Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Public
Austin, TX
Students enrolled: 478

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Texas School For The Deaf 5

Posted August 30, 2010
- a parent
Hello! Texas School for the Deaf is amazing! The teacher is wonderful. My daughter is behind due to Michigan School for the Deaf didn't bother to teach her and worse of all, she was in the dorm so I couldn't help her. Now TSD is helping her and working very hard to get her to catch up before we know it, she will make it just fine all because of TSD. The TSD staffs are wonderful and very positive. They are like family. I have other daughter is in middle school. They protected her even though she did not report, but other students saw the bullies picking on my girl so they reported it and amazing staffs took care of it right away. I am so blessed with this school. They have strong school leaderships, excellent teachers, principal, and challenging academic programs. I am so wowwed by this!

Texas School For The Deaf 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Texas School For The Deaf 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Texas School For The Deaf 5

Posted February 03, 2010
- a student
Heck, Texas School for the Deaf is in the top 4 best deaf schools in America! The best schools are: Texas School for the Deaf (TSD), Maryland School for the Deaf (MSD), Indiana School for the Deaf (ISD), and California- Fremont School for the Deaf (CSDF)! TSD is a great school with good quailities. Gallaudet give schloraships to top HS students, and every student in high school get a laptop. We use the newest Apple iMac's for each computer lab. TSD provides 4 different departments-- Elementary, Middle School, High School, and Special Needs Department. There's 2 differences between SND and other departments. SND's students are more like wheelchairs, mentally retarded, need help. The other department are perfectly fine. They are same as the hearing kids, intellegince level the same, but only thing that is a difference is that they dont hear. You got a problem with that? TSD is amazingly good!

Texas School For The Deaf 4

Posted November 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Texas School For The Deaf 1

Posted April 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Texas School For The Deaf 5

Posted February 25, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Texas School For The Deaf 5

Posted January 28, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Texas School For The Deaf 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
Everyone shows spirit by yelling in the hallways and being loud at sporting events. The school even takes buses of children to games. Everyone is very social. Everyone has t-mobile sidekicks and ipods with really loud bass. The buzzer in the gym is too loud!

Texas School For The Deaf 3

Posted October 19, 2008
- a student
this is a good school for deaf kids. although the middle school is horrible. sports are horrible. academics are horrible. it does not prepare you for high school. and it is very cliquy. the teachers doesnt respect the kids AT ALL. the social status is horrible in the middle school. but the high school is wonderful, it offers ACC classes, its easy to social here, the classes are great, the teachers are great. the prinpical is great. and the fancy thing... we all get laptops! it offers tutoring, homework halls, practice, and many more. the sports are very good, for a such small school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Texas School For The Deaf
1102 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX  78704
(512) 462-5353
Last modified Texas School For The Deaf is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Texas School For The Deaf Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top