school! It is a great community. The facility is knowledgable and caring. My daughter receives the best education from NYOS.

Nyos Charter School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
I don't know what my family would do without NYOS! Whether in high school, middle school, or elementary the teachers give 110% of themselves to the education and well being of their students. My kids are both very happy and confident and I'm grateful to have a safe community to provide them with an excellent education.


Nyos Charter School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
NYOS may appear to be a charter school that is just like a traditional public school, but it is not. There is a good balance of traditional structure and innovation at work. When conflicts arise, as they invariably do, the teachers and administration work to help the students resolve them in a constructive and meaningful way.

Nyos Charter School 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
I love the school for it's unique approach to education, how well our children are cared for, the schedule, the families and so much more! Highly recommended.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nyos Charter School
12301 N Lamar Blvd, Austin, TX  78753
(512) 583-6967
Last modified Nyos Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 4-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nyos Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews.