Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Paredes Middle School 1

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
This campus is more like a juvenile holding facility than a place of education. The students seem to be more concerned about claiming to be and acting like criminals than becoming educated and productive members of society. Did I mention the uniform requirement to curb students from claiming their gang colors? Think about that and ask yourself if that is something you look for in a school for your child.

Paredes Middle School 1

Posted January 15, 2015
- a parent
I have nothing good to say about this school. So far our 6th grade experience is horrific. Bullying daily both verbally and physically. Constant inappropriate language and conversation amongst children. We are looking into either a transfer or homeschool. The supervision of children is almost non existent.


Paredes Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
I give this school a great rating my child has an awesome teacher that care

Paredes Middle School 1

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
My kid is in sixth grade and is constantly bullied. We've been here for less than a month and we're already considering homeschooling. Every day my kid has come home and he has been punched, or pushed down, or kicked or cussed at by bullies. This school is an absolute joke.

Paredes Middle School 3

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
Paredes has come a long way in the two years my child has attended, and it has it's good and bad. He is in Pre-AP and I feel he has been challenged well. The Pre-AP teachers and the band teachers have really shown they care for their students. Band parent involvement is super low. Unfortunately, the riff raff at the school is another problem. Paredes made news this year when a 7th grader brought a gun to school. Though he was caught, the principal decided NOT to inform the parents the truth, that he also brought bullets. We found out from the media. When my child was being bullied on the bus, the school officer and staff DID take care of the problem very quickly, so I commend them on that. The biggest problem is that my child is slated to go to Akins High School and I refuse to let that happen. I am transferring him to Bowie, as soon as possible.


Paredes Middle School 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a community member
Great School. Had a bad rap in the past, but all I have seen are good things from the whole staff. They are showing a concern for the students that was not there in the past. Very Impressed.

Paredes Middle School 1

Posted September 23, 2010
- a parent
This school is horrible, the teachers and administration need to go. They pick and choose which students they want to help and teach. I would not recommend this school to anyone, period. I wish I could transfer my child out of this school to another school.

Paredes Middle School
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
this school is great :) i definetly recomend any student going to paredes:) my daughter absolutly loves it ther:)


Paredes Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
this is a great school they do what they need and they have a lot of students with great potential

Paredes Middle School 1

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
This school has crappy staff to bad I cant move but if i could i would sent my son to bailey or small

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paredes Middle School
10100 S Mary Moore Searight Dr, Austin, TX  78748
(512) 841-6800
Last modified Paredes Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Paredes Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top